Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The holy grail of alternative rock
This is one of the best albums ever made, one of those rare albums where every track is killer, one of those rare albums where you think how the hell can an artist record perfection like this. I cannot recommend this enough. This isn't just a 5 star album it is musical genius. Fact. If you want to buy a Pixies album, this is the one. If you want to buy an alternative rock...
Published on 31 Jan. 2008 by Thomas A. Johnson

versus
3 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pixies go soft rock
Stunningly over-rated.
Following the astonishingly twisted and furious C'mon Pilgrim and Surfer Rosa, they mellowed out badly with MOR tunes like "wave of multilation" and "monkey gone to heaven" - great titles but they'd gone soft by this point.
Published on 1 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album, reborn., 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doolittle [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a stereo remaster version of the classic 1989 Pixies album "Doolittle", on vinyl. I'd recommend this to anyone who used to, or does own this on vinyl (but perhaps it's a little old and clicky!), or to anyone that collects vinyl with a love for classic and great rock albums, this is a must have in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolittle, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
Some manage to overlook this magnificent Pixies album, forgetting that it is a cross between their crazy schizoid early albums and artsy tuneful later work. It's perfect in that regard. Kim Deal and Black Francis collaborated on most of these great tunes, and the result is best described in the first track, "Debaser". It's a great song, it's insanely catchy, *and* it convinced to watch `Un Chien Andalou'. I owe that song a lot.

The other tracks are just as great, like "Wave of Mutilation", "Here Comes Your Man" (with one of the most infectious basslines I have ever heard), "I Bleed", "Hey" and "Monkey Gone To Heaven". Man, they were on a roll back then. This album has come to epitomize everything good about the 90s, and it's an influence to countless other bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor will see you now!!!, 27 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
A stone cold classic, what? nearly 20 years ago now!!! still sounds fresh, edgy, thrilling and perfect, all these years later!
I was lucky enough to see them in 1990 When they were at the very peak of their powers, Doolittle was the pinnacle of their recorded work, not a duff track to speak of, the tone set by one of the top 10 album openers ever, "Debaser", the rest of the album skips along at a thrilling pace, catchy riffs, Frank Black's wail, Kim Deals propelling bass, Dave Loverings funky drumming, and Joey Santiago's unique guitar riffage! The album has abarbed wire exterior, but a pure pop heart, and it's this which will bring you back, time and time again.
Forget most of the dross masquerading as "indie" these days, this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious!, 11 Jan. 2001
By 
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
Writing this review makes me feel old! I was in the sixth form when this came out, and having already bought and played Surfer Rosa to death, I knew this album was going to be good. I just didn't realise how good . . . If Debaser isn't the greatest opening track of all time, then I really don't know what is. Some albums take eons to get going. Within a second, this album has picked you up by the scruff of the neck, shaken you around and left you up there, stuck to the ceiling, grinning with manic joy. 15 tracks later, you want to start all over again. Loud, sexy, insane and beautiful; the perfect musical mesh of the loins, the head and the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 23 July 2001
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
What makes the pixies different from other alt. rock bands? Well, they were one of the first, but mainly its the greatness of the songs. 'simple but effective' doesn't quite cover it, 'simple but fantastic' is more appropriate. 'Doolittle' is a big step forward from 'Surfer Rosa' due mainly to a greater variety of styles, from the twangy 'here comes your man' and the acoustic 'silver' to the fast and furious 'crackity jones', with some glorious moments inbetween, my personal favourites being 'debaser' and 'dead'. But what really makes the difference is Frank Black's demented singing on some of the songs, notably 'no. 13 baby' and 'debaser'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums ever, 4 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
It's easy to think that an album which is praised so often must be overrated, but in my opinion this is one of the best albums of all time (as well as having led the way for many other favourite albums of mine, e.g. Rid of Me, In Utero and OK Computer).
One of the main things that is noticeable about this album is the fact that it has a timeless quality and doesn't sound dated whatsoever. As well as the fantastic musicianship of all four of the band members, Black Francis' very unique voice is one of the best elements of this album.
Standout tracks: Hey, Tame & Gouge Away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes Your new Favourite album, 26 July 2004
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
First off, if you are reading this review to decide whether or not to buy this album - Buy it, please! You will never look back. Doolittle is a true masterpiece.
I was first introduced to the band The Pixies after hearing 'Where is my mind' a superb song from 'Surfer Rosa' on the soundtrack to the 'fight club' movie. From there I was completely hooked.
Doolittle is the first album I listened to in its entirety by The Pixies and it would certainly not be the last. From the unforgettable bassline of 'Here comes your man' to the demented 'Dead' and 'Tame' to the equally brilliant and unusually beautiful 'Hey'. This album has it all, it is utterly faultless. I find it bizzare that many songs on the album convey such emotion, dark & twisted or heartfelt alike, considering the unexpected subject matter eg. 'Hey' is about fucking.
And when you really get into the album, read the lyics - very unusual stuff indeed - Bible stories, French B-Movies, Tatooed tits, Masicism, the lot! Although an unfortunate absense of Black's UFO-orientated mateial - another of his bizzare fixations!
All in all, i have to say this is my favourite album of all time and I'd bet bet my bottom dollar there are coutless others who would agree going on the other glowing reviews that you will find here and for that matter anywhere else on Doolittle. Without the Pixies, our Planet of Sound as we know it would be a very different place. Surfer Guitars, Catchy as hell Riffs, Wooping, Howling, Pop Weirdness and just genuine, genuine inivatite thinking and practice has propelled the Pixies as well as alternative rock as a collective into the stratosphere and produced so many new figues in the last decade. Basically, buy Doolittle!
5 Stars. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last great US rock band ..., 13 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
The Pixies had energy and invention that most other bands of the past 20 years can only dream of. They made records with the straight 2 guitars, bass and drums setup that sound unlike any other. For the occasional truly great band that bring something new and fresh, a sound unlike any that came before where you can't add all the influences together and see who they're copying, there are a dozen or more flacid immitators. Several bands of the 90's built their career on imitating the Pixies et al, and doing it badly. What the Beatles, Stones and Velvet Underground were to those that came after, the Pixies are to the 90's and beyond. Only the other great Boston band of the 80's, Throwing Muses, and more recently the Afghan Whigs can bear comparison.
"Doolittle" then, probably the most scathing and wildly ragged rock record of any decade. Sure there are mellow moments, and they're probably the low points on what is nevertheless an always great record. From the opening Debaser, with its' ferocious and insane vocal over skin peeling guitars, to the closing anger and fire of Gouge Away, there's no pause for breath or mediocrity. Filler? Ha!
Inbetween there are a half dozen gems. Tame, I Bleed, Mr. Grieves, No. 13 Baby fall into the short-sharp-shock of guitars blazing out wonderfully off-kilter rhythms and melody over big Black Francis' mad searing and unique vocal "delivery", with Kim Deal's sweet backing vocals and harmonies wrapping around the wall of sound. You can almost hear them grining behind the music, demonic smiles knowing they're onto something special. You'll never hear anything like it.
For all the fire and razors, there are softer moments like Key, Here Comes Your Man and La La Love You. Key is maybe the standout track with its devotedly manic duet. Indeed, there's such great energy between Francis and Deal that drives the record along at a bullet's pace. One gets the feeling they're really playing for each other, not the record or the listener, and completely in love with what they're doing.
With all the great signpost records of the past 20 years, you can usually name-check a couple of obvious reference points. With the Pixies though, this is near impossible. What makes a band special is its' ability to make records that sound distinctly their own. Using the straight 2-guitars, bass and drums combination, they still came up with 4 albums that were Pixies and nothing else. If you had to look for influences, there's some Velvet Underground in there in the sweet melodies and vocals and some Husker Du for those searing guitars and the rage of Black Francis. Even then, it all comes out of the mix sounding like nothing ever released before. The essential all-out rock band of the 1980's, the equal of anything that preceeded them, the Daddy of virtually everything that they spawned.
While the UK scene blossomed with the Manic Street Preachers and Radiohead (among a host of others), since the Pixies split in the early 90's, the US music scene has been sadly lacking, rolling around in its' own image. While Nirvana took the mantle with their brand of bland verse-chorus-verse-chorus fashion setting, the Smashing Pumpkins gave a taste of could-of-been-great before time-travelling up their own inner space, all before the awful immitative adolescent dirge that followed from Green Day and Offspring, few bands came out of the States with anything approaching the heights of Black Francis and co. One has to dig deep to find the cream atop the sour milk. Only Kristin Hersh and her Throwing Muses, The Flaming Lips and perhaps The Afghan Whigs with their own masterpiece, "Gentlemen", have come close to the energy, passion and creative originality of the Pixies. There have been great records, sure, but few if any great bands. There's little hope that the Stooges-I-Mean-Strokes can fill that hole.
While Surfer Rosa, Come On Pilgrim and the under-rated Bossanova are classics on their own terms, this remains the pinacle achievement of 4 people at the peak of their powers. An inventive guitarist like no other in Joey Santiago, the great rolling bass and sweet vocals of Kim Deal, the machinegun drumming of David Lovering and the one-off manic scorching vocals of Black Francis. The Pixies. Rock Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Save this format!!, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
Long story but due to complicated circumstances have been listening to music mainly from MP3 for 2 years, and have just upgraded my system so I can once more listen to my albums direct from CD. Coupled with this the player I've bought (Marantz Pearl Lite) plays SACD and this is the first disc in that format I've ever bought or heard. This leads me to a number of conclusions:

1. MP3 is atrocious quality and really fit only for headphones on the move.
2. Whining record companies need to stop bemoaning falling sales and promote CD as the superior format. If your hi-fi is even half decent the difference isn't just a matter of taste, it's glaringly obvious. MP3 is flat, over compressed, and in terms of reproducing what the artist intended, a huge step backwards.
3. Having been blown away by this SACD of an album I've loved for years I'm really sad to see that a quick search on Amazon seems to point to the fact that the format seems to be dying on it's skinny digital a**e.

Don't think there's much point telling you how good this album is. One of those times when a genius/lunatic manages to use sound and words to take you somewhere nobody even dreamt existed before. Been nothing like it before or since.

So in summary:
-if you've never heard The Pixies try this, Bossanova, or even Trompe le Monde. There's no accounting for taste but I can promise you won't feel bored, cheated or patronized.
-MP3 is fine for a portable format but if you love music do yourself a favour and buy the CD (they've never been cheaper!).
-Record companies get off your self pitying a****s and promote the valuable product you have.
-Shame I've discovered SACD just as it goes to join Betamax!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Pixies' Finest Albums, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Doolittle (Audio CD)
It's the Pixies. Of course it's good. t's before the malaise of 'Bossanova' and 'Trompe le Monde' set in, and the songs represent the peak of the Pixies songwriting formula, and the perhaps peak of their musical identity. . Personally, I find their previous effort 'Surfer Rosa' more compelling in terms of songwriting, but 'Doolittle' is an excellent rock album. Beneath the many lively and exquisitely strange songs lies Frank Black's dark sense of humour, leaking into them in the form of his surreal and twisted lyrics. Black makes wide use of religious imagery on the album. Two guitars, Black's chugging Telecaster and guitarist Joey Santiago's angular Gibson Les Paul lead sounds, complement each other extremely well. Bassist Kim Deal captures fantastically simplified bass-lines, complemented by the band's trademark loud-to-quiet, letting the bass and drummer Tom Lovering to carry the songs during verses or choruses. Some songs are catchy pop masterpieces, others strange squealing laments, many are frenzied, hysterical pieces of genius. The Pixies managed to create a perfect antithesis to the rehashed, dull and extremely embarrassing heavy metal and hard rock that dominated the musical charts at the time. Be prepared to set aside any desire for cliche songs or indie rock tunes. You simply won't get them here, you hipster Expect screaming, singing, squawking distortion and fantastic Beatles-style melodic hooks.
All in all, pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doolittle
Doolittle by Pixies
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews