Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the flop that it was predicted to be
Being a big Halo fan, I was always going to be buying this game. After playing the demo, I was impressed by how it worked as an RTS on a console (perfectly) but couldn't help feeling like the demo offered all the game would offer. I did in the end decide to buy it however, and I'm very glad that I did. The truth is, apart from more maps, the campaign and one or two units,...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Blackadder

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Halo Wars Review
Halo Wars is a game with amazing graphics and an interesting storyline. For a real time strategy game, the multiplayer is great. The only thing that concerns me abut the game is the repetition in story mode. When you get far enough, you feel like you have already experienced that mission. Other than that, it has great controls for an RTS on a console and it is worth...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by Casino Andrea


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the flop that it was predicted to be, 2 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a big Halo fan, I was always going to be buying this game. After playing the demo, I was impressed by how it worked as an RTS on a console (perfectly) but couldn't help feeling like the demo offered all the game would offer. I did in the end decide to buy it however, and I'm very glad that I did. The truth is, apart from more maps, the campaign and one or two units, the demo does show you everything. But I have honestly never had so much fun on Xbox LIVE ever before. The tension of building up an army and defence and beating your opponent is something which can't be found against AI. In 3v3 games, the battles are huge and wonderful to watch, and looking at the post-game stats can show some shocking figures! The game is very simple as an RTS and I therefore suggest PC gamers avoid unless you don't mind something simpler. The emphasis is on combat, not economy, which I was doubtful about at first, nut it works very well.
The single-player Campaign is fun and varied, if a little frustrating at pounts. The cut-scenes are MIND BLOWING, and set a benchmark in graphics. Playing the AI in skirmishes is indeed fun, but to make this game worth the price-tag, you need a LIVE account.
There are only two factions: The UNSC and the Covenent. However, they play completely differently and require totally different tactics. When supplemented with the differences of the six leaders, you won't feel like you have no variation. You will instantly find a leader that suits you and stick to them.
Basically this game is for any action fan who wants to have a laugh on Xbox LIVE. Halo fans, and gamers in general will enjoy it. Die-Hard RTS fans may want to avoid, or at least be ready for something different. It's an RTS that works well on a console, and it is a hell of a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first RTS that masters the console, 1 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i got this game on friday havent been able to put it down. controls are easy to use. not over complicated units its like rock paper scissors. bases are limited to 3 build spaces but you can upgrade to 5 and then 7 and can only be built in certain pre determined locations so you dont need to worry about people base walking to your base but there are multiple bases on the map. the campaign is good and an awsome story, ive ran through it on normal without much resistance but i wreckon heroic and legendary will be much harder. co-op campaign was a good surprise, both you and a friend control the same base and have to work together but individual units are controlled by the player that made them although control can be passed to the other player at any time and you must work together as resources and unit limits are shared.

plus comparing this with C&C there is no comparison, HALO WARS wins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 24 Feb 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a huge halo fan. Saw the demo and didnt hesitate in downloading it. Played the demo and preordered it the next day. The control system was amazing much more basic than what you would find in C&C. the story line and cutscene graphics were amazing. Although it did stir up a few questions. I did love the game but I felt something was missing. You didnt get the same emerssioon as you do in any other halo game.

The extras are amazing. At relaese they give you 3 unreleased maps but you cna download the from XBOX LIVE now. The comic gives you some backgroud on the Spirit of fire. The patch I love ive got it on the dash of my car

But that is just my opinion. If you are a Halo fan and an RTS fan. Its well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, just needs alittle more variety, 5 April 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game plays perfectly on the xbox, thanks to it being designed to work work with the xbox controller, the missions are fun and are not impossible espically once you work out what you need to do my only problem with the game is the lack of variety again you are really limited to your main units for the two forces, I know they wont make the flood a playable force but it would add diversity to the game and maybe open up some three way maps. that is the only other niggle, we need more maps, especially the 2v2 and 3v3 maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Halo Wars-Limited Edition, 5 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game for my son-this is his review..........

'Halo Wars' is a strategic take on the three previous Halo games and is also the only Halo game so far that is not a first person shooter. Anyone looking for another classic shoot 'em up, this is not that kind of game. You may control the UNSC or the Covenant each of which have three different leaders, each with their own unique leader powers and units.

In the special edition package you get an embossed metal game case and a pack of extras (a `UNSC-spirit of fire' vinyl(?) patch/window sticker, 6 leader info cards, and a hard back comic book `Halo Wars-Genesis') all held together in a transparent plastic sleeve. An enclosed scratch card supplies codes to download a Halo 3 mythic map pack, an Honour Guard `Wraith' tank upgrade and 48 hours of free Xbox live gold trial.

Personally, I love this game! My only criticisms would be that at 15 levels it was not long enough, and that you cannot use local multiplayer.

This game is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive!, 25 Mar 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is brilliantly hooking. After playing a single match of this game, you just cant be pulled away from it.

With infinite possiblities and tactics, it makes it a great strategic game in which you can face people online or play with your friends. Hours of endless fun!

The only downfall I'd say is that games usually take between 40 minutes to 1h 50 minutes, so you'd better get yourself comfy with food and drink cos you're gonna be there for a long time.

The added bonus of the Halo 3 Mythic Maps is outstanding! In my opinion, this is the best map pack Bungie released.

And the best until last: The game case has 2 shiny sides! This merans each time you get the game out of its plasic sleeve, you can turn the case around for a different picture when you put it back in ^_^_^_^_^_^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Halo Wars Review, 29 Mar 2009
By 
Casino Andrea (Wadenswil, ZH, CH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Halo Wars is a game with amazing graphics and an interesting storyline. For a real time strategy game, the multiplayer is great. The only thing that concerns me abut the game is the repetition in story mode. When you get far enough, you feel like you have already experienced that mission. Other than that, it has great controls for an RTS on a console and it is worth buying it if you are a halo fan and enjoy real time strategies. With the special edition, you also receive a detailed graphic novel, a spirit of fire patch, and character cards, which will help you in the game. Over all, It is a standard RTS, it has nothing new to offer, besides the fact that its halo, and it is played on an xbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game, 11 April 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When you first play the game its quite hard to get used to the controls, If you don't think you like strategy games this is not the game for you, I find this game amazing online is fun and the campaign is brilliant espacialy the cinematics, this game does get boring after a while like most games, but i still play it ocassinaly, a good thing they did was make it so that there were different leaders with different ability's, Like in C&C Generals: Zero Hour.

The one thing i dont like is the lack of vehicles you can have and how ODST's are so good and are incredibly annoying and unskillful as the player can just use them as much as he want whenever he wants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the console strategy title, 18 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
like it or not halo is synonymous with microsoft's x-box consoles. drawing on the impressive resume of the now-defunct Ensemble Studios, the first non-FPS Halo game is easily the finest strategy title on any console. combining a thrilling campaign with beautiful cut-scenes and a play-both sides multiplayer experience over Microsoft's own Xbox live, this is a great game experience.

also, with this limited edition release, it must be said that they went all-out on the presentation, extras and packaging, with a metal case, "Spirit of Fire" badge and character cards it is all beautifully done. well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars halo wars is not a strategy game, 29 Mar 2009
By 
R. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love the halo series and i also love the age of empires series, now i no what they are like together. Halo wars could never be a really good strategy game in my eyes, its a fun game and took me about 3 days to complete. The thing is you are sooooo restricted, you can only build 30 units and 6 building in a base. The online is floored, you everyone is forge and builds tanks its not fun and annoying. Overall this game was fun but the online let it down for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo Wars - Limited Edition (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £7.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews