Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius...The Beta Band Gone but never forgotten
Genius...Pure Genius.
Very rarely in life does a band come along that completley change the way you listen to music ,maybe in the same way watching Resevoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction changed the way you watch movies.....for me that band was the Beta Band and the album 'The 3 EP's'.
I first heard a snippet of them about 5 years ago, on an NME programme ,where they...
Published on 7 Jan 2005 by Hanners

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars goes on a little
As you may know this is the betas collection of their first three ep's. the first track 'dry the rain' is brilliant and definetely the best track on the cd. The other songs are OK, bu none of them live up to 'dry the raín' and tend to drone on for ages. like 'monolith' which is almost silent for about 2 minutes in the middle of the song, which is a shame. There...
Published on 2 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius...The Beta Band Gone but never forgotten, 7 Jan 2005
By 
Hanners (Rugby, Warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
Genius...Pure Genius.
Very rarely in life does a band come along that completley change the way you listen to music ,maybe in the same way watching Resevoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction changed the way you watch movies.....for me that band was the Beta Band and the album 'The 3 EP's'.
I first heard a snippet of them about 5 years ago, on an NME programme ,where they played 'Dr Baker' and i was spellbound...
I immediately went on line and ordered a copy of 'The 3EP's' and my magical musical journey began.
The first track Dry the Rain is an incredible indie anthem which slowly meanders to a creshendo...just wait till that bassline kicks in!!!....you will be roaring the chorus'If there is something inside that you want to say...say it ,alright, it will be okay...i will be your light...i will be your life'....
Other outstanding tracks are...well all of them....but all in a unique and different way.....'Shes the One' will have you thrashing your Acoustic Air Guitar and belting out the chorus in a tonsil snapping fashion.
'Needles in my Eyes' is a gentle strole of a tune..beautiful...and 'Dogs got bone' follows in the same vein
giving you the impression they were horizontal when they recorded it!!..'Monolith' is not actually a song...more like a tripped out psychadelic dream sequence...it would help if you were 'in mode' to truly appreciate this track....'Push it out' is a tantric repetative tune that you will never tire of hearing ,with a message....repeat 200 times and you WILL feel better!!!.....i could go on but ill save the last mention to Dr Baker musically diverse punctuated with a sleepy piano rift that will take you by surprise the first time you hear it.......Breathtaking..
Sadly the Beta Band have split(Nov2004) but their musical legacy will continue on through their amazing catalogue....for me this album is their best with the following 3 albums all coming close to brilliance of their first....
Steve Mason is continuing with his King Biscuit Time project with the other lads all off to persue their own magical musical journeys...
Steve,John,Richard and Robin...it has been my true pleasure.....Pure Genius and truly seminal....Thank You.
Kev
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be amazing, 8 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
Its clear thee guys have real talent. This album has some mind blowing tracks. Anyone who is serious about their music should own it. Songs such as Dry the Rain Dog got a Bone, Inner Meet Me Shes the one, It's Over and needles in My Eyes are fantastic. The problem with this album is sometimes they try to stay away from the norm purely for the sake of it. Monolith is 1/4 of an hour of the most self indulgent noise i have ever heard. Some of the other tracks are also a bit like this but this is a small thing to put up with for the brilliance of the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly bewitching example of how music can be, 22 April 2002
By 
Paul E. Draper (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
Going backwards in time, I bought this off the back of "Hot Shots" and am delighted to hear a better album even than that.
It's so refreshing to hear a band allow their music to develop naturally through layers of groove. They obviously put down what they like and it's a happy coincidence that anyone with a soul will love it too.
One of the things that stands out for me on most Beta Band music is the balance of vocals to instrumentation. They clearly enjoy playing as there are large patches of purely instrumental sound here, but dive in with whispy ethereal vocals when it suits.
More power to them and if they start up a political party I know where my X will go.
Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So this is the mysterious Beta Band!, 23 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
Wow. Wow. Wow.
I'm not hip enough to have caught these guys on my own. I actually needed John Cusack's character's help in High Fidelity when he says to his record store workmates "Watch this. I'm gonna sell 10 copies of the Beta Band in the next half hour." And then proceeds to nearly hypnotise theatre audiences (and the record stores' customers in the movie) around the world to a few seconds of "Dry The Rain".
So I took a punt and plunked down the tenner, and lo and behold, I've got a gem. "Dry The Rain" is the classic you knew it would be. Then you get totally swept away by the likes of "I Know", "Dog's Got A Bone" and "She's The One" (and it's meltdown finale!). And I also remember hearing the haunting songs "Dr Baker" and "Needles In My Eyes" on radio at some point.
The reviews have got it right. It is masterful and amateurish. And nicely chaotic. Very refreshing stuff, these three eps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite perfect, 9 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
The Beta Band were outsiders on the so called indie scene, in the late 90's dominated by the likes of Coldplay, Travis etc. While they were more than willing to the flaws in their music, they were way to harsh on themselves. Rarely laspsing in to indulgence, the three Eps of the title show the variety of the early Beta Band.
Starting with what is probably the most well-rounded of the EPs, the Champion Versions, the loose signatures of the Beta Band are put to good use. Opener Dry the Rain could well be the best track on the album, with the band completely taking off during the second chorus, never to really return again. The seal of quality is maintained over the course of the four songs, a welcome relief from forced anthems of the time.
The Patty Patty Sounds is where the Beta Band really abandon song structures, with all of the songs at over 6 minutes. Monolith is the logical extreme of this, and the reason that the EP could'nt be entered into the EP charts, as it was too long. "She's The One" is often acclaimed as the best song on the whole album, with two equally divided sections; the first a fairly usual Beta Band song, the second a complete revelation.
Los Amigos... is different to anything the band did since, the darker themes of the EP explored on the tail end of their first full-length. It starts with Push It Out, my personal favourite of the set. The song has an incredibly tense opening, no insrtuments apart from percussion, and slowly builds to a strangley uplifting climax. The general feel of the EP is ramshackle, with most of the instruments slightly detuned.
This album is one of the best debuts of the decade, and is how this sadly short-lived band should be remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about as mind-blowingly trippy as you can get!, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
A credit to innovative and intelligent alternative music, the Beta Band remind you that it's ok to have fun when you're making music. 'The Three EPs' is an amalgamation of their 3 previous releases, 'Champion Versions', The Patty Patty Sound' and 'Los Amigos Del Beta Bandidos', and they all go together wonderfully. There is such a rich mix of folk, indie, jazz, dance, trip-hop and ambient, to mention but a great many others, that you'll never get bored of this album once it gets its teeth into you. Tracks like 'Dry the Rain' and 'B+A' are nice and easy to get into, gradually gaining more texture and sound as they move along, whilst 'The House Song' is a dance/indie affair with hilarious pseudo-French rapping, and 'Dr Baker' is a surreal mix of gregorian chanting and beautiful piano chords followed by crashing drums and crazy guitars. Perhaps the only real fault with 'The Three EPs' is that its eclecticness can make it an acquired taste, and not accessible to the younger listener. That aside however, this is a cracking album, and a must-have for the discerning music-lover.^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars open the lamp- watch the Genie come out, 22 May 2001
By 
S. ANGUS "the viper" (BELFAST, CO ANTRIM, N.Ireland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
I dont want to write a long review on this album (although I'm sure it deserves one).
Quite simply, its like lifting a stone to find a strange ethereal gem which will lock your gaze-in short it is fascinating music for the discerning.
Its such a good thing they arent big, as in remaining understated, they retain an untouchable, magical quality.
Each song is a small journey into an otherworldly soundscape. If you get a chance watch "High Fidelety" and see how John Cusack gets 5 record sales in 5 minutes. "Dry the rain" is the crux-spirit of the whole album.
Hope theres more lamps with genies in where these guys are from- check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - Shame I missed this a few years ago, 25 Mar 2007
By 
Mike J. Wheeler (Kingswinford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
I love this getting back into music during my (early!) forties lark. I keep discovering things that are just so good that they are almost beyond description. In some ways I'm so glad that I missed out on years of music listening (being busy with work etc) because I've got so much more to discover. I came across this when I heard the excellent debut by the Aliens, 'Astronomy For Dogs' and read about the Beta Band whose core formed The Aliens after Gordon Anderson's eventual recovery from mental illness.

This is just beautiful. The whole album is the collected three EPs first released by the band in the 1990s and it is fantastically imaginative all the way through. "Dry The Rain" is famously played in the film 'Hi-Fidelity' and though I've watched that film a few times I can't say I noticed, hearing it now though while I'm really listening and not watching a film it does grab you somewhat. I really love the way the song develops over 6 minutes to include the brass which makes this much more than just another indie track. I'd have to say though that the tracks at the end of the album are the highlight. "She's The One", "Push It Out" and "Dr Baker" are just stunningly good!

The influences for this music seem to come from all over the place (Pink Floyd, Trip Hop, Folk, Incredible String Band, Gregorian Chanting), but the influences are never allowed to take the front seat. There isn't anything derivative about this at all. This is just great music. I've already ordered 'Heroes to Zeroes' and 'Hot Shots II' on the back of this and if they're only a 10th as good as this they'll be a bargain.

Oh, and if you've heard this and like it why not try Tunng's 'Comments of The Inner Chorus' which is another quirky mix of folk and electronica (sounds much like 'Inner Meet Me') that came out last year but many people missed.

Wonderful discovery, glad I bought it. (9/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece of modern music, 23 July 2001
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
Despite owning this album for a year now, it only really hit me today just how amazing it really is. There are very few immediately grabbing songs on here - the opener Dry the Rain is an obvious exception. But that said, there isn't a bad track. Each song starts off simply and sometimes, particularly with the repetitive strains of inner meet me and monolith, this can get annoying for the first minute or so. but given time, easch track breaks into a fantastic beat driven sweeping instrumental and there is nothing more amazing than listening to the evolution that goes on on some of these tracks. istening to this in the garden today with the sun shining, very nearly brought me to my knees in awe of this great great piece of music. Why haven't you bought it yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 12 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Three EPs (Audio CD)
The Beta Band are a band that suddenly crept up on me when I least expected it. One boring night down the pub I happened upon this album and having (at the time) given up on indy was surprised and excited how such a traditional rock band (for want of a better description) could be so different and indeed so beautiful.
I was immediately struck by the lyrical spaced out quality to all of their tracks, (in particular "Inner Meet Me" and "Monolith") that never seems to lose the plot in the way that a lot of bands who try to do this do.
The Beta Band above all are great musicians and the craft that goes into these three EPs -- samples, scratching, birds singing and a variety of strange instruments reflects this.
No doubt it is it this attention to detail and craftsmanship that go a little way towards explaining their bitterness over their "rushed" second album.
In the meantime, their Three EPs are enough to get excited about, I'm sure there's a lot more to come....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three EP's
The Three EP's by The Beta Band (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews