Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing 'toxic' about this - totally infectious music though!
What a refreshing sound this band have produced. It's hard to categorise their style or place in a conventional 'box' and perhaps that's what makes it different. There is no doubt that the lyrics are very poetic, with a singer who certainly expresses himself - sounding vaguely like an American version of Shane MacGowan (of Pogues fame) - if on speed! I've been playing...
Published on 21 Feb 2009 by David Wright

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Move along people, nothing original to see here
Whilst this is a good album, it almost comes across as an album of covers of original songs that haven't been written yet (If you get my drift!). There are songs that sound like Franz Ferdinand, The Killers, The Strokes, Arcade Fire and even The Smiths.

That's not to say it isn't a good album but I certainly don't think it deserves the gushing 5 star reviews it...
Published on 27 Mar 2009 by T. LEWIS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing 'toxic' about this - totally infectious music though!, 21 Feb 2009
By 
David Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
What a refreshing sound this band have produced. It's hard to categorise their style or place in a conventional 'box' and perhaps that's what makes it different. There is no doubt that the lyrics are very poetic, with a singer who certainly expresses himself - sounding vaguely like an American version of Shane MacGowan (of Pogues fame) - if on speed! I've been playing this disc pretty much non stop since I got it and it just grows and grows on you. "Sometime around Midnight" is without doubt the most radio friendly track on the disc and will doubtless be popular on a lot of dance floors throughout the country. Great to hear something different and I can't recommend this outfit highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best that 2009 will have to offer..., 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
It's only early February and it's going to take a very, very special album to make my favourite two albums for the year change, second is The Boxer Rebellion with their fantastic return Union and first is the self-titled album by TATE.

I only discovered them in October last year when they played Camden's Dublin Castle for consecutive Tuesday gigs, the UK rumblings could be seen in the big cities, a gig at the 100 club a few weeks ago (which was amazing) sold out quickly, as has the future tour at Kings College and also a Manchester date. The airplay for Somewhere Around Midnight got as far as BBC radio, this time the hype is deserved.

Gasoline, a fantastic guitar pop/rock song was the first song I heard and it's still great today. Somewhere Around Midnight has rightly propelled them towards commercial success. The sweeping violin, the slow-burning build up to a spectacularly frantic finish. Perfection.
The pinnacle of this album is the last song of the US release, Innocence a Jim Steinman-esque intro, and as with the whole album a tour-de-force of lyrical story-telling.

I've seen a lot of bad reviews for this album, but what do these critical 'expert' reviews mean precisely? I mean Queen II got critically smashed on it's arrival and that is one of Rocks classic pioneering albums and everyone know what followed from the minds of Mr Mercury and co. I'd rather bands go for something to please their fans, then the critics. I am sure they'd love an experimental shin-dig if it was done for the first ever time but a band with a violinist the isn't Win Butler and entourage - oh my, oh no.

Similarities to The Arcade Fire, The Hold Steady and other bands from the other side of the pond will be drawn, but let that not detract that The Airborne Toxic Event are most definitely unique.

Highly recommended 9/10

As a side note, I recommend going to YouTube and watching / listening / downloading the acoustic versions videos of the entire album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Potent post-punk mix, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
The Airborne Toxic Event hale from Los Angeles and comprise singer/guitarist Mikel Jollett, guitarist/keyboardist Steven Chen, bassist Noah Harmon, drummer Daren Taylor, and keyboardist/violist Anna Bulbrook. This début album contains 10 numbers which demonstrate the band's versatility and skill at taking the post-punk aesthetic to new highs with a range of styles varying from the high energy 'Papillon' and 'Gasoline' to folksy ballad style of 'Sometime Around Midnight', and with a fair mix of hybrid not-sure-what-they-want to be tracks, like 'Missy' and 'Innocence'.

One constant throughout is Jollett's vocal contribution which most will either love or hate immediately but which I found lends a distinct and yet varied feel to most of the songs here. Most of the time he maintains a rawness to the delivery which slots perfectly into the angst-ridden punk-inspired subject matter but when he needs to he can turn on the syrup and switch to a lyrical sweetness so that you never know entirely where you stand with this album.

All in all a great début album with a promise of interesting things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great band, terrible name, 16 Jan 2014
By 
The Old Dead Pig (northwest england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
Even though the name is taken from a Milan Kundera story and therefore officially arty, it's still a terrible name for a band - except perhaps a death metal band, and this lot are nothing of the sort. Luckily their music more than makes up for the name - very good indie, references would be Arcade Fire and that sort of business. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well worth it, 29 Oct 2009
By 
D. Lawry (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
I like this CD. I decided to buy it after seeing the band on Letterman. The songs are strong. Sometimes the music seems a bit basic or cliched or something but generally it works well. The lead singer has a pretty distinctive, whiskey soaked voice. There's a bit of Arcade Fire about the band - but also some Pogues and possibly some Franz Ferdinand. I'd like to see them live as I suspect they'd have some good energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 4 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
I have to say this is one of the best albums in my collection.. Each song is very different.. Buy it, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, 11 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
This a really good debut album with some really great songs mixed with some OK tunes. Room for improvement? Yes! And they did with the second album, which is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a welcome surprise, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. K. Mcintyre (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
this is a surprisingly fab collection of music. I bought it for someone else thinking they may like it based on having heard one track from it. Turns out the whole album is great and I have it now too. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Lyndie "lab" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
this is a brilliant album good lyrics, excellent music i am so glad i bought it and i would recommend it to anyone who wants something a little bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great debut album, 10 Mar 2009
By 
D. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD)
What a great debut from this US band, even on my first listen there were 4 or 5 ttacks that sounded fantastic.
Wishing Well, Innocence, STAM, Papillon, The Winning Side, This losing and The Girls ITSD are all brilliant tracks.

Going to see them in Manchester on April 1st, 9.50 a ticket what a bargain!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Airborne Toxic Event
The Airborne Toxic Event by The Airborne Toxic Event (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews