Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best ofs
The thing about bands like the Stranglers is that they are a bit of a compilers nightmare. A prodigious output, coupled with a long career and a couple of label-changes make for a difficult all-encompassing best of, as evidenced by a few of the others on the market (No '5 Minutes' or 'Golden Brown? WHAT?!). But this is certainly the best available, with all the...
Published on 9 Jun 2006 by Beardy Pete

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "The Very Best"? How can this be?
The Stranglers are a great group who have prouduced some fine songs but the manufactureres of this CD need their heads examining. Are they really trying to suggest that the shorter version of the classic "Walk On By" which misses out most of the mind blowing organ solo and which is included in this collection is actually better than the longer version with the solo in all...
Published on 27 Jun 2006 by Nostromo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best ofs, 9 Jun 2006
The thing about bands like the Stranglers is that they are a bit of a compilers nightmare. A prodigious output, coupled with a long career and a couple of label-changes make for a difficult all-encompassing best of, as evidenced by a few of the others on the market (No '5 Minutes' or 'Golden Brown? WHAT?!). But this is certainly the best available, with all the crowd-pleasers you would want jammed onto one disc. Ok, so the 1989 version of Get a Grip on Yourself is a bit naff but they had to slip up somewhere. Bottom line is, if you have a Stranglers shaped hole in your CD collection, this is the album to put in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peaches - The Very Best Of The Stranglers (MP3 Download)
You forget what a great band the Stranglers were or should I say still are after seeing them earlier this year in Bristol. Must for all fans !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an organ solo too far!, 6 July 2007
By 
fantastic album but only 4 stars due to a lack of a couple of essential stranglers songs, eg. waltzin black, bear cage and i'd liked to have had a few more songs from their masterpiece, "the raven" included.

still a really cool compilation though from a very underrated piece of british musical history. some of the organ solo's will make your head spin, and i have seen it make people nauseous and lunge for the stereo to turn it off, so beware!

you might want to get "the collection 77-88" instead and give the later stuff a miss. it's just a bit tame compared to the older stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not all familiar with their albums but have always enjoyed the singles. Complete and very enjoyable listening. Recommend to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peaches, no cream., 11 Oct 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently heard the Stranglers for the first time in years, from a freebie CD out the papers none the less. I thought i'd buy a compilation. First task is to decide which one? there are so many.

I chose this one because, unlike all the others, i'd heard of most of the tracks. It is very good and the only weakness is La Folie, a spoken track in french. Replaced with go buddy go and I might have given 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all music fans. PROMISE., 9 Jun 2002
By 
pbes744934@aol.com (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
No greater band of their era. A very good stab at the best of aswell, certainly the earlier stuff anyway. I defy anyone to purchase this album and not continue playing it for years to come. With all this talk of the 25 year anniversary of punk, do yourself a favour and buy this from a band that could and still do know how to play, and who went on to better and stronger things in the 80's and through to the next century. Enjoy, and don't forget to thank me for leading you on the right path. Bez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "The Very Best"? How can this be?, 27 Jun 2006
The Stranglers are a great group who have prouduced some fine songs but the manufactureres of this CD need their heads examining. Are they really trying to suggest that the shorter version of the classic "Walk On By" which misses out most of the mind blowing organ solo and which is included in this collection is actually better than the longer version with the solo in all its glory? They must be having a laugh? If you plan to buy this CD, look elsewhere for one with the full version of this outstanding song and ask yourself how a shorter, edited, abridged, censored, clipped, cropped or reduced version of anything can ever be better than the original???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though the CD was 2nd hand and had some processing stuff on it from a public library, the quality was good - and there were tracks on it I hadn't heard in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of the Conti Club in Manchester 1982, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic album, I didn't realise how many of the tracks I knew, took me right back to the 80's, clubbing with the Doctors, Nurses, Policemen etc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the songs you'd expect , I enjoyed the trip down memory lane a lot . though my kids are a bit bemused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews