Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dyke caught on a good day!
1985 was the year that Black Dyke won everything! and from the playing on this CD you can see why, although some of the pieces may be a little light to celebrate 150 years of this band the great playing and conducting makes every piece come to life!. The overture to the Ruler of the Spirits is wonderful, and deserves to be played more often. This CD also contains one...
Published on 8 Jan. 2000

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A present
Published 10 months ago by jofri


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dyke caught on a good day!, 8 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
1985 was the year that Black Dyke won everything! and from the playing on this CD you can see why, although some of the pieces may be a little light to celebrate 150 years of this band the great playing and conducting makes every piece come to life!. The overture to the Ruler of the Spirits is wonderful, and deserves to be played more often. This CD also contains one of the best played Tenor Horn solo you are likely to find anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 April 2010
By 
Timothy W. Barker (Banff, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
If you love great Brass Bands, then this is for you. Whilst covering the 150 years of Black Dyke, it really demonstrates the unique quality of this brass band. So many can play well loudly but struggle with the quieter aspects. This is Black Dyke at their best, bringing together many items from other recordings so be prepared for some possible duplication with other CD's by this great Band.
Worth every penny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC BRASS BAND MUSIC, 7 Oct. 2010
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
This CD is one for the purest. Superb musicianship on classic brass band pieces. You will not find 'Going Home' or Beatles songs on this CD. Will provide much enjoyment for the traditionalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From handlooms to yellow submarines, 25 Feb. 2013
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
Founded in 1816 by the landlord of the Old Dolphin Inn at Queensbury near Bradord one of the members was John Foster who was part of the domestic system of organising hand loom weavers until 1835 whe a mill was built in Queensbury and named after a family farm known as Black Dyke
2 years later the village band began an association with the Black Dyke Mills thus was born the famous brass band which by 1968 and many with many lineup changes found themselves in the unique position of having one of the first 4 singles on the Beatles' Apple label which was the McCartney composition Thingumybob coupled with Yellow Submarine.They would return in the late 70s to play on a Wings track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Black Dyke, 3 April 2014
By 
J. Makin "45407" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
Another superb collection of brass band music, some classic and some modern. To my ears it's a great recording and will give much pleaser to all brass fans, particularly Black Dyke ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dyke Mills Band, 26 Nov. 2008
By 
SA Lockwood "stupot" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
I only wanted this CD for one track - The Posthorn Gallop. Stunning piece of triple tongueing which I used as a ringtone.
Bonus is that the rest of the CD is equally as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Brass Band, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
Great CD well worth the price paid. The music is so wonderful and enjoyable. I would recommend the CDs of The Black Dyke Mills Band to everyone who like good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
If, like me you're a brass-band afficianado (hope I've spelled it right! But, if I ain't, you'll know what I mean!) then ANY brass-band CD's will "cut-the-mustard" (as our American cousins would say!) so, working along these lines, "yes this is a good buy!" Presuming you (whoever you are) buy it, I hope enjoy it as much as I have. Cheers. Philthechill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dyke Mills Band CD, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
I have always been keen on brass and silver bands this CD has gone into my library because this is a excellent disc of which I cannot default,David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music from a great brass band, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Years of Black Dyke (Audio CD)
Excellent music played to an exceptional standard. This is what we expect from this great brass band. We have listened to it many times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews