Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Phone - Decent Price
Bought the phone two days ago and i have to say it is amazing. If you are after a basic phone with a few extras this is the phone for you. I have had a Samsung touch screen before so was a bit unsure about going down this route again but i was plesently surprised. The touch screen is easy to operate and all the apps are easy to navigate too. The quick dials are an...
Published on 30 Sep 2009 by Mouse

versus
72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice touch screen, but only an average phone
Although the KP500 (I just can't call it Cookie) has been marketed by LG as a touch-screen phone for those somewhat more budget-conscious than those lucky iPhone owners, it's still a decent handset in its own right.

The screen is large and clear, but thankfully the handset is still quite thin and very light. It's certainly more pocket friendly than the iPhone...
Published on 15 May 2009 by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first touch screen! Poor battery meter., 14 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. D. Wade "DJWazza" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The phone does everything a phone should do, and that is what you would expect for a phone of this price. Of course it doesn't have all the applications that an iPhone has, but it does what it needs to do well.

The only problem I have noticed with this phone is the Battery Meter. It is not an accurate representation of how much battery the phone has left. It seems that with the battery meter on 3/3 the battery will last you at least until the end of the day, but as soon as the battery meter drops down to 2/3 this means it has less that 25% battery left, and when it is on 1/3 battery less than 10%. Often I have taken my phone out with me with 2/3 battery, fully expecting it to last the day, but it hasnt which is rather annoying.

Apart from this the phone has been very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LG COOKIE, 25 Sep 2009
I've had my phone now for about 4 months and overall am pretty happy with it.

Positives.
1. Very simple and intuitive phone to use
2. camera takes surprisingly good pictures in decent light
3. Full QWERTY keyboard and the pen make texting much easier
4. Battery is perfectly good for my light use and lasts 4 days easily
5. Synced with my PC perfectly on Vista

Negatives.
1. Touch screen is adequate and as a novelty is good but don't expect Iphone standards here
2. It is very difficult (at times impossible) to see the screen in bright sunlight
3. Lack of Apps - (almost non existant)

Overall i am happy and would recommend the Cookie. (although personally next time round i am going to spend the extra and get an Iphone)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for the younger person, 30 Mar 2011
By 
-EFox- (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
It's a good phone for the price, but maybe i'm a little biased considering i'm just a college kid with a texting and facebook addiction and an allergy to answering the phone to parents. Think about it, though - it's target audience probably is the younger school age, simply by the fact that it's cool enough to be called a 'cookie'.

Pros:

The build quality is great, it's plastic but very solid and not at all flimsy. It can take a good beating too; something which is a must if you're prone to dropping it in beer and falling over with it in your hand (both of which have happened numerous times and very little cosmetic damage can be noticed). The screen is pretty scratch resistant but naturally with it being touch screen it can get bogged up with fingerprints and other dirt easily.

The camera is ok - it lacks in quality, but if you wanted a camera you would buy a camera, right? I do like how it's an incredibly quick snapshot, which saves on the annoying posing or waiting around - for example, if you shake the phone while pressing the camera button it can freeze the subject immediately with very little blur. Unfortunately there is no flash, so the images are prone to being dark which is a bit of a letdown, but as far as phone cameras go, it's alright. No, you won't get a photograph that will win The Times photographer of the year competition, but if you want a candid of your mate asleep on the bus or a snapshot of your tutor picking his nose then it's good. The editing filters are advanced, you've got the usual pop art and sepia etc, as well as sharpen and face beautify (trust me, you'll need this one if your pictures were taken on an intoxicated whim) which makes for some fun when you're waiting in a queue, but they are a bit unnecessary for the quality of the camera.

To be honest I think the battery is ok, i've had the phone for just over 2 years now and don't think i've ever turned it off, and a fully charged battery will last about 36 hours, which is pretty good considering. The battery icon can be deceiving, as you can be on 1 bar in the morning and as if by magic you're on 2 bars after breakfast, but if you regularly charge it rather than relying on this then it's fine.

The keypad is unpredictable, I really like how you can switch to a qwerty keyboard, but sometimes you have to sit there looking like a bit of a chump twisting your wrist to make it switch. I'm a girl with small fingers so the buttons haven't been a problem but I could see how they could be for someone else, and the language button sometimes crops up mid-text so expect the occasional translation into czech. It's easy to change back though, and personally texting has been alright with this phone, made a lot easier than others by the use of the qwerty.

The features are great - the front page having use of a variety of widgets is really useful, such as a notepad, a big face clock, radio, speed dial, amongst others. The usability is brilliant, really easy to understand how to use (because of this, don't let your friends get hold of it!) and the overall internal design is fantastic when it comes to making a call, sending a message or generally getting round the phone. The volume is good, loud if you want it loud and quiet if you want it quiet, you can have up to 5 alarms and it has all the usual extras (stopwatch, calculator, converter, calendar etc).

I think best of all though, it's durable. And believe me, it's taken a beating. The screen has remained sharp, it hasn't failed on me once and it's still working after all this time, which is quite the feat in the world of phone technology these days. Some of the other reviews have claimed glitches and other problems, but I personally haven't had one problem with it.

Cons:

The most annoying thing for me though is the touch screen unlock - you can unlock the phone one of two ways, either by pressing the button on the side or holding the touch button for 3 seconds. This is prone to unlocking in your pocket or in your bag if it is pushed against something - cue all your credit being wasted by accidentally ringing your dad and having him overhear the conversation of how gorgeous the new boy is.

The headphones made by LG are awful, it only takes one sitting on and they're gone, and it's annoying how it's a specific socket that only LG ones fit, so the best thing to do after they inevitably break is buy a little adapter off the internet, they are only £1.50, then you can use normal headphones.

The internet is great if you only ever go on facebook. The phone isn't wi-fi enabled so will only run on your networks WAP, which means no email or google or working youtube or anything like that. Don't be conned into believing this is a smartphone - even if you're lucky enough to have facebook load, it will take a lot of zooming in to read anything and double clicking to actually get it to respond, and it will inadvertently let you down in a pub quiz. Not one the phone's strongest points.

It's an ideal phone if you're a parent looking for a cost-effective phone for your money-munching offspring, but if you're someone who uses a phone for work or has a very prolific social life, then this probably isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LG Cookie, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Having replaced my four year old and worn out Motorolla Razor with a very reasonably priced (£80) new LG Cookie I really wish I hadn't bothered. It looks great and is well equipped, but does not compare for usability. It takes ages to text and is clumsy and annoying, plus the irritating vibrate feels like you are holding a frenzied fairground goldfish in a bag of water.... Good idea LG but no cigar ! If you want ease of use you may want to rethink a touchscreen phone - avoid !
************************************************************************
UPDATE - Further to my review...I have given it a chance and used it for a few months. I am pleased to say that my previous assesment remains unchanged - it is at best awkward and annoying. I would also like to add that after a little light use it has developed several faults including amongst others, a 'blue screen of death' covering 95% of the display resolved only by yanking out the battery and items stuck in the 'outbox' that you cannot delete at all. Luckily I can still send it back and am doing so - Goodbye you useless piece of crap....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, terrible phone., 22 Feb 2010
By 
I've had the KP500 for around a year now, and can say with resounding certainty that this is the worst phone I have ever owned.

The touch screen is insensitive, and if the temperature outside is too hot, or too cold, it will not work. Scrolling through text messages is buggy and slow, less annoying only than writing a text message. The dictionary on the phone routinely forgets words you add, will often delete a word you just wrote instead of one letter, and the accelerometers in the phone are so awful that without warning the screen will, at random, turn to landscape. The language selection button is so close to the rest of the text buttons that I routinely switch to Czech halfway through a text message. Just awful.

The camera is very average, around 3 years behind the competition. The games are terrible, but that's a minor point.

The phone will turn itself off and on again at random, and often send blank text messages at random.

The battery life is very poor.

I could go on, but I will end with this: do not, do not, do not buy this phone. It's awful. Don't trust all the glowing reviews - I had the honeymoon period with this phone as well. The novelty of a touch screen soon wears off, though, and the KP500 reveals itself as the stinking pile of detritus that it really is.

(As an aside, two friends of mine also bought the KP500 and hate it as much as I do.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, tidy little phone, 31 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
after buying the phone, it was deliverd very quick, the phone is fantastic, runs very smooth and very easy to use, the camera for a 3 meg is amazing, very clear quality.

the music player is good, and had no problems with my big fingers pushing the buttons. i feel the phone is very well made and looks awsome

only thing i can really fault is the wigit thing, its a very good idea, but would be great if i could add my own wigits suck as facebook ect ect

anyway, great phone and i reccoemend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great phone, 1 Mar 2009
A Kid's Review
If you are thinking of buying this phone do not listen to any of the other reviews. I found the phone a lot easier to use. You can use a keyboard ;makes texting twice as fast, Good camera; 3mp so good and clear and good games; the games are fun and entertaining with the touch screen. This phone is brilliant, however, overpriced on amazon. Try somewhere else. Overall 10 out of 10 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars LG Cookie....a good buy or "goodbye"?, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Having owned the Cookie's "bigger sister", the Renoir, I got my wife a Cookie for Christmas as her increasing arthritic problems seemed to suggest the move to a touchscreen phone might be a good idea. The Cookie is one of the most popular entry-level phones of this type, but it hasn't been a success in this case. The drop-down menu system of spelling alternatives drove my wife mad and I have to say that screen responsiveness is variable. The feedback click or buzz is present, but sometimes just nothing happens. Correcting spelling mistakes thus made isn't very easy either, whilst this lack of responsiveness affects many other features too.

The phone is light and compact, but I think will get bequeathed to one of our gadget-minded children ere long. Meanwhile the situation has been solved by the purchase of a Nokia 5530....not too much more expensive and with a brilliantly positive touchscreen. It's equally compact and light with Wifi thrown in for your money. If in doubt, we feel that's the way to go, particularly if texting is the prime target in using the phone. No contest....a totally different league really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great phone, 1 Mar 2009
A Kid's Review
If you are thinking of buying this phone do not listen to any of the other reviews. I found the phone a lot easier to use. You can use a keyboard ;makes texting twice as fast, Good camera; 3mp so good and clear and good games; the games are fun and entertaining with the touch screen. This phone is brilliant, however, overpriced on amazon. Try somewhere else. Overall 10 out of 10 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous , Buy This Phone !, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. N. Muir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would buy the LG Cookie AnyDay of the week . It is a very reponsive touchscreen phone and has a great 3.2 mega pixels camera ! The games on the LG Cookie Are also very fun . It is also very easy to text if you are a fast typer on the computer , if you tip the phone to the side on a text a very easy to use keyboard will come out . Also has a very fun drawing panel ! Buy This Phone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black
£52.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews