Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the first two and some great extras
If I were looking to buy any of the original Batman series on Blu-ray, then I'd quite happily go for the darker Tim Burton titles as standalone releases. However, for only a couple of pounds more you get not only films three and four but also some extensive, fascinating bonus features that justify the purchase.

In particular, the final part of the 'Shadows of...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Chris White

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD box set. No extras.
This box set is worth getting if you're not looking for all the behind the scenes extras etc. that usually come with dvds. As a box set it is certainly lacking since there are no extras but I bought it just for the films so I'm happy.
Published on 8 Jan 2006 by Kidder


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD box set. No extras., 8 Jan 2006
By 
Kidder (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This box set is worth getting if you're not looking for all the behind the scenes extras etc. that usually come with dvds. As a box set it is certainly lacking since there are no extras but I bought it just for the films so I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the first two and some great extras, 3 April 2011
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
If I were looking to buy any of the original Batman series on Blu-ray, then I'd quite happily go for the darker Tim Burton titles as standalone releases. However, for only a couple of pounds more you get not only films three and four but also some extensive, fascinating bonus features that justify the purchase.

In particular, the final part of the 'Shadows of the Bat' retrospective that appears on the Batman & Robin disc includes some refreshingly candid interviews. The more colourful Joel Schumacher instalments were a result of studio interference following the comparatively weak box-office performance of Batman Returns. While those who provide the film's financing have a duty to protect their investment, once they start dictating what happens creatively, disaster usually ensues. This documentary is a salutary tale for budding executives everywhere and shows how things can go horribly wrong when they cross the line, bringing a hitherto successful franchise to a halt.

One could argue that Schumacher was not the best director to have taken the series forward, but given a dreadful script that went into character overload and had to shoehorn in as many merchandising opportunities as possible, it's hard to see how he could have succeeded. Thankfully, his future projects, such as The Phantom of the Opera (2004), were more in keeping with his theatrical sensibilities.

This set includes some fine picture transfers and all the soundtracks are in Dolby TrueHD 5.1. Each film is contained in its own standard Blu-ray keepcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman for moment, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
Batman Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 1.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish.

Batman Returns Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English 5.1, German, Italian, French.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Latin Spanish.
Dolby Digital 1.0: Castilian Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese.

Batman Forever Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Brazilian Portuguese.
Latin Spanish 2S.

Batman & Robin Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reasons to get this set, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
Others have discussed the reasons to get these Blu-rays seperately and,yes, I can see their point. But hear me out here.

For around the same price as the first 2 films alone you're getting all 4 movies.
The third movie is entertaining and still has some Burton influence.
If you have kids then the fourth movie is not wasted. I know so many kids who love Batman and Robin. Besides, despite its faults the film has Uma and Alicia for the dads and George for the mums!

The transfers are all pretty good (though Batman will never look as good as the more recent Anniversary Blu-ray release) and the extras span all four discs including music videos and interesting retrospectives as well as interviews with DC's staff.

So, there you have it, plenty of reasons to buy this Blu-ray set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Box set., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
This Box set is all you need if you,re a Batman fan. It has the first 4 Batman films all in one. I think it has been updated as the other Box set had 4 separate Blu-Rays in each case. now theres just to cases with 2 Discs in each one. I suppose it,s to reduce storage problems if you haven,t alot of space, being it,s half the Thickness of the original Box set. A very good Buy, really pleased with my order from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all Batman fans, even if..., 4 Mar 2014
By 
Sara "SG" (PT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
A must have for all Batman fans, even if Batman Forever and Batman & Robin (3rd and 4th respectively) are disposable. I wanted the 2 first ones from Tim Burton but the price is an excelent opportunity for every fan collection. BTW: I confirm the Portuguese (portugal) subtitles are very good and all the extras have them. These extras are very very cool to watch too. Just buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bat Pack!!!!, 5 Aug 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
The four movies presented here vary greatly in quality Batman (1989)being undoubtedly the best and the last two Batman Forever
/Batman and Robin being distinctly weaker.The offer price is a big draw here.You get 4 movies on blu-ray for 17.99.Batman (1989)contains an impressive set of extras docs detail the history of Batman the character and the development of the movie
and if that weren't enough theres an extensive making of also coupled with brief hero and villain profiles and prince music videos and a Burton commentary this disc alone justifies the cost.Batman returns carries on the extensive extras in similar vein.All the movies look good on blu-ray apart from the odd grainy bit here and there and the sound is spot on.Well worth the asking price and a decent companion piece to the later movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holy Smokes Batman......, 2 April 2007
This is a decent enough boxset with the first four feature films of Batman. This boxset contains the single DVD editions of the movies, which have little in the way of extras.

So this boxset is ideal if you just want to own or make up your Batman movie collection, however if you want more indepth viewing buy the 2 DVD Editions available seperatly or wait until there is a new boxset with the the 2 DVD Editions and the recent 5th presequel movie Batman Begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!, 21 Sep 2005
Although I am a big fan of the Batman films, do not bother buying this boxset as it only contains 4-Discs and has no special features! If you are a big fan of the Batman films, you may as well buy the 2-disc special edition DVDS of the quadrilogy which have lots of special features!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for your money!, 6 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [Blu-ray][Region Free] [2005] (Blu-ray)
You will find on all the four Blu-Rays these subtitles:
Main Movie: English, english for the hearing impaired, french, german, german for the hearing impaired, italian, italian for the hearing impaired, castilian, latin american spanish, dutch, portugues, brasilian portugues, danish,
Audio commentary subtitles: Chinese. korean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews