Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introduction to the World's Most Underrated Band
If you're not into The Cult this is the best place to start and be converted. If you are a serious fan and are only enticed by the need to get a copy of 'The Witch' note that this version is an edit. The full version of The Witch is only available on the 'Star' CD single (1994) taken from the studio album released after this compilation. This is also available on Amazon...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Liam Murphy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
I only like a few songs on the album but to be fair havent fully listened to it and the songs i have heard are interesting
Published 2 months ago by corine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introduction to the World's Most Underrated Band, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: Pure Cult (Audio CD)
If you're not into The Cult this is the best place to start and be converted. If you are a serious fan and are only enticed by the need to get a copy of 'The Witch' note that this version is an edit. The full version of The Witch is only available on the 'Star' CD single (1994) taken from the studio album released after this compilation. This is also available on Amazon. As for Pure Cult, this brings together the best of their first proper five albums and there is not a duff track to be had. Definitely for playing at full blast and rocking out. As it says on the tin, or cover, for rockers, ravers, lovers, and sinners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Nostalgia, 28 Mar 2011
If, like me, you're of an age when crimpers, patchouli and studded belts make you feel all fuzzy and warm inside, then you (again, like me) have your share of Cult (and or Southern Death Cult / Death Cult) albums on vinyl gathering dust in the loft. If this is you, then this compilation will you have dancing round the house like a demented fool, reliving your demented, foolish teenage years. If you're new to the Cult - then this is a great place to start. They were noisy, raucous, rock and roll heroes, and the old songs still stand up - especially (predictably enough) the classics - Sanctuary, Revolution, Lil Devil, Rain, Love Removal Machine (gotta love the guitar break at the end!). If there is a fault, it's that they became slightly overblown as their career progressed (in my opinion), and some of the later tracks reflect that. Overall though, this is a whole lotta fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a duff song in sight, 26 Nov 2003
Well, what can you say. An amazing collection from one of the best rock bands of the last 20th century. As the songs progress you can hear the musicianship improve. That's not to say that songs like SpiritWalker aren't classics, but by the time we hit Love Removal Machine the band are on a full speed rock trip. Heart Of Soul is a bit bland radio rock, but the rest are pure quality.
As for The Witch, can a song groove more than that.
The only reason not to buy this cd is that you should go out and buy the entire back catalogue so you have everything anyway !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each and everyone is a winner, 19 exquisite songs, 22 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I hadn't really paid attention to the group before, but this " Best of ... " is simply amazing. I bought it for my boyfriend and fell completely in love with Ian Astbury. My personal favourites are (nş 11) Edie, Ciao Baby and (nş 2) Fire Woman. The Cult have managed to create a sort of music which isn't simply Rock or Gothic, there is so much emotion in their lyrics and their music, it is a perfect mixture of agression, love and sweet melancholy. An absolute hit and I can only recommend it to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This band should not be overlooked, 27 Jan 2010
The Cult are an English rock band, formed in 1983. They gained a dedicated following in Britain in the mid 1980s as a post-punk and gothic rock band The band manages to fuses a kind of "heavy metal " sound with the "pseudo-mysticism of The Doors, the guitar-riffs of Led Zeppelin, and the three-chord crunch of Punk, glossed in a style Siouxsie Sioux would be proud of AC/DC,. Say what you want about the Cult, they are a band who will certainly go down as one of the most schizophrenic in rock history. Singer Ian Astbury and guitarist Billy Duffy could sure write a great tune. Just glance at a few titles included on this collection Pure Cult: The Singles 1984-1995: is evidence enough.

Spread haphazardly across the disc (rather than in chronological order), each track's uniqueness is even more evident, further showcasing the Cult's fearless creativity. Astbury's lyrics are a cause of a great deal of criticism. A confessed mystic with a lifelong interest in Native Americans and Native American culture, his lyrics unashamedly attempt to convey his concerns. Astbury is not the most poetic writer in rock, but he is usually clear in his intentions and guilty of being straightforward and sincere. Seemingly in conflict with Astbury's lyrical bent is Duffy's fat rock guitar sound and flashy solos.

The origins of the band can be traced back to 1981, in Bradford, Yorkshire, where vocalist and songwriter Ian Astbury formed a band called Southern Death Cult.[3] The name was chosen with a double meaning, and was derived from the 14th century Native American religion, it was also a stab at what the band viewed was the centralisation of power in Southern England. In March 1985, The Cult recorded their fourth single, "She Sells Sanctuary", which charted at #15 in the UK charts. This is the point in which the world ears suddenly priced up and the Cult were noticed.

What struck many about the Cult in the '80s was how their fan base seemed to shift some from record to record. Listening to these singles one is struck by apparent differences between them but with each successive pose the band grew in popularity. The collection Pure Cult helps one appreciate the significance of The Cult and like many other bands, The Cult's singles do not give a complete portrait of their musical range.

In 1991, director Oliver Stone offered Astbury the role of Jim Morrison in Stone's film The Doors. He declined the role because he was not happy with the way Morrison was represented in the film. Ironically in the late 2000's the Door reformed and Ian became there new Lead singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live rock n' roll, here come The Cult, 15 April 2007
By 
Audrius Alkauskas (Lithuania and Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rock music is a universe on its own. It is a reality with all possible colours, flavours, emotions and philosophies. The Rolling Stones are as far from U2 as Oasis from Nirvana. But all of them do rock. And rock hard. Similarly, The Cult is a group like no other. While I do not buy all their albums, since then I would have to buy albums of many other groups and would be out of money, "The Pure Cult" is a must-have for all funs of rock. Each song is a perl, covering a bounty of rock 'n' roll flavours. You will find a psychedelic "Resurrection Joe", typical grunge "In The Clouds", early R.E.M an The Cure - like "Spiritwalker". And by far my most favourite are "The Witch", "Revolution", "The Rain" and "Go West". It fills my heart with enormous pleasure listening to this CD.

Vocalists were always a strong point of British rock. And in my opinion, Ian Astbury, the lead singer of The Cult, is one of the finest tenors of British rock scene. His place is certainly among ones like Ian Gillan from Deep Pruple, Robert Plant from Led Zeppelin, James Dean Bradfield from Manic Street Preachers, Brett Anderson from Suede, and Freddie Mercury from Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this cd take me back to my youth absolutely fantastic good memories fantastic, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brought this cd take me back to my youth absolutely fantastic good memories fantastic cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only like a few songs on the album but to be fair havent fully listened to it and the songs i have heard are interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 2 April 2014
By 
J. Brown "jimbro325" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I'm not a huge Cult fan but like their well known stuff so this is the perfect album for someone like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the bands name, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Cult (Audio CD)
As in the bands name this collection of songs are of cult statues. The songs still stand their time and with amazing vocals by Ian Astbury on such standards as, She sells Sanctuary, Rain,Sweet Soul Sister and my favourite Edie ( Ciao Baby )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure Cult
Pure Cult by The Cult
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews