Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shop-full of delightful characters, including a young James Stewart
This well-crafted comedy in black and white doesn't waste a scene. Most of the action takes place in a shop in Budapest where the shopkeeper and his staff are all well drawn and played with gusto by the small cast. The scene where Margaret Sullivan sells the musical cigar box to the candy-loving lady is a masterclass in sales technique!

James Stewart and...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by A. Lomax

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This dvd is not available to English people, which is rediculous.
A great disappointment. I thought it was going to be in English but was, in fact, only in Spanish. It
was very badly advertised. Why on Earth is this not available to English speaking people in Europe?
Published 20 months ago by John Waller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shop-full of delightful characters, including a young James Stewart, 20 Oct 2009
By 
A. Lomax (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHOP AROUND THE CORNER,NTSC KOREAN IMPORT:STARS JAMES STEWART AND MARGARET SULLAVAN (DVD)
This well-crafted comedy in black and white doesn't waste a scene. Most of the action takes place in a shop in Budapest where the shopkeeper and his staff are all well drawn and played with gusto by the small cast. The scene where Margaret Sullivan sells the musical cigar box to the candy-loving lady is a masterclass in sales technique!

James Stewart and Margaret Sullivan maintain a comical dislike of one another at work after starting off on the wrong foot. In private they are each trying to better themselves by writing on cultural topics to an unknown person, each secretly falling in love with their anonymous correspondent. The viewer knows long before they do who their respective correspondents really are, but the comic and romantic aspects of their finding out are exploited to good effect. This theme was reused in the more recent You've Got Mail [DVD] [1999].

The other members of the cast have various romantic backgrounds -- the happily married man with children, the man who suspects is wife is having an affair, the spinster living with her mother, the man who is having an affair with a rich married woman, the ambitious boy (presumably ready to take out girls), and at the end the new young errand boy who is alone in the big city. The interaction of the two main characters plays out against this background to great effect, with the final scenes taking place in the run-up to Christmas.

A delightful film that will stand many viewings!

P.S. I've been waiting for many years for a UK PAL version of this film to be released on DVD, but I've finally settled for this Korean PAL version. The only set-back is that it plays with Korean subtitles by default, but it's easy to reset the subtitles or switch them off so no real problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 15 Aug 2007
For those of you who do not know this movie, it is one of the most charming films ever made. It is the original on which You've got Mail, with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, is based.
Set in an indeterminate east European country, probably Hungary, James Stewart is superb in the role of a gift shop manager who is the "pen pal" of one of his own shop assistants, Margaret O'Sullivan, without either of them knowing this is the case. They dislike each other from the moment, she starts working there. Of course it all turns out well in the end and romance blossom's. The film has a wonderful script and there are fine performances from the whole cast, all of whom were "stock" actors of the period. They really do not make films like this any more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film from Hollywood's 'golden age', 8 Jun 2009
By 
This beautiful film really does deserve to be more widely known. It crops up very infrequently on the television now and its distribution on DVD and VHS in the UK has been very haphazard, which is a great shame.

Margaret Sullavan is in splendidly feisty form, and both she and James Stewart - as the principals in the romantic element of the plot - spark off each other wonderfully. Having said that, this is very much an ensemble piece and the remainder of the characters, down to the smallest role, are perfectly cast.

The romantic plotline formed the basis for 'You've Got Mail', with Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, but that slick remake has none of the charm of this original. There really isn't a weak link in this film at all and it achieves all its effects with a simplicity and apparent effortlessness that seems to be lacking from mainstream Hollywood productions these days. It's one of my all-time favourite films. A touching and heart-warming comedy from the golden age of cinema, this film absolutely gets a five star recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect romantic drama, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This oh-so memorable diamond of enchanting romanticism was, I'm afraid spoiled by the DVD I'd bought, a Korean import. That's the only reason why I dropped it a star, otherwise it would have got a 6!

The panning shots shuddered and even snow looked odd as it fell. I emailed the seller who was very sympathetic and helpful and immediately sent a replacement, presuming the first to be faulty. I was so disappointed that the second played exactly the same.

We mutually concluded that my sensitivities to such might be more acute than most and I had, at least been re-united after many years with one of my favourite films, though I'd only seen it on TV once, at least 6 years before. Jimmy Stewart's measured but assured manner is both humbling and beguiling and the film's charm is unmatched but not at all treacly.

Though set at Christmas, it really can be enjoyed at any time of year partly because it doesn't cover any religious ground but more importantly, is such a rich, hot-chocolate fudge cake of a treat, it should be available on prescription.

Please, someone..re-release it, properly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shop around the corner, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Although it is widely said that "You've Got Mail" is based on this film really only the plot line of two persons communicating at a distance (in this case by letter) without knowing that they have met in reality is in common between the two films. The film is set in Budapest but there is no evidence (other than signage) of this but for the generally European atmosphere. The film is nonetheless a whimsical comedy full of "characters". The script is well written and it is the language rather than the action which makes the film delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shop Around the Corner review, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Joy Parry (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHOP AROUND THE CORNER,NTSC KOREAN IMPORT:STARS JAMES STEWART AND MARGARET SULLAVAN (DVD)
This is one of my all time favourite films. The acting is great, the story warm and witty, and it makes the re-make (You've Got Mail) look wooden and dull by comparison. If you enjoy nostalgic, feel-good films you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful love story set around Christmas time, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Rama Rao "Rama" (Annandale, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is long list of movies to watch around Christmas time. Everyone knows true classics such as; it's a wonderful life, Scrooge, Christmas carol, Miracle on 34th street, and many others. There are some movies not usually mentioned but must be called a Christmas classics, and this particular movie definitely makes that list. This is a beautiful love story set around Christmas time starring James Stewart and Margaret Sullivan.

Alfred Kralik (James Stewart) and Klara Novak (Margaret Sullivan) offer brilliant performances as two pen-pals who are in love but don't know that they are pen pals, in spite of the fact the two work in the same gift shop. The setting is simply great and very family oriented. This movie is set in Yuletide spirit with bells ringing, Christmas carols in the background, Christmas wreaths decorating the walls, homes, shops and buildings, and streets and neighborhoods covered with fresh snow. This movie was superbly directed by Ernst Lubitsch who made other classics such as; Angel (starring Marlene Dietrich), Ninotchka, and Heaven can wait (1943 version). Frank Morgan as Hugo Matuschek, the store owner has provided a splendid supporting role as store owner and very sensitive manager who respects the opinion of his employees and run the place a like a well knit family. Other workers include, the snippy errand boy, Pepi Katona (William Tracy), the caring and mild-mannered clerk, Pirovitch (Felix Bresssart), philandering Ferencz Vadas (Joseph Schildrakraut), and clerks Ilona (Sara Haden) and Flora.

Hugo Matuschek learns that his wife is having an affair and through a detective agency finds out that a store worker is the culprit. Thinking that Alfred is the guilty man he fires him. Later, when Hugo Matuschek learns that his wife is actually having an affair with Vadas, he despairs and tries to end his life, but is saved by Pepi Katona. Finally Alfred is re-hired as a store manager who fires Vadas, and rallies the store employees to make the biggest sale on Christmas Eve. Hugo Matuschek returns to a happy reunion and at last, the feuding Alfred and Klara become friends and she confides her love for him and he finally reveals himself as her secret lover. There is a fair amount of "Frank Capra dynamics" in the movie, at times it is very touching and the spirit of Christmas as envisioned by Charles Dickens flows through the mind and hearts of store workers, especially Alfred and Klara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting masterpiece!, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: SHOP AROUND THE CORNER,NTSC KOREAN IMPORT:STARS JAMES STEWART AND MARGARET SULLAVAN (DVD)
This is nothing short of a masterpiece. With Lubitsch at the height of his powers directing an impeccable cast led by Stewart and Sullavan, it is hard to imagine a more perfectly formed romantic comed. Far from an undiluted romp, it has a dark subplot which serves only to heighten the pleasure it affords. Every performance is a masterclass in delicacy and precision. Life-affirming, touching and uplifting, this film leaves the world a little kinder and more compassionate for having seen it. They don't come better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One my all time favourites, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best films from a great era of film making. The comedy and romance are sweet and funny in turns but there is an edginess and honesty that can often be lacking in light, romantic comedy. The performances from the whole company are excellent. By the end of the film you feel you know them all. In fact I'm missing them right now. I think I'll just pop this DVD on again.

Also if, like me you are interested in costume, this film is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why not region 2?, 23 Dec 2008
Why is this not available on Region 2 format? It's such a charmer, and so rarely seen. I was hoping to get a copy for my Christmas treat, but will have to wait until I get a new player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews