Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stereolab singles 2005...
'fab four suture' is another fantastic Stereolab compilation, one that's related to earlier compilations ('Switched On', 'Refried Ectoplasm', the 'Oscillations' box-set)taking in the 'Lab's singles releases in 2005 (7" joys for those who still care). It is in effect a new Stereolab album for people like me who don't have the singles and like many Stereolab releases, it's...
Published on 15 May 2006 by Jason Parkes

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Business as Usual
It must be tough being a quintessential 90s band in 2006. But I doubt Stereolab care - they've long since disappeared into a vast musical universe of their own making, almost entirely divorced from passing fads & fashions. If you are a non-believer "Fab Four Suture" will seem like the umpteenth redundant recapitulation of what they've being doing since "Emperor Tomato...
Published on 28 Mar. 2006 by hj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stereolab singles 2005..., 15 May 2006
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
'fab four suture' is another fantastic Stereolab compilation, one that's related to earlier compilations ('Switched On', 'Refried Ectoplasm', the 'Oscillations' box-set)taking in the 'Lab's singles releases in 2005 (7" joys for those who still care). It is in effect a new Stereolab album for people like me who don't have the singles and like many Stereolab releases, it's utterly fantastic and a joy to have them around still. Stereolab are one of those prolific alternative acts like The Fall, Sonic Youth, the Brian Jonestown Massacre, Julian Cope, Low, Yo La Tengo & The Flaming Lips who not only have a sizeable back catalogue, but a consistently great one.

The central songwriter pair Laetia Sadier & Tim Gane are still present alongside long-term member Andy Ramsey - the newer members regenerating the band. Let's face it, Stereolab are Stereolab and you can't really go wrong, a blend of chanson, electronica, krautrock, pop with the kind of complexity that becomes apparent to the attentive listener. It's all fantastic...it's all Stereolab, though personal highlights include the squelchy krautfunk of 'Interlock', the gorgeous 'Visionary Road Maps' & the alien-pop stomp 'I Was a Sunny Rainphase', one of those parallel world hits like 'French Disko', 'Ping Pong' & 'The Noise of Carpet.' I don't think Stereolab have really made a bad record, though unlike many I think their strongest releases were from 'Emperor Tomato Ketchup' onwards - 'fab four suture' certainly keeps to that standard. & what great artwork! The perfect compilation as Spring shifts to Summer - Stereolab a band whose music reminds you how great it feels to be alive: heartbeats and breathing, bleeps and pop-swoons. Worth for the price of entry alone for the song-titles 'Excursions into "oh, a-oh" and 'Kyberneticka Babicka.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Peng!(?), 13 April 2006
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection that should re-ignite the imagination of those who drifted off during the 'Cobra Phases' album era. It demands repeated listens but rewards in spades. Destined to reach those parts that only 'Peng!' could reach. They are the new originals. They are Stereolab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outside Fashion, 16 Mar. 2006
By 
C. R. Curtis (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
The Lab release another gem.

Being a long time fan the danger is taking their inovation for granted, as something we come to expect once a year.
This album itself stands alone as a great selection of their recent duophonic singles.
Stand out tracks for me have to be "Interlock" ,"Vodiak" and "Get A Shot Of The Refrigerator".
It's all good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistentley Stereolab, 17 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
It's been suggested by other reviews (here, and elsewhere) that Fab Four Suture does not present the listener with a new evolution of the Stereolab sound that we have come to expect with each new LP. I suppose this is true, pretty much (the Philip Glass tribute Kybernetika Babickta being the obvious exception), but this album is yet another finely crafted masterpiece. It's upbeat & positive with strong melodies and plenty of twists, but my personal fave is "Excursions into oh-a-oh", the throbbing & pulsing outro offering a glimpse of the low-fi Groop of old. This illustrates very well how th'Lab have matured over the years. After one and a half decades and between 11 and 16 albums (depending on how you count them), the word "matured" sums up the 2006 vintage Stereolab very well. Hardly punk rock, but reason to be proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting better., 5 Sept. 2007
By 
G. Wynn "Stereolad" (Wolverhampton, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
I only became a follower of the groop little more than a year ago. I'm constantly amazed at how different they are to most "current" bands both in terms of the style and quality of their music. I didn't warm to this album instantly but it's such a grower and just seems to get better each time I listen to it. The only problem is that a lot of your music collection will sound, quite frankly, plain old pants after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Business as Usual, 28 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
It must be tough being a quintessential 90s band in 2006. But I doubt Stereolab care - they've long since disappeared into a vast musical universe of their own making, almost entirely divorced from passing fads & fashions. If you are a non-believer "Fab Four Suture" will seem like the umpteenth redundant recapitulation of what they've being doing since "Emperor Tomato Ketchup"; if you are a convert it will be yet another addiction-satisfying variation on the formula. The album is framed by Kyberneticka parts 1 & 2 - a Phillip Glass style march with Laetitia as valkyrie, but otherwise it's business as usual: silly titles, peculiar syllable stress & yes Tim G is still on his "let's take two completely different songs & splice them together" kick. There's lots of jaunty riffs & melancholy melodies. Not so smooth & detailed as last album "Margarine Eclipse" but maybe a little more invigorating. Moments of sublime beauty include Plastic Mile & Whisper Pitch. Lyrics seem more personal & confessional than usual. Vodiak is a bit post-punk & Excursions starts out nondescript but suddenly shifts into a throwback to Velvets/Krautrock phase. Embarrassingly prolific, this album is being passed off as a low-key round up of recent odds & ends, but don't be fooled - it's this month's new Stereolab album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my all time favourite!!!!!!, 13 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
This collection of singles definitely works as an album and is my favourite of all their releases
I've played it countless times over the past 7 years and love it so much i thought i would add
this review

I always listen to this album in its entirety when possible because its beautifully bookended
by Kyberneticka Babicka Pt. 1 and 2

Sandwiched in the middle is Joyous track after track and not a single duff one

The BBC review above is bang on its a joyous album

If you are just getting into stereolab buy this one - you wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great extended EP....not a great LP., 1 Mar. 2006
By 
T. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
Not sure whether to treat this as a proper album as such, being as it compiles a series of tunes the band have recently released as downloads/7" singles. That will perhaps excuse the fact that this CD doesn't hang together particularly well as a cohesive album, and is perhaps best consumed as a bunch of EP tracks.

Theres some very good stuff on here, but its all rather understated and low-key. Only on a few moments such as 'Excursions in Into the Oh a-Oh' or the gorgeous coda that ends 'Whisper Pitch' do they really achieve lift off. Elsewhere its all rather Stereolab by numbers. A shame since normally each new Stereolab release heralds a little twist or turn to their basic aesthetic.
Fans will perhaps enjoy this best consumed as a mini-LP like '...Space Age Batchelor Pad Music', a nice little interim release and hopefully something more substantial will be in the offing later on. New listeners should start with the BBC Sessions (the nearest thing to a 'Best Of').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moogie Wonderland, 20 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
I love Stereolab's music but I'd never heard this record but was not expecting too much when I bought it. Initially I found the songs hard to get into but after a few listens I realised that this is a brilliant piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly and well packaged. Bought as a present ..., 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fab Four Suture (Audio CD)
Arrived quickly and well packaged.

Bought as a present for my wife, she loves this band. Not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fab Four Suture
Fab Four Suture by Stereolab
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews