Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars criminally underrated songwriter
hue and cry were responsible for some of the most sophisticated urban soul to come out of britain in the late to mid 80's(apparently MILES DAVIS was a fan!) peaking perhaps with 1990 STARS CRASH DOWN-This wee compilation is well put together containing some lost gems ie "calamity john"-its lamentable that for me pat kanes lyrical zenith is not represented here with the...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by J. P. Lawson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Recapturing my misspent youth!
It's strange how the memory plays tricks. I always enjoyed listening to their albums about 20 years ago, but age must have withered me, as I find several of the tracks now dated and, dare I say, boring. Shame.
Published 11 months ago by Lesley Wells


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars criminally underrated songwriter, 24 Jan 2009
By 
J. P. Lawson "lawsonjony" (new zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
hue and cry were responsible for some of the most sophisticated urban soul to come out of britain in the late to mid 80's(apparently MILES DAVIS was a fan!) peaking perhaps with 1990 STARS CRASH DOWN-This wee compilation is well put together containing some lost gems ie "calamity john"-its lamentable that for me pat kanes lyrical zenith is not represented here with the songs SHE MAKES A SOUND or LIFE AS TEXT but gripes aside a fantastic compilation and for once it seems put together with some genuine affection for the band-Hue and cry were always a band that were just too good to be ignored so perhaps this will go someway to redress the balance-enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
A reminder of a very special voice. Great bond between these two talented individuals. A very easy listen. A couple of "none event" tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hue and cry, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
seen hue and cry recently in liverpool and still great,bought this cd for my husband they sang most of these.would recommend this. quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Recapturing my misspent youth!, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Lesley Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
It's strange how the memory plays tricks. I always enjoyed listening to their albums about 20 years ago, but age must have withered me, as I find several of the tracks now dated and, dare I say, boring. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Hue and cry are great always liked there music, so just had to buy there greatest hits cd to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of their best hits., 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I brought this to replace original cd that I had of Hue and Cry because previous one was so scratched it didnt play that well.
Its an excellent cd with all your favourite hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Class Act, 17 Aug 2010
By 
T. Hardy (Yorkshire, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
If you fancy dipping your toe into the world of 'Hue & Cry' then you should buy this album. If you want to know what a great and creative vocalist and an equally talented backing band can really sound like then don't miss this opportunity. Like a breath of fresh air. Classic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to my CD collection, 3 July 2010
By 
Stuart Millar (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Having been a huge fan of this bad years ago, buy this collection of their hits has been great. One of Scotlands finest bands it bring back many happy memories as well as giving me a good olde sing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Newcomers and Completists Alike, 19 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
For fans who already have other "best ofs" but missed the original issue of some of these tracks - B-sides and 12inch remixes - this is a good chance to get them on CD.

For those who vaguely remember Looking For Linda or Labour Of Love and are curious to see what else they could do, then this a good compilation of hits and album tracks which shows the brothers off to best effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Hue & Cry (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews