Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dyke Mills
As a lover of brass band music I couldn't wish for more than this album. Black Dyke Mills led by the beautifully sweet cornet
playing of Phillip McCann takes some beating. It arrived promptly and in good condition.
Published 13 months ago by Rev

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed reaction
I bought this album because I wanted some brass band music and was led to it by the participation of the legendary Black Dyke Mills band. For me, this album was a disappointment. I had hoped for music to stir the blood, but instead got beautiful melodies played rather too delicately for my liking. This is very much an album of cornet playing (why did I expect otherwise?),...
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by Listener 1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dyke Mills, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a lover of brass band music I couldn't wish for more than this album. Black Dyke Mills led by the beautifully sweet cornet
playing of Phillip McCann takes some beating. It arrived promptly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Brass Band, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD well worth the price paid. The music is so wonderful and enjoyable. I would recommend the CDs of The Black Dyke Mills Band to everyone who like good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
JES_0653 (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Dyke Mills Band: World's Most Beautiful Melodies - Music For Cornet (MP3 Download)
This is brass band music at its best. Through the sensitive playing of the soloists, the melodies come beautifully to the fore. So if you are looking for relaxing renditions of some favourite classics, this is an excellent album. Also the MP3 download procedure worked without any hitches for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just relax, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just sit back and listen to some well played trumpet solos with brass accompaniment. Pleasant relaxing melodies to unwind to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my Favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mixed reaction, 21 Jan. 2010
I bought this album because I wanted some brass band music and was led to it by the participation of the legendary Black Dyke Mills band. For me, this album was a disappointment. I had hoped for music to stir the blood, but instead got beautiful melodies played rather too delicately for my liking. This is very much an album of cornet playing (why did I expect otherwise?), but every track is so carefully crafted as to become soulless and almost sounds as though it is playing too slow. Lots of people will like it, but for me it is music for little old ladies - absolutely great if you liked Aled Jones as a young boy.If you want brass, try the Grimethorpe Colliery band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews