Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great taste and wholesome ingredients.
As far as protein bars go, these work out to be pretty good value for money. They come in at just under a pound a pop and pack 19 grams of protein too; which is pretty respectable although there are bars out there that contain 25 grams or more. The ingredients too look good with the flapjacks being made up of a 36% oat blend.

Taste wise, they're good too...
Published on 4 April 2012 by The Truth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Quite chewy but hits the spot after a workout ,not sure i would buy again as PHD shakes taste much better.
Published 18 months ago by mal


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great taste and wholesome ingredients., 4 April 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
As far as protein bars go, these work out to be pretty good value for money. They come in at just under a pound a pop and pack 19 grams of protein too; which is pretty respectable although there are bars out there that contain 25 grams or more. The ingredients too look good with the flapjacks being made up of a 36% oat blend.

Taste wise, they're good too. They're a little sweet for my taste but I like that they have a soft and gooey texture rather than a teeth crackingly hard one. They're nice and moist and also benefit from being dipped in white chocolate, leaving a thin coating along the bottom of the bar - not unlike the yoghurt coating along the bottom of Alpen cereal bars (if you've ever had them).

The box arrived pretty battered. Torn and falling apart in fact and it didn't matter. I was expected to have a box-full of bars that were reduced to crumbs, but because the flapjacks are soft and chewy, they all survived the trip through the Royal Mail sorting office even if their display box didn't.

Overall I think these are a good, tasty source of protein that is welcome in my lunch box anytime. In fact, I'd go so far as to say, PHD's Flap Jack is a 'berry' good bar - Ho! Ho! Ho! boom-boom! Thank you ladies and gentlemen I'm here all night...

Here are the stats, figures and nutritional information per bar:

Energy (KJ) = 1200
Energy (Kcal) = 286
Protein = 19 grams
Carbs = 42.8 grams
(of which are sugar) = 10.1 grams
Polyols = 10.6 grams
Fat = 6.5 grams
(of which saturates) = 2.7 grams
Dietary Fibre = 2.5 grams
Sodium = 0.056 grams

Allergy Information is as follows:
The bars contain Gluten, Soya, Milk and may contain eggs, peanuts and other nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, just ordered my third lot~, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
For the money these are spot on. I've tried other bars (forget the name) and they were slightly powdery and bland. These on the other hand, are chewy, lovely, sweet, and tasty. I have one a day when i commute for breakfast 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution - Extremely Moreish, 10 April 2013
By 
S Roberts (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
Most of the protein flapjacks brands are identical to one another apart from 0.1g here and there on macros. I've tried a lot of protein flapjacks and these are simply the best tasting. Most protein flapjacks I've tried are quite dry making them a chore to chew down. PhD flapjacks very moist, which is delicious (IMO). Caution though, PhD flapjacks are so moreish that you might find yourself snacking on them without realising it. Its also nice a nice bonus to have something "protein" to be forest berries for a change. Chocolate and all its varieties gets a bit boring after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bars, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
I have a bar in the morning after cycling to work, sometimes after climbing. These are the best I have found. Great tasting, fantastic value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 24 Jan 2012
By 
M. penfold "cool" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
these flapjacks take some beating even ordinary chocolate bars and flapjacks dont taste this good try them 4 yourself 20 grams of protien 6 grams of fat thats less than 2 tracker bars,ill be buying more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty, 25 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
These bars are great. Each bar weighs 75grams and contains 19grams (25%) of protein, and theyre a really filling snack. Ideal for when you're on the go or at the gym and fancy an after-exercise munch. The taste is good although it doesn't really resemble a flapjack. There's also a slight 'dusty' texture... sandy/floury. Hard to explain, no big deal though. The price is amazing, £20 for 24 bars is much cheaper than other brands who charge around £1.20 per bar! (The price may have changed since i wrote this)
I suppose the only negative about the bars is the high amounts of carbohydrates; 42grams per bar, well over half the weight. Bad if you're on a low-carb diet, but for me, I don't care really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My preferred protein bar, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
I have reordered this product a number of times now and use it as a pre-workout snack to keep me going at the gym.

It is quite solid and takes some chewing, but you can taste the oats and is less powdery than any other protein bars I have tried.

Good price for a box of 24.

I would recommend for anyone looking to add extra protein to their diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Boing (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
I bought these to take on a trip abroad since the airlines no longer appreciate it when dodgy looking powders spill out of my bag. However, they're so good I might start buying them regularly.

The bars are dense and chewy, but not quite in that "how will I ever finish this thing and still have teeth" way that some protein bars seem to adopt. You can really taste the berries, and there is also a very thin layer of white chocolate on the base which makes it seem like a treat rather than diet control.

The overall texture is much less oaty than you would expect from a flapjack; the oats are kind of suspended in a block of protein. But the overall experience is great.

The expiration date gives them an eight-month shelf life.
Allergy information: contains gluten, soya, milk. May contain eggs, peanuts, and other nuts.
One word of warning - this is NOT a low carb bar! 43g carbs per 75g flapjack.

On the whole I'd recommend these, especially for those moments when it's just not practical to use a protein shake or start cooking up chicken breasts. I'll certainly buy them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and at a great price!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
I was happily buying these at health clubs individually for £1.50, but liked them so much so I investigated buying them online. At the time of purchase via Amazon a box of 24 bars costs £20 including postage, thats just 83p per bar. I've found some protein bars almost gritty, or a real slog to chew... but not these. They are sweet and chewy, and very tasty and make a great high protein energy snack when out on a bike ride or walk. I shall definitely re-order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing taste and value, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PhD Protein Flapjack Berry Flavoured 75g Nutrition Bar 24 Bars (Personal Care)
I can't stop eating these. The taste and texture are great.

If you don't mind the carbs, these are probably the best value protein flapjacks on the market.
The amount of sugar is a bit too high in my opinion, but nevertheless a 5 star product.

78 pence per bar, can't get a better deal than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews