Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to talk about!!!!
Wow, what a fantastic album this is. Badly drawn boy has gracefully moved on from the brilliant 'hour of...' and now produces this, an amazing soundtrack for a fantastic film.
When i first listened to this album i was travelling on a bus and i was overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of both the music and the countryside. It is deffinatly a Summer/Autumn album which makes...
Published on 2 Jun 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Album
This is a decent album with the stand out track being the title track.
I feel this is not a patch on his best album, which personally I reckon is "have you fed the fish today".
Published 9 months ago by John Riley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to talk about!!!!, 2 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
Wow, what a fantastic album this is. Badly drawn boy has gracefully moved on from the brilliant 'hour of...' and now produces this, an amazing soundtrack for a fantastic film.
When i first listened to this album i was travelling on a bus and i was overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of both the music and the countryside. It is deffinatly a Summer/Autumn album which makes you appreciate the world.
The track 'I love NYE' is brilliant. Its a peice of instrumental genious which made me want to cry. All the tracks are outstanding, especially Something to talkabout, which was the reason i bought this cd in the first place.
Other tracks that i like are the instrumental Wet,wet,wet Dead Duck and the short and sweet exit stage right. The other vocal tracks i like are Silent sigh, file me away and river sea ocean.
I have to recommend you buy this CD, its a great chill out cd and is a fantastic collection of songs. Buy it buy it BUY IT!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Badly Drawn, but definitely not Badly Written!, 4 Mar 2003
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
After enjoying the film I hurried out to purchase a copy of the soundtrack. A quick listen to the CD at a listening post at the shop confirmed what I already expected... that this was an excellent album.
Combining both instrumental and vocal pieces, the essence of the film is perfectly embodied, often provoking the listener to think back to certain parts of the movie. From the thirty second long 'Exit Stage Right' to the beautifully evocative 'I Love Nye', each song has a charming character of its own. My personal favourite is 'Silent Sigh', in my opinion the most representative of the film and soundtrack as a whole.
My only quibble, albeit very minor, is that unlike other film soundtracks that I own the tracks are not arranged in the order in which they appear in the film. This is not really a problem though, and the order in which they have been placed works well.
Definitely worth buying - it's great as background music or just to listen to more loudly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Madness, 11 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
When placing the About a Boy soundtrack into my CD player I was expecting something good, and yet was still astonished by how good it really was. An incredibly relaxing album, this OST has a mixture of songs and small pieces of calm and relaxing music. Personal favourites include Silent Sigh, Something to talk About, and A Peak You reach. This album is inspiring and really helps you get into the Summer mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film, fantastic book, superb soundtrack, 30 Jan 2004
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite soundtracks and 2 years after buying it I still listen to it regularly. Normally soundtracks consist of a no. of singles taken from an array of current pop stars, but this soundtrack is totally different to the rest. To me, the soundtrack enhances the film. 24 hours after seeing "About a boy" at the cinema, I bought the soundtrack, infact after viewing the film it was the soundtrack that I couldn't stop talking about.
I do not own any other Badly Drawn Boy albums, in fact I had never even heard of him before this album, so I couldn't say whether this is his best album or not, but it is definitely the best soundtrack. The album consists of a mixture of ballads, acoustic, uptempo and instrumentals. The best of the instrumentals is "I love N.Y.E", a very soft, sweet accoustic song which is beautiful to hear. Out of the songs, "Something to talk about" one of the singles taken from the album, is very memorable and features heavily in the film. It's a very uptempo accoustic track which in no time, will have you hummming along to. The main reason I enjoy this album is because each song sounds different from the previous, yet they are similar enough to fit nicely together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars year of the boy, 7 Mar 2002
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
firstly i'm a very lucky man - i've had this album now for a few weeks (for my sins i work in the evil music industry). for anybody who loved badly drawn boy's debut album 'hour of the bewilderbeast' (and lets face it - if you didn't what's the MATTER with you??!!) - this soundtrack album is going to be essential listening for the next few months. it - like its predecessor rewards and rewards with each listening -so that what sounds maybe slight on first listen beguiles and bewitches in time. sonically the album has more of the sheen of his re-recorded 'spitting in the wind' (not suprising as this is the first time damon has used a 'proper' producer)and may dissappoint those who revelled in the lo-fi quality of HOTB.
but honestly buy this record - cos with it gough has confirmed himself as the best songwriter this country (or any for that matter) has right now.
enjoy, enjoy, enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Chilled Listen, 22 July 2003
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
Wow! I watched the film, only really due to my affection for Hugh Grant ( he he) however, i soon realised that the film was worth a large amount of credit in it's own right and so, did the amazing soundtrack! This is the first BDB album I have bought, but i'm certainly planning on buying some more! The great mix of orchestral and vocal tracks make for a very relaxing listen- perfect for long drives, i have discovered!
The highlight has got to be "Something To Talk About" which is just AMAZING! I am in love with this song, it's the main reason why I bought the album in the first place. There is nothing I don't like about it, the lyrics, the tune, production- all excellent!
All the tracks feature lovely songwriting, great guitar and very ncie production, a very chilled out album- i reccomend it to anyone who enjoys BDB or course, or anyone who likes nice relaxing acoustic music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect antidote to PopIdolStarsRejectsCrap, 5 Jan 2003
By 
Mark Stapleton (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
This is a final grasp at the fine art of actually writing songs. Notes are crafted onto other notes with a shimmering perfection. Silent Sigh - so simple a five-year-old could pick it out on a piano (aside perhaps from the rising outro) yet so rich it just oozes with a heartfelt yearning. Something to talk about is both jolly yet poignant. The highlight is I love N.Y.E which is pure beauty, a real heart-breaker.
The album took its time to grow on me but to me it's my favourite record of 2002 and is a thing to be treasured.
If you DON'T like this album, there IS something SERIOUSLY wrong with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best releases of the year so far, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
Badly Drawn Boy, evidently hand-picked by music-loving author Nick Hornby to sculpt the soundtrack to this wonderful movie "About A Boy", has teamed up with long-time Beck producer, Tom Rothrock, to create a real gem of a soundtrack. BDB do not deviate much from the style they made their own on the Mercury Prize Winning debut, "The Hour Of The Bewilderbeast", but this seems more playful, innocent and childlike - which is perfect for the movie. Lots of strings, rolling and swelling piano chops, simple but highly effective basslines, the odd harmonica and effortlessly breezy vocals by Damon Gough.
(BTW, the movie is a real winner as well. Never thought it be possible to praise Hugh Grant, but this is unquestionably his best and most human, down-to-earth role ever. Add Toni Collete, the beautiful Rachel Weisz and newcomer Nicholas Hoult, and this will be one of the most popular and stubbornly lovely movies of the year. Both the boys and the girls should love it.)
And Damon Gough, lead singer and lyricist behind BDB, delivers a perfect indie-skewed pop song in "Something To Talk About". Both "Silent Sigh" and "Donna & Blitzon" have been released previously. But look out for the songs "A Minor Incident" and "Walking Out Of Stride" - both are unbeatable.
If this is the future of folk, the future is very bright indeed. Very nice album and gorgeous compliment to the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magical, 15 Jan 2010
By 
S. Mcdonald (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
I think this is the bet soundtrack album ever.

Yes even better than Easy Rider, Once upon a time in the west, Midnight Cowboy etc.

Why? The album contains beautiful and varied music. From the sublime Something to talk about to the whimsical Silent Sigh it drips with melody and atmosphere.

As a bonus it fits perfectly with the rather good movie, "About a boy", but, unlike most soundtracks, it stands on its own.

I've been listening to this regularly for the past 8 years and I never tire of it. Mr. Gough has created a masterpiece. Sadly he's never quite reached these dizzy heights since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant first soundtrack, 28 Jan 2009
By 
Dizzy (Smithville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: About A Boy (Audio CD)
Sitting in a classroom in the outskirts of Manchester in the late 1980's, little did I know that the clean-shaven boy sat in front of me would be a successful recording artist.
This is a brilliant soundtrack which helps to create continuity in the film and to express feelings and written words when no-one is speaking. A Minor Incident is the perfect portrayal of a note that the film audience don't see.
See the film, hear the music. Despite some of the subjects tackled the music is quite uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

About A Boy Soundtrack
About A Boy Soundtrack by Badly Drawn Boy
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews