Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For many, this is simply THE definitive version, 1 Mar 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
The music on this disc, very well recorded in the early 1980's, perfectly brings together The Water Music and The Fireworks Music suites previously found on separate issues. It was at this time that period music performance was finally surging ahead as a result of considerably improved player skills in terms of overcoming the obstacles posed by the older styles of instruments. The English Concert under Trevor Pinnock was a major influence in this development and these two suites were major successes within that success.

Today, thirty years later, they retain their appeal. The tuning, particularly in the woodwind is no longer a problem for listeners and the earlier acerbic string timbres have disappeared. The brass and timpani are satisfyingly punchy without being overwhelming. The textures have been clarified so that every orchestral detail 'tells' and the internal balance is now clearly correct. The remastering has added some depth and space to the sound stage thus improving slightly a previously excellent pair of recordings. In addition, the re-coupling makes these recordings a far more generous offer than before. The remainder of the original Fireworks disc, two horn concertos, has now been re-coupled with the excellent and sonically improved Coronation Anthems and thus the original three discs have been reduced to two discs with enhanced mastering.

Pinnock consistently chooses exactly the most appropriate tempi for maximum effect throughout these pieces and the music is able to both 'dance' and to be heroic and majestic as appropriate. Everything feels just right.

For many this pair of performances was the definitive statement at the time of their first issue and has remained so ever since. There is little that can be said to seriously challenge that.

I would therefore suggest that prospective new purchasers should, at the very least, give this very fine disc the most serious consideration. I would also suggest that the companion disc of the Coronation Anthems and two horn concertos is also well worth considering.

............................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I thought that you might like to know that before I buy a recording I now look through all the reviews to see if you have posted one. Your assessments and opinions are invaluable. Thank you. (US review)

I particularly like your format of review. They give the prospective purchaser an idea of the style of the playing and relevant comparisons. They are succinct. Keep up the good work! (UK review)

I'm sure there are many other serious collectors, besides myself, who wait for your synopsis and opinion before spending their hard-earned money on new releases...
Keep up the good work!
Thank you (UK review)

............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid recoding even though it is old, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
A great album I used to have on cassette, re-brought to listen to while writing up my thesis as these pieces are not to intrusive as background music, just enough to blot out the surroundings and remain focused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good start to building a classical collection, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
There are those that have can I say a rather snobbish attitude to classical (?) that insist on getting whole works rather than a compilation exploring further the set pieces later.
In the case of Handel's Water music it is a fairly safe bet for even the casual listener to classical music and this cd certainly hits the mark.
As mentioned the recording quality is pretty high and does Handel's masterpiece justice. For the uninitiated track 11 is the best known piece but in context of the whole work is a very good start into discovering classical. Will be looking for more music from this label but once past the compilation album stage this is a good start to exploring classical works as a whole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb music, superbly played and conducted, superbly recorded- what more can I say? The best recording I've heard of these pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Water Music Re-issue, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
These recordings from 1983 on the Archiv label I've treasured since I first heard them, and they have remained my favourite version of Handel's Water Music since.

This is a re-release by Decca of those performances by The English Concert directed by Trevor Pinnock with Simon Standage and Elizabeth Wilcock playing solo violin.

Played on period instruments, this is an authentic account of one of Handel's most popular works and a great example of how it can be brought to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handel, 3 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
These are recordings on the Archiv Produktion label which, in my experience, offer top quality recordings. These two famous pieces are no exception and follow the Archiv tradition for quality. The Water Music (1983) and Royal Fireworks (1985) are both DDD processes. Both these suites are available separately from the same stable. However, they are the same recordings so get them both together on this album and save some money. Prompt delivery makes this a good buy from this supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Great Album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music to relax to, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
Lovely relaxing music.If you like real classical music this is for you! Pour a glass of wine, sit back & listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
This cd was was delivered in excellent time. It is most enjoyable to listen to and particularly as I am not so familiar with classical a good introduction to Handel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music from Handel, 16 Sep 2009
By 
J. Rump (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) (Audio CD)
We like listening to this music while relaxing , working and doing the housework---it raises the spirits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals)
Handel: Water Music & Fireworks Music (DG The Originals) by The English Concert (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews