Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellower, subtler but just as wonderful
As its early reactions prove, 'Challengers' will be a divisive record. Some will see this fourth album as betraying the giddy pop thrills of their earlier albums, while many will see it as the most mature and heartfelt offering of new pornography yet. It's a natural follow-up to 2005's Twin Cinema, which leant towards ballads as well as the upbeat indie-rock numbers. Its...
Published on 15 Aug. 2007 by Mike Mantin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not standout brilliant, but I quite like it
There are four tracks that I really quite like on this album, which I bought as I thought the "Adventures in Solitude" track was fantastic when I heard it at the end of the 2009 Jennifer Aniston indie film "Management".

There's always a bit of chance that even after listening to an album a few times all the other tracks are going to be rubbish - and the track...
Published on 11 Oct. 2010 by Captain Zoom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellower, subtler but just as wonderful, 15 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Challengers (Audio CD)
As its early reactions prove, 'Challengers' will be a divisive record. Some will see this fourth album as betraying the giddy pop thrills of their earlier albums, while many will see it as the most mature and heartfelt offering of new pornography yet. It's a natural follow-up to 2005's Twin Cinema, which leant towards ballads as well as the upbeat indie-rock numbers. Its highlight was 'The Bleeding Heart Show', the melancholy spirit of which is all over 'Challengers', especially in its opening track, the beautiful 'My Rights Versus Yours', which sets the sensitive, emotional tone of the rest of the album perfectly.

'Challengers' offers as many delights as every other New Pornographers album, just different kinds. While there's no instant classic like 'Letter From An Occupant' or 'Sing Me Spanish Techno', we are spoilt with slow-burning love songs. The wonderful 'Unguided', at a whopping six and a half minutes, is their longest song yet, gently building up to its climax of clattering guitars and glockenspiels, in which the wide-eyed Pornographers repeat the line "there is something unguided in the sky tonight." It gloriously shows off how mature their songwriting has become. Similarly, the two Neko Case-fronted songs - 'Go Places' and the title track - are their most moving yet.

The album also sounds like the band's most coherent effort. Dan Bejar's idiosyncracies in his songwriting and voice which he fully explores in his solo work as Destroyer are on display in the three songs he contributes here but, more than on previous New Pornographers albums, they fit in perfectly - check out the glorious backing vocals on the chorus of 'Entering White Cecilia', for example. His holiday-themed 'The Spirit Of Giving', too, closes the album on a suitably melancholic note. The days of The New Pornographers making instantly loveable upbeat pop songs may well be over, but 'Challengers' is a fine example of a band maturing and honing their songwriting. This year has seen The Shins and Modest Mouse jump from the fringe to the US charts. The New Pornographers could easily do the same, and this record is certainly up to the challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beige?, 12 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Challengers (Audio CD)
So far, this album's only review on amazon.co.uk describes it as "beige". Hey, the guy is entitled to his opinion, but he's wrong. I am entitled to my opinion, and I am right. I'm joking, of course. But I am right. And he is wrong. "Challengers" (once you get past the admittedly hideous cover art) is rather good. Like all NP albums, it takes its sweet time about winning you over. But win you over it will. Complex, hook-packed, funny, catchy, surprising stuff from Canada's finest. Yeah, that's it. No different from their previous albums, but just as good as their previous albums. How can you not love these people? Carl, Neko, Dan, and, um, the other nineteen... making excellent 21st century indie rock. Listen. I am right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps Growing And Growing, 29 Jan. 2012
By 
Dan Carver (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challengers (Audio CD)
First listen, I thought, yeah, couple of standout tunes and the rest is reasonable. Over time, those standout tunes brought me back, my ears acclimatised, and I realised pretty much everything on this album was an absolute gem. Catch the title track in the right frame of mind and it's a heartbreaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant record, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challengers (Audio CD)
Lovely album. There are some truly great songs on this record, my favourite being "Challengers", "Go Places", "Myriad Harbor" and "Entering White Cecilia". This album is worth a purchase, the songs are magnificent, don't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Challengers (Audio CD)
My favourite of the New Pornographer's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not standout brilliant, but I quite like it, 11 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Challengers (Audio CD)
There are four tracks that I really quite like on this album, which I bought as I thought the "Adventures in Solitude" track was fantastic when I heard it at the end of the 2009 Jennifer Aniston indie film "Management".

There's always a bit of chance that even after listening to an album a few times all the other tracks are going to be rubbish - and the track you liked fades on you, but luckily the first three tracks "My Rights Versus Yours", "All the old showstoppers" and "Challengers" - which have quirky lyrics yet strangely catchy melodies - luckily do grow on you after a couple of goes and "Adventures in Solitude" track gets better in a way that makes you smile when you haven't heard it in a bit. If you You Tube the track it's been in a few other programmes which have used the tune very effectively - I was surprised to say I really enjoyed the Ugly Betty episode out there (even though I've never seen the programme before). Some of the tracks are REM / B52 -esque in the most terrible fashion but the best four tracks are there to make it all worthwhile. Rip them in lossless and don't bother ripping the others even on lowest quality mp3.

Overall worth it if getting it for a reasonable price.

No - wait, actually even worth getting at full price, as I think if I lost the CD for some reason - I'd probably want to replace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Challengers
Challengers by The New Pornographers
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews