Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Discovered Tina Dico's music about a year ago and have since bought all of her albums and will be seeing her perform next month. I agree with the previous review in that there is not a bad track on this although for me the final disc isn't as strong as the first two. For me she harks back to a period of telling stories (quite clearly personal experiences for her)...
Published on 19 Nov 2008 by Herr Flick

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A stunning voice, but not a stunning set of songs
Tina Dico has a stunning voice, no doubt about it, but I have to be a bit of a dissenter amongst the other reviewers who have all fallen in love with this. It's very strong but it's not a classic.

The melancholic and drawn-out song-writing, and slightly folky arrangements, put this collection of songs firmly in the American-dominated female-singer-songwriter...
Published on 7 Aug 2009 by Mr. Stuart Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 19 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Discovered Tina Dico's music about a year ago and have since bought all of her albums and will be seeing her perform next month. I agree with the previous review in that there is not a bad track on this although for me the final disc isn't as strong as the first two. For me she harks back to a period of telling stories (quite clearly personal experiences for her) through song but her voice often leaves me speechless with the impact of her songs. Tina Dico is streets ahead of any other current singer/songwriter and quite simply a brilliat artist at the top of her game. I thoroughly recommend this collection to any real music lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beauty In Looks and Music, 30 Sep 2008
By 
Billy R (Newcastle - England) - See all my reviews
The 'Product Description' does not do this 3 mini-CD justice
I can honestly say I have never heard a 20 track collection without a below average song - until now.
This demonstrates ( in my opinion) that she is without doubt the best female vocalist bar none - track after track brings a story well worth hearing and all delivered in the most perfect tone.
If you get the chance to hear or see here do not let the chnace pass you by.
Can you tell - I liked it!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 3 Dec 2008
By 
D. Cooper "DavieC" (Barnet, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tina Dico is one of the finest singer/songwriters in the world. From her roots as an occasional singer with Zero 7, she has gone on to produce superb albums, with In The Red being one of the finest CDs I have ever heard. Original songs written and sung from the heart, this superb collection is from her last two and current UK tours, and is beautifully presented. If you are able to see Tina live, don't miss it,as it is an experience you will never forget. As well as being a great singer/songwriter, Tina is also the loveliest person you will ever meet, always having time to speak to her fans and sign CDs. This is the best Christmas present you can buy yourself this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful songwriter ever, 14 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After buying her previous albums I was eager to get any more Tina Dico stuff but was somewhat concerned on the format of the new offering, the fact it was not so much a new album, but a collection of on tour E.P's. Despite this the album stands up so well you have to consider this a work next to her previous genuis albums. There are moments of such intensity on this album, Tina exposing herself emotionaly to the world. The one thing Tina can always do is write a stunning lyric and this album is full of them. Moving musically and lyrcially its a crime that Tina isn't recognised as one of the greatest songwriters today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tina is Amazing..., 26 Dec 2008
By 
W. Sengelow (NorthEast UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All of Tina's work is beautifully presented and this 3 x EP set really shows her at her best. All of the tracks haunt you - I cannot stop playing them, if I do, they are replaced by Tina's other recordings....
This lovely singer/songwriter is a must hear and (if you get the chance) a real must see in concert. Tina deserves much more recognition here in the UK - She has almost Goddess status in her native Denmark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful album, 19 Feb 2009
I have seen Tina perform live 5 times now and she is consistently excellent and wows anyone I take with me. She always comes out afterwards to talk to her fans and is down to earth and lovely. I cannot understand why someone as talented as this is not mainstream but I don't think it will be long before she is up there with the likes of Madonna...Sting...Sheryl Crow etc. Listen and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, 29 Jan 2009
By 
I fell for Tina's music with In The Red but never imagined she could develop so far so fast - this is an exceptional album. The music is powerfully sparse acoustically with lyrics that cut through you. Be warned, it's a stark album, with nothing overtly uplifting in most of the songs, yet it leaves you glad to be alive and aware that you are alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A stunning voice, but not a stunning set of songs, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Tina Dico has a stunning voice, no doubt about it, but I have to be a bit of a dissenter amongst the other reviewers who have all fallen in love with this. It's very strong but it's not a classic.

The melancholic and drawn-out song-writing, and slightly folky arrangements, put this collection of songs firmly in the American-dominated female-singer-songwriter world with people like Sarah McLachlan. However there isn't much here that stands out in that world. Yes she has a great voice but the song-writing doesn't consistently match that quality and some of it seems a bit uninspired.

The 20-song, 3 CD format is an interesting one and thematically it kind of works, but really this is a double album not a triple one. There's not enough variety in the material- maybe somebody realised that six or seven of these songs is enough for one sitting, and if you listen to all twenty in one go it's overload.

That said, it's a very nicely packaged, very personal collection that might really strike a chord with you. But as for "perfect", it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning a Detour an Open Ending
Beginning a Detour an Open Ending by Tina Dico (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews