Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Albini Produced...What Are You Waiting For?
Having just been exposed to Joy Division this summer, it's hard for this reviewer to ignore the similar kind of vibes I get from this, the second LP from Brighton's Electrelane. Steve Albini [The Pixies, Nirvana] seems to restrain his usually dirty production for the whole of this album with the exception of "Take The Bit Between Your Teeth" in lieu of doing his best...
Published on 3 Aug. 2005 by Alan Ranta

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The power is out too often for my liking.
Electrelane. The name signifies a modernistic streamlined sound so it's a surprise that this is an album that takes a more traditional approach with rhythmic bass lines, chattering guitars and pacy precise percussion. Taking into account the track record of producer Steve Albini it's also surprisingly tame and conservative.
Tracks like "The Birds" drift aimlessly by...
Published on 28 Mar. 2004 by russell clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Albini Produced...What Are You Waiting For?, 3 Aug. 2005
By 
Alan Ranta (Tiny Mix Tapes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Power Out (Audio CD)
Having just been exposed to Joy Division this summer, it's hard for this reviewer to ignore the similar kind of vibes I get from this, the second LP from Brighton's Electrelane. Steve Albini [The Pixies, Nirvana] seems to restrain his usually dirty production for the whole of this album with the exception of "Take The Bit Between Your Teeth" in lieu of doing his best Martin Hannett impression and even then doesn't do over the top. The all girl group is for all intents and purposes frozen on record in this sparse and doomy yet morbidly moving piece of desolation in a fairly timeless fashion for future generations to discover. The overall sound is much like Patti Smith fronting Ian Curtis' ill-fated band specifically on the "Free Money" influenced "Birds" [Horses, "Birds" ... Hmmm] except for the crisp quality of sound which time and technology have afforded us. Most of the time I'm forced to imagine a stilted Verity Susman, lead singer, screaming out into the night from some isolated, dark alley in the lower/middle class section of a decaying, country nonspecific metropolis, one of the last romantics suffering for the sins of a generation whose idea of love comes from and dies in J. Lo movies and McDonald's commercials. Music this soulful has no right to be made in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Power Out (Audio CD)
A really wonderful record; Electrelane have taken the best bits of their first LP and their 'I want to be the President' EP and pieced together a raw, imaginative and self-consiously arty second LP, of which 'The Valleys' is a clear highlight, and the best song I've heard in the last 12 months. Really really worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding piece of work, 29 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The Power Out (Audio CD)
On hearing Electrelane's session on the John Peel show I was immediately impressed. Their balanced style draws upon a variety of well-sourced influences from punk to folk. This diverse range creates a strong and eclectic sound of their own rather than merely style-switching between tracks. Electrelane also have a rare ability to make a tune dramatic and passionate whilst keeping the tune uplifting rather than descending into an oppressive self-indulgence.
Standout tracks include The Valley, Oh Sombra!, and Enter Laughing. Definitely the best album I have heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Aug. 2007
By 
Cr Hosking (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Power Out (Audio CD)
Brilliant brilliant brilliant.

I knew nothing about Electrelane and was given this album by a friend with no explanation. It's weird and wonderful and gets better the more times I listen to it. It's worth a listen no matter what you're into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keep listening over and over, 29 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Power Out (Audio CD)
the whole album can be described with the song 'birds'; while being quite simple, it is really high quality in artistic terms. I keep listening to it and don't think I'll ever be bored. repeating tunes can hardly be so fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The power is out too often for my liking., 28 Mar. 2004
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Power Out (Audio CD)
Electrelane. The name signifies a modernistic streamlined sound so it's a surprise that this is an album that takes a more traditional approach with rhythmic bass lines, chattering guitars and pacy precise percussion. Taking into account the track record of producer Steve Albini it's also surprisingly tame and conservative.
Tracks like "The Birds" drift aimlessly by making no impression and too often this is repeated throughout the course of the album.
The one outstanding exception is "The Valleys" which incorporates choir and choral vocals and makes the most of singers Verity Susmans pitch sharp vocals. It's like "Songs of Praise "remixed by David Holmes and gives a tantalising glimpse of what could have been achieved throughout the rest of the album. That's not to say that twelve versions of "The Valleys " would be the way to go but rather a variation on that theme than some of the aimless noodling on offer here.
Having said that, some of the other songs have things to recommend them." On Parade" has startling vocal yips and yelps, "Gone under Sea" hit's a Stereolabbish groove, "Take the bit between your Teeth" has the sort of guitar work that wouldn't sound out of place on a White Stripes track and on "This Deed" they sound uncannily like some of the guitars on Slints "Spiderland". No surprise there as Albini is a huge fan of that album.
But "Love builds up" err doesn't...build up that is ,while "You make me weak at the Knees" err didn't...make me weak at the knees that is. "Enter laughing" didn't even raise a chuckle, something it has in common with every episode of "Friends" I've ever seen.
When you consider what a group like "The Band of Susans" did with the basic guitar/bass/ drums line up too often this is mundane and lacking any sonic invention. It, s 50% Electrelane and 50% Electreplain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power Out
The Power Out by Electrelane
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews