Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "undiscovered" Cult album
This album followed the Cult's commercially disappointing Ceremony (which is a 4/5 stars album). I bought The Cult's self titled album as soon as it was released. I was the only one who bought it too! But, as we well know how an albums success has little to do with its quality - this rings true for "Cult". Quite frankely, this album is one of the Cult's...
Published on 1 Dec 2001

versus
3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy a decent Cult album instead of this !!
Having read the reviews of this album i thought hey this sounds good as i like love and sonic temple etc, what a load of rubbish, Astbury sounds dreadful as does the mix of the whole album. Sorry to disagree but i don't know what you guys were listening to but i understand why it was panned at the time. It gets one star but i'm not sure it even deserves that.
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by J. MacPhee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "undiscovered" Cult album, 1 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
This album followed the Cult's commercially disappointing Ceremony (which is a 4/5 stars album). I bought The Cult's self titled album as soon as it was released. I was the only one who bought it too! But, as we well know how an albums success has little to do with its quality - this rings true for "Cult". Quite frankely, this album is one of the Cult's best. Ian Astbury was quoted as saying that it is the bands best since the Love album. I give "Cult" 5 stars because every song is fresh, catchy, deep, from the heart and energetic. The album has serious song star power tunes like "Coming Down (drug tongue), Star, and Be Free. Other songs are deep, journeying, soul tunes like Saints are Down, Naturally High, and Sacred Life. In short, every song is a gem. Why did we stop embrassing the Cult? Also, grab their new Beyond Good and Evil. It is dark and full of gut. Great Shat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST UNDERRATED CULT ALBUM, 2 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
HOW ON EARTH THIS ALBUM HAS STAYED UNKNOWN ? EVERYTIME I PUT IN ON ALL MY FRIENDS ASK ME WHAT IT IS AND HOW GREAT IT SOUNDS, WHEN HAS IT BEEN RELEASED ETC... IT IS PURE ENERGY, PURE CULT, PURE GENIUS....BLACK SUN IS A MESMERISING RISE AND SAINTS ARE DOWN SUCH A NICE BALADE. THE GUITAR ARE POWERFULL, THE BASS ( EX MISSION BASS ) HEAVY AND TONIC AND IAN ASBURRY AT IS BEST. PURE GENIUS...A MUST HAVE FOR ALL PURE ROCK FAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that time forgot, 21 Jan 2008
By 
John Mcconnel "oldgothrocker" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
Following the Cult's "stadium years", which to be honest never really suited them, yeh a couple of great albums were released under the cult banner, but problems with Ian & Billy peaked during the Ceremony recording sessions. With this album differences were resolved, habits were kicked & emotional issues were faced head on, hence a settled Cult line up releasing a deep, soulful & brutally honest gem of an album which quite frankly took everybody by surprise.

If your hankering for the days of Astbury grabbing his belt screamin baby baby, you wont find any of that on this one, a truly underated gem of an album which sees the cult display raw emotion & new musical depth, listen without prejudice, you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new direction, same great quality., 24 April 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
This is 4.5 stars for a terrific record. The hard rock phase was over, this is an American-style rock/alternative record that seemed to receive zero publicity. Shame because those that did buy it were knocked-out by a fresh, focused and invigorated rock band who weren't merely going through the motions, they were attempting to reinvent themselves - hence the album title. No filler, plenty of variation and a real grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Diamond, 20 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
Duffy and Astbury are a great songwriting partnership. This album is a real gem. To be fair, this album was made in their quieter years after the chart presence they had with Sonic Temple and Electric and after the self indulgent Ceremony. They bounced back with 'Cult'. Not a huge commercial bounce back but in a musical sense. It's a sublime and brilliant album with some of their best work. This is Ian and Billy just trying to create good music. In my opinion, their best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wipe the slate clean, 16 April 2008
By 
Dmitri M. A. Hubbard (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
This album is like "phase 3" for The Cult - Dreamtime and Love being the gothic albums, Electric, Sonic Temple and Ceremony being the rock albums, this goes back to a more paired back sound, and has definitely been influenced by the 90s alternative scene. After the somewhat weak follow up to Sonic Temple with Ceremony, this is back to a strong, innovative sound. Even now this has aged better than most Cult albums, and still sounds as fresh as the day it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cult, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cult [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Loving this album even thoe I did not listen to it properly until I bought vinyl used copy for 35 with postage and handling because I live in Australia. It was delivered on Friday 21st February and still listening. Vinyls are perfect mint condition like never played and there is not even light scratches that I could notice on both vinyls. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten album, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
At a Cult concert, Billy Duffy referred to this as the album that most people aren't aware of. It's got some brilliant tracks and Cult fans ought to get their hands on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than first thought, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cult (MP3 Download)
on first listening to this album I was pretty disappointed I must admit. But then again I didn't give it a real listen too. In hindsight this is a very good album, a bit dark, but a good album never the less. Not as hard as some they have done. Great bass though. Give it a chance and listen to it properly and you will see it as a worthy Cult album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cult (Audio CD)
what can one say about the cult.The music is fantastic,I have added this to my already large collection of the band.This item arrived well before the stated time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cult
The Cult by The Cult
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews