Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great modern soundtrack
The soundtrack to the harrowing new Danny Boyle horror film ’28 days later’ is compiled and composed by prominent British film composer John Murphy who is best know his work on the ‘Snatch’ and ‘Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels’ soundtracks.
However the ‘28 days later’ soundtrack is somewhat different, it features 21...
Published on 23 Nov 2002 by james Perry

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth it for a couple of tracks
bought this because I couldn't get some of the music out opf my head after seeing the film. in particular the piece at the end of the film when the main character is running through the house (bit of droney guitar that builds to a great crescendo).
well, that's track 18, and in my opinion worth shelling a few quid out for and is already burnt onto a compliation CD. I...
Published on 11 Sep 2003 by tomsk77


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great modern soundtrack, 23 Nov 2002
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
The soundtrack to the harrowing new Danny Boyle horror film ’28 days later’ is compiled and composed by prominent British film composer John Murphy who is best know his work on the ‘Snatch’ and ‘Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels’ soundtracks.
However the ‘28 days later’ soundtrack is somewhat different, it features 21 tracks of which 18 are composed by Boyle himself. Mainly consisting of post-rock influenced short tunes that symbolise key moments in the film. Taking his inspiration from such bands as ‘Mogwai’ and ‘Godspeed you! Black Emperor’ who’s song ‘East Hastings’ from the ‘F#OO#A’ album features in the film, but unfortunately doesn’t feature on the soundtrack due to being 20 minutes long.
The album however doesn’t just consist of slow apocalyptic rock. It also features a more avant-garde music such as ‘An Ending (Ascent)’ by legendry ambient pioneer ‘Brian Eno’ and a brilliantly upbeat token song, from US rockers ‘Grandaddy’. The climatic sound throughout the film is also contrasted with melancholy vocal performances from Perri Alleyne on 'Ave Maria' and 'Abide With Me'.
Overall Boyle uses a modern approach to score the film soundtrack with an appropriate choice of music that balances well with the films theme. The compostions completement the film, and is much better than a strung togeather compilation of the latest bands promoting their erelevant music. Whether you like the film or not, this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth it for a couple of tracks, 11 Sep 2003
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
bought this because I couldn't get some of the music out opf my head after seeing the film. in particular the piece at the end of the film when the main character is running through the house (bit of droney guitar that builds to a great crescendo).
well, that's track 18, and in my opinion worth shelling a few quid out for and is already burnt onto a compliation CD. I notice it's actually been used somewhere else now too.
also like the Brian Eno track, often wondered who did that bit of music, now I know. the only other (mini)track I've really relistened to is the bit when they are getting chased up the tower block (track 6).
still I got what I was after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Soundtrack for All Seasons, 11 Jun 2004
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of horror or thriller. Nor am I much of a fan of horror soundtracks. But 28 Days Later..., film, soundtrack and all, just blew me away. The film itself is a mark of greatness; Danny Boyle has done an outstanding job, Alex Garland is a total genius and Cillian Murphy is as fit as ever, and as for music... John Murphy (et al) totally changed my opinion of film scores.
Like most horror film scores, the most tracks are typically rock based but with synths, vocals and virtual media (me thinks). The opening track stole a section of the film with random sounds from news programs, sirens and other random noises that all make up the rage theme. Enter the chilling synths, followed by what I guess is virtual media, with guitars pumping out power chords by the dozen to create the thrill. And you know what? It sounds *ace*! Everything fits into place, and if you've seen the film, you can just close your eyes and see it all again.
With additionals like Blue States, Grandaddy et al help to loosen the tense atomsphere and create a little fun in the music. Vocals such as Abide with Me create a sad, hopeless setting of sorrow and death, the words "Don't Wake Up" being replayed in your mind.
Having said all this, people do often say that seeing the film first helps. In many ways it does, but I still highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Nearly Very Good...almost., 13 Jan 2004
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is magnificent, some of the pieces really get the adrenalins pumping and other tracks quite gothic and alarming. If you have seen the film as I guess you have, and are curious whether the soundtrack stacks up then I would say it does. Not so good in you discman walking home late at night…
As most reviews have said the soundtrack does not include the ‘Godspeed You Black Emperor’ track ‘East Hastings’. This is very annoying but it does not ruin the sound track. I own both and prefer 28 Days Later. The reason why it was left off must I guess have been because it was denied permission by GSYBE. The ‘East Hastings’ track is quite long at 17 (12 minutes edit in the movie!) and this soundtrack is only a comparatively short 45 minutes so there was easily enough room all songs. Bureaucrats!
My digipak copy came with a cool little comic about the movie, which shows a few sequential scenes from before the start of the movie, which is a pleasant bonus. If you like the gloom and apocalyptic feel to this CD I would also recommend the 1984 soundtrack by the Eurythmics too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top tunes, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
Its a great film and the soundtrack is pretty good too. Mostly itcomprises the instrumental/incidental music from the film which unlike alot of this kind of stuff stands quite happily on its own two feet withoutthe film.
Sure, most of it isn't upbeat but there are a number of excellent littlecompositions in it. Some are erie and some dark while others are morereflective and peaceful.
I particularly like the rendition of Abide With Me, as well as track 18 -In the House - In a Heartbeat, which is a darn catchy tune. Probably whyit has since been used in the ad for the 206 GTi180. All in all a superbsoundtrack which almost invariably makes me want to sack off work and gowatch the film again!
Aside from the music, you get a few bonus materials if you sling it in aPC, and the case design is groovy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evoking, 30 May 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
If you've not watched the film, then this OST will hopefully be enjoyable yet quite dark.

For those who have watched the film - it evokes all the emotions you felt during the film. In fact, this is a much more intimate experience. You close your eyes and visualise events from the film whilst surrounded by the music which intoxicates and heightens the emotional journey.

This might seem a bit whimsical, but it's true. You become a character in the whole 28 Days Later tapestry by listening to this. Some songs nearly bring tears to your eyes, others make the heart race (especially if you've seen 28 Weeks Later as well, and listen to track 18 [In The House - In A Heartbeat ]) whereas some of the tracks, such as Grandaddy's AM180 feel like a light release (you can almost feel the rush as you ride the shopping trolley round the supermarket like in the film).

In a nutshell - if you haven't seen either film then this is a good soundtrack, if you have seen 28 Days Later then this is a fantastic Soundtrack. It's only when you listen to a score after watching a film - that you realise how big a part it plays in building up your emotional response to what is happening on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Bob Cheeseman (Littlehampton, West Sussex , UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
The item was as described and was dispatched immediately. Great atmospheric and dramatic music. One track may be recognized by some, it was used foe an advert (Strongbow Pear Cider).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
An atmospheric sound, makes you feel like you are being chased by zombies! Maybe not a good one for in the car. All the tracks do, however, sound very similar, so only 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 28 Days Later (MP3 Download)
Brian Eno is my favourite - ended up getting "Apollo: Atmospheres and Soundtracks", thoroughly recommend that also. 3 more words required....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A deleted scene!!!, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: 28 Days Later (Audio CD)
This is a fairly decent soundtrack BUT is worth buying for completists as it has a deleted scene on the CD-R bit of our heroes singing in the back of the Hackney cab as they drive up to Manchester (cut for being embarrassing apparently).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews