Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Sex Please, We're Skittish...
The British Public love sex, right? I mean, what's there not to like? For a country that supposedly is stiff-upped-lipped in the Trousers Department, we seem to like it a Hell of a lot. Which is why the noble BFI's latest presentation of archival material for the masses will undoubtedly be popular - For A) It's about Sex, and B) It gives us the chance to laugh at...
Published on 11 Feb. 2009 by Brady Orme

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars not wanted
delete please bye
Published on 6 Jun. 2013 by john


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Sex Please, We're Skittish..., 11 Feb. 2009
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] (DVD)
The British Public love sex, right? I mean, what's there not to like? For a country that supposedly is stiff-upped-lipped in the Trousers Department, we seem to like it a Hell of a lot. Which is why the noble BFI's latest presentation of archival material for the masses will undoubtedly be popular - For A) It's about Sex, and B) It gives us the chance to laugh at yesterday's social mores. Ha ha ha, haughty Home County woman's accents talking about "gel's bodies changing", hee hee hee, they're playing hockey and drinking tea with the wife as a metaphor for sex.... This is the Ealing Comedy of anatomy, but there's more to it than just an explicit version of "Brief Encounter".

Some titles such as Martin Cole's "Growing Up" (1971) are harsh, explicit and still shocking to this day - perhaps even more so, as even the most raunchy late night programming shys away from describing the act in such harsh anatomical terms. Other films such as "Her Name Is Ellie; His Name Was Kyle" (1967) utilises grainy Film Noir techniques and advanced storylines to hammer the message home with added syphillitic reference, and "Don't Be Like Brenda" (1973)is "Cathy Come Home" with added misogyny. As the BFI does with it's British Travel Films anthologies, it packages them lovingly as lost art forms and releases them into the public for us to enjoy beyond the usual Frames of Reference. The World these films belong to no longer exists, live with it.

Along with the films of Jeff Keen also released this month, the BFI continues to astound us in these tough times. Highly recommended naturally; just don't expect a straight face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth having, 1 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this to my wife for Valentine's Day(!), and we both absolutely love it. It provides an interesting history in sexual and social mores, as well as an insight into the education of the general public through film. Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great slice of social history, shame about the music, 17 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] (DVD)
This film should really have five stars but it looses one for Dave Formula's unimaginative music but more of that later.

This collection is of interest to anyone who finds discussions of sexual mores fascinating and anyone who wishes to study Discourses surrounding bodies and sexualities. The films herein do not show how we became more liberated (even Growing Up is highly problematic for all it's apparent liberation) but the body became and remained a site for a very Authoritarian Discourse on how The Body was to be used, who controlled The Body and the individuals freedom (or lack thereof) to own their own body. It is telling that only the last few films (Growing Up and Have you Got A Male Assistant Please Miss) discuss masturbation and contraception.

Given this Dave Formula misses the opportunity to discuss these issues in his music for the early silent films in the collection and produces three very similar sounding, formulaic (no pun intended) scores.

Highly recommended none the less.

Oh and if you just want to have a bit of a giggle the collections good for that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting it to be more like the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not wanted, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
john (FRESHWATER, Isle Of Wight, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] (DVD)
delete please bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " A slice of sexual history", 15 April 2009
By 
C. Lack (Chatham, Kent . U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] (DVD)
What a wonderful collection of sex education films. I must confess that i was shocked at the level of sexually transmitted infections and the terrible suffering that resulted pre antibiotic therapy. We all take modern medicine for granted. My take home message would read "It is your right to have sex, but with rights come responsibilities, so respect your partner and use a condom". A must see DVD for all those working in the sexual health field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joy of Sex Education [DVD]
The Joy of Sex Education [DVD] by David Rosler (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews