Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but slightly buggy
i went to the carphone warehouse to buy this phone, the list price was around 156.00 for a sim free version.

The woman who served me told me if i bought the phone but under t-mobile I would get the phone for 110, as i am on vodafone i explained I needed an sim free/unlocked phone, she told me it would be, they just throw in a T-mobile sim and t-mobile...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Steve

versus
71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice touch screen, but only an average phone
Although the KP500 (I just can't call it Cookie) has been marketed by LG as a touch-screen phone for those somewhat more budget-conscious than those lucky iPhone owners, it's still a decent handset in its own right.

The screen is large and clear, but thankfully the handset is still quite thin and very light. It's certainly more pocket friendly than the iPhone...
Published on 15 May 2009 by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice touch screen, but only an average phone, 15 May 2009
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Although the KP500 (I just can't call it Cookie) has been marketed by LG as a touch-screen phone for those somewhat more budget-conscious than those lucky iPhone owners, it's still a decent handset in its own right.

The screen is large and clear, but thankfully the handset is still quite thin and very light. It's certainly more pocket friendly than the iPhone. Screen response is quite good (scrollbars can be difficult to work with) and the included stylus works well if you need a little more precision, such as when using the drawing pad.

The features are fairly standard, although there are games included which take advantage of the touch screen and the fact you can `shake' the phone to move things, plus Muvee Studio, which allows you to create simple photo slideshows. In fact, multimedia capability generally is very good, with a nice gallery for your photos and videos, which can be flicked through with the quick swipe of a finger.

The MP3 player works just fine, although I haven't used it much, and the FM radio gives a reasonably clear signal as long as you aren't moving too much. Be warned though, as this is an LG model you get the usual fairly hopeless LG earphones complete with their proprietary connector.

You can swipe your finger on the screen to spin it around to access a page of your speed dials, complete with pictures if you wish. This is nice to look at but a bit slow to use. Message text entry is taken care of by using a standard representation of a phone keypad, or if you rotate the phone a QWERTY keyboard pops up. This is great if you have very, very skinny fingers. If not, it takes a bit (OK, a lot) of getting used to. If you're REALLY brave you can try out the handwriting tool and use the stylus to write your text.

The large screen makes internet use comfortable, although this phone isn't 3G so it has its limits and can be quite slow. Still nicer to use than most other mobiles I've owned over the years though.

So the KP500 is well featured, pleasant to use, looks pretty good and performs well. But there are a few shortcomings. As a phone, it's lacking. Voice clarity and signal pickup are not very good, with callers frequently telling me they can't hear me very well or I keep going silent. For a phone that has so many good photo tools, such as the gallery, a good editing suite and Muvee Studio, the 3 megapixel camera is a letdown. There's no flash so indoor photos are generally poor, but outdoor pictures are better. It is quick to operate so you can take snaps in a moment, it's just a shame the quality isn't great.

As a video camera, the KP500 isn't much use. It can only shoot low resolution and the lag is pretty bad making videos quite jerky. It's good enough for MMS and such like, but again, in a phone with so many multimedia features, it should be better.

I had to update the phone's firmware as unfortunately there is a bug that was preventing me installing new games onto the phone from LG's own website. Daunting though this was, I eventually managed it with relative ease via download through the internet, much to my surprise. Generally though, the included PC Suite software and associated connectivity for the phone is as rubbish as my previous experiences with LG software. And I couldn't even get it to work properly on Vista, thankfully I did manage it on my XP machine.

Finally, there's battery performance. When fully charged, you get maybe a couple of days of low to average use before the indicator drops from its full 3 bar condition to 2 bars (or `medium' as the status display interprets it). Then it plummets off a proverbial cliff to empty within minutes. I made a call just yesterday with the battery on `medium' and the phone ran out of charge during the call - approximately 6-7 minutes. Hopeless. So be prepared to spend some electricity on it.

The shortcomings are unfortunate, but the KP500 is still an impressive phone for the price. If you're desperate for a touch screen and can live with a few irritations, it's well worth buying. But if you use your phone a lot and don't need a few gimmicks, you may be better looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but slightly buggy, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Steve (Manchester (Salford)) - See all my reviews
i went to the carphone warehouse to buy this phone, the list price was around 156.00 for a sim free version.

The woman who served me told me if i bought the phone but under t-mobile I would get the phone for 110, as i am on vodafone i explained I needed an sim free/unlocked phone, she told me it would be, they just throw in a T-mobile sim and t-mobile subsidise the handset so with that I bought the phone for 110 and took it home.

I had no problems setting it up for vodafone, everything seemed to work fine.

the handset itself is very slim, a large screen which is of good quality, I even got a free screen protector in the box too.. the touch screen is great and texting is pretty easy too, i find it slightly slower than texting with a normal keypad as i take extra care that im pressing the correct keys and texting on the move i found to be slightly more difficult.

the camera is good but not great, outdoor shots in natural light give a good picture but indoors is hopeless as there is no built in flash, the images may look ok on the phones screen but send them to a pc or laptop and you will see just how bad indoor shots are, full of grain and just look terrible.

the mp3 player is surprisingly good, the only problem i found it that it sorts the songs out in alphabetical order and not track order altho you can always created a playlist for particular albums and rearrange in the correct order. the music player even shows the album art as long as this is tagged to the song.

the memory card slot supports microSD, apparently also SDHC cards too, i have heard people saying the phone is slow at reading higher capacity cards and as im only using a 1gb card i can only say that mine is fine.

now you may have heard that this phone is buggy, reboots itself etc, this is true, Ive had my phone 2 weeks now and it had rebooted itself a couple of times within the 1st few days of owning it, it hasnt happened since.. it all depends on what firmware (software) you have when you buy the phone, V10b is very buggy most now come with V10C (which is mine) and thats more stable, there is now a firmware V10D which is apparently great and you can update the firmware from the LG web site altho there seems to be problems when running vista, i just cant upgrade mine with vista!

all in all this is a fantastic phone and if you can pick it up for a cheaper price then go for it. this is one of the cheapest phones ive ever bought but its by far the best phone ive ever had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Phone - Decent Price, 30 Sep 2009
Bought the phone two days ago and i have to say it is amazing. If you are after a basic phone with a few extras this is the phone for you. I have had a Samsung touch screen before so was a bit unsure about going down this route again but i was plesently surprised. The touch screen is easy to operate and all the apps are easy to navigate too. The quick dials are an excellent feature and texting is made easy with big keys in the vertical mode and with some practice the horizontal mode works well too. Reminders are easy to review in horizontal mode and clearing down unwanted data is made easy.

The camera has a good resolution and you can assign any ringtone/text alert that you wish. It also comes with a good selection of preloaded tones unlike some phones.

The size and weight are ideal to fit in your pocket and the phone lock comes on automatically to save any unwanted phone calls. My only 'con' is that when retrieving the phone from your pocket (phone face towards you in the right pocket)to accept a call you sometimes accept or reject the call if you grab the phone by the side. Easily remedied by facing the phone the other way!

On the whole - highly recommended for people that just want to phone/text requires a calender/reminder/alarm/camera etc and personalise the phone. Not tried the email side yet but looks easy enough. Also you get a decent User Guide which is easy to understand and the phones menus are easy to navigate. Over to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarification on Memory Issues, 3 Jan 2009
By 
S. orton "oatmeal" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
There is a review on here which paints the wrong picture of this phone when it suggests it holds eight songs.
This phone comes with just under 50 meg of on board memory and a one gig micro-SD card as standard. Whilst the onboard should be enough for 12 songs you wouldn't store songs into the phone memory anyway.
The onboard is designed to hold your data saved from the inbuilt organiser, games and applications. To this end I already have next years diary dates programmed in and saved off, twelve downloaded games and a few photographs for my contact book - there is still memory left.
All the big stuff, (the six CD albums, two movies and a podcast) have all been put onto the card, again with memory to spare.
I understand it can accomodate much greater capacity SD cards so the memory issue is all good on this phone.
the downside was the supplied software which was hopeless. Until a new application comes out onto the market I'm 'dragging and dropping' when hooked up to the PC via the supplied USB cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good hardware let down by poor attention to detail, 31 Jan 2009
By 
John Hardy (Redditch, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this phone as a cheap replacement for an ancient Treo 600 (the last one still alive in the Western hemisphere). The KP500 has lots of features, good camera, is light and slim etc etc.

However, although the hardware is much better than the Treo, the whole experience is that it is irritating, frustrating and counter-intuitive to use. For example sometimes highlighted text isn't overtyped. Sometimes adding something at the end of a bit of text overtypes the entire message even when nothing is highlighted. Sometimes the calendar alarm goes off and sometimes it doesn't. If it does go off and you are not around it doesn't give up - it goes on bleating at intervals. It woke me at 12:30 a.m. once because I couldn't see how to delete a calendar entry. My 13 year old (brilliant with gadgetry) nearly threw it at the wall because the screen went blank in the middle of a call and he had no clue as to whether the call was still active. Transferring my old address list was tedious and failed to complete properly without any warning messages. The approach to scrolling lists is clever but prone to selecting something you didn't mean to. The list goes on and on. I should add that I am an IT professional and have read the manual from cover to cover - the whole point is that I shouldn't have to. I expect to be able just to pick up and use a device like this

I'm thinking of binning it and going back to the Treo (unless the Science Museum make an offer for the Treo that I can't refuse). Don't buy a KP500 unless all you do is take photos and make phone calls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars perfectly good for the price, 13 Aug 2009
it depends what your looking for in your phone really, if you want a good camera then its not great indoors, if you want lots of memory then you really need a memory card to go with it, as with most phones, you can't really have a very private conversation because even at the lowest volume setting if its quiet people around you can hear the whole conversation. i have no idea what the music is like because i use my ipod, but with the low memory, if you wanted to use it you would have to get a memory card, and the screan also gets very scratched!
but im very happy with it, it does what i want well- the calendar is good, so is the alarm, texting is fine (although the keyboard is pretty fiddley if you choose to use the full key board), the radio is good, sound qualiy when you ring people is good, their voices and yours don't tend to break up, and its not too slow
Sx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for the younger person, 30 Mar 2011
By 
-EFox- (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
It's a good phone for the price, but maybe i'm a little biased considering i'm just a college kid with a texting and facebook addiction and an allergy to answering the phone to parents. Think about it, though - it's target audience probably is the younger school age, simply by the fact that it's cool enough to be called a 'cookie'.

Pros:

The build quality is great, it's plastic but very solid and not at all flimsy. It can take a good beating too; something which is a must if you're prone to dropping it in beer and falling over with it in your hand (both of which have happened numerous times and very little cosmetic damage can be noticed). The screen is pretty scratch resistant but naturally with it being touch screen it can get bogged up with fingerprints and other dirt easily.

The camera is ok - it lacks in quality, but if you wanted a camera you would buy a camera, right? I do like how it's an incredibly quick snapshot, which saves on the annoying posing or waiting around - for example, if you shake the phone while pressing the camera button it can freeze the subject immediately with very little blur. Unfortunately there is no flash, so the images are prone to being dark which is a bit of a letdown, but as far as phone cameras go, it's alright. No, you won't get a photograph that will win The Times photographer of the year competition, but if you want a candid of your mate asleep on the bus or a snapshot of your tutor picking his nose then it's good. The editing filters are advanced, you've got the usual pop art and sepia etc, as well as sharpen and face beautify (trust me, you'll need this one if your pictures were taken on an intoxicated whim) which makes for some fun when you're waiting in a queue, but they are a bit unnecessary for the quality of the camera.

To be honest I think the battery is ok, i've had the phone for just over 2 years now and don't think i've ever turned it off, and a fully charged battery will last about 36 hours, which is pretty good considering. The battery icon can be deceiving, as you can be on 1 bar in the morning and as if by magic you're on 2 bars after breakfast, but if you regularly charge it rather than relying on this then it's fine.

The keypad is unpredictable, I really like how you can switch to a qwerty keyboard, but sometimes you have to sit there looking like a bit of a chump twisting your wrist to make it switch. I'm a girl with small fingers so the buttons haven't been a problem but I could see how they could be for someone else, and the language button sometimes crops up mid-text so expect the occasional translation into czech. It's easy to change back though, and personally texting has been alright with this phone, made a lot easier than others by the use of the qwerty.

The features are great - the front page having use of a variety of widgets is really useful, such as a notepad, a big face clock, radio, speed dial, amongst others. The usability is brilliant, really easy to understand how to use (because of this, don't let your friends get hold of it!) and the overall internal design is fantastic when it comes to making a call, sending a message or generally getting round the phone. The volume is good, loud if you want it loud and quiet if you want it quiet, you can have up to 5 alarms and it has all the usual extras (stopwatch, calculator, converter, calendar etc).

I think best of all though, it's durable. And believe me, it's taken a beating. The screen has remained sharp, it hasn't failed on me once and it's still working after all this time, which is quite the feat in the world of phone technology these days. Some of the other reviews have claimed glitches and other problems, but I personally haven't had one problem with it.

Cons:

The most annoying thing for me though is the touch screen unlock - you can unlock the phone one of two ways, either by pressing the button on the side or holding the touch button for 3 seconds. This is prone to unlocking in your pocket or in your bag if it is pushed against something - cue all your credit being wasted by accidentally ringing your dad and having him overhear the conversation of how gorgeous the new boy is.

The headphones made by LG are awful, it only takes one sitting on and they're gone, and it's annoying how it's a specific socket that only LG ones fit, so the best thing to do after they inevitably break is buy a little adapter off the internet, they are only 1.50, then you can use normal headphones.

The internet is great if you only ever go on facebook. The phone isn't wi-fi enabled so will only run on your networks WAP, which means no email or google or working youtube or anything like that. Don't be conned into believing this is a smartphone - even if you're lucky enough to have facebook load, it will take a lot of zooming in to read anything and double clicking to actually get it to respond, and it will inadvertently let you down in a pub quiz. Not one the phone's strongest points.

It's an ideal phone if you're a parent looking for a cost-effective phone for your money-munching offspring, but if you're someone who uses a phone for work or has a very prolific social life, then this probably isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a good phone, 30 Aug 2009
i got this phone on tesco mobile at tesco,ive always thought that tesco mobiels would have been cheap and tacky but when i got it i was plesently suprised at the qulatiy, it works well it feels good and looks brill its an all round 5 star phone.
one bad point so i would give it 4 half for this, it cant really play movies that well but maybe i wanted too much from it or it could be the way im putting it on the phone.
if you want a touch screen phone, but youve got a budget lg cookies for you.

by mrs.j's son sam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat Little Phone, 5 May 2009
By 
S. Slack (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I was a lifelong fan of Sony Ericsson phones until I got hold of the Cookie.

The touch interface is not quite as sensitive as an iPod touch, but it does work very well. Most functions of the phone can be accessed quite easily with your fingers. For more delicate tasks, such as hand writing recognition, there's a pop-out stylus in the bottom of the phone.

I find texting a breeze with ether the on screen T9 touch pad or qwerty keyboard. Even the handwriting recognition works well once you get used to writing clearly ;)

Signal strength is better than either of my two previous phones (W910i and W880 both) which were all on the same network. Battery life is surprisingly good for such a large screen too.

The phone is very customisable too. The default haptic feedback of vibration and beep can be easily changed to suit. Personalised ringtones and pictures, changeable backgrounds, custom start-up and shutdown images and sounds are all available and a lot more options besides.

If I had to level any criticism at the phone, it would be the lack of a really noisy text alert signal, but this is easily remedied with an upload of your own!

The best phone I've had in ages. Well done LG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LG Cookie, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Relayer (The Black Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Having replaced my four year old and worn out Motorolla Razor with a very reasonably priced (80) new LG Cookie I really wish I hadn't bothered. It looks great and is well equipped, but does not compare for usability. It takes ages to text and is clumsy and annoying, plus the irritating vibrate feels like you are holding a frenzied fairground goldfish in a bag of water.... Good idea LG but no cigar ! If you want ease of use you may want to rethink a touchscreen phone - avoid !
************************************************************************
UPDATE - Further to my review...I have given it a chance and used it for a few months. I am pleased to say that my previous assesment remains unchanged - it is at best awkward and annoying. I would also like to add that after a little light use it has developed several faults including amongst others, a 'blue screen of death' covering 95% of the display resolved only by yanking out the battery and items stuck in the 'outbox' that you cannot delete at all. Luckily I can still send it back and am doing so - Goodbye you useless piece of crap....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LG KP500 Cookie Sim Free Mobile Phone - Black
55.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews