Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Story!
A true story, gritty and honest and brilliant. Based on a true event about a small force of soldiers holding out to quite literally the last man, and then being forgotten. The only survivor then spending years trying to prove they existed and were not deserters. Sound simple but is beautifully and shot, incredibly violent and bloody, but uplifting too. It is Chinese, has...
Published on 7 Nov 2009 by Nobody

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmmmm
Can't argue with the service which was prompt, just the quality of the film. I have been burned by these foreign language films before and i have again. It's no Battle Royale, City of God or City of Life & Death.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. S. E. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Story!, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Nobody "Knows" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
A true story, gritty and honest and brilliant. Based on a true event about a small force of soldiers holding out to quite literally the last man, and then being forgotten. The only survivor then spending years trying to prove they existed and were not deserters. Sound simple but is beautifully and shot, incredibly violent and bloody, but uplifting too. It is Chinese, has subtitles, but it is brilliant, one of the best war films I have ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best war movie in years, from East or West, 7 Feb 2011
By 
A. J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Feng Xiaogang's Assembly has drawn several comparisons, not least of which is Saving Private Ryan. However, due to the cultural vantage point one often views Chinese Cinema through, it should be taken on its own merits as a war movie, rather than the all too common approach of labeling a Chinese movie as "China's answer to..."
Assembly is a unique war movie that should be appreciated on its own merits. The most immediate comparison, Saving Private Ryan, is not without reason, as the cinematography, choreography, and visual styles are very similar, and both are very bloody, Assembly more so. However, this is where the appropriate comparisons, as far as this reviewer is concerned, end.
Set during the Chinese Civil War, Assembly is certainly no propaganda piece. No insight is given into the cause of either sides struggle, and the story of Gu Zidi's struggle is taken as the story of a soldier's struggle for the recognition of the sacrifices of himself and his brother's, not with any ideological agenda.
First of all, the battle scenes are very intense, and easily on a par (if not superior to) the set pieces found in Western Cinema. However, the action set pieces are primarily located in the first half of the movie, as the rest concerns the struggle of Gu Zidi to counter the MIA status incorrectly accorded to his 46 brother's who perished in combat. While the first half is a harrowing war movie, the second half is a moving portrayal of one man's struggle for the recognition of his brother's.
The cinematography is beautiful, with a contrast between the devastated landscape of the war, and the beautiful landscape of 1950s North East China.
Assembly is both a harrowing war movie, and a heartfelt story of one man's struggle for recognition. One of the best war movies I have ever seen, and a movie to be approached on its own merits, without the predictable comparisons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initially just a gore fest, 7 Jun 2010
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
But after the battles are gone done and over it changes drastically to one of the frailties of an old soldier, though this drags on slightly, it feels raw and compelling even tear jerking at times.

The subtitles are a bit funny sometimes though and make no sense in English (I had no idea what they were saying in Chinese)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assembly, 20 May 2009
By 
J. Roberts "John Boy" (Bournemouth .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This video is in Chinese, but subtitilled, in saying that , it was one of the best war stories I have seen, the action shots are so real and the story line is one that follows the main charecter through the story, with a feeling as to what will happen next to him and that you want to shout at the screen to help him in his trials, get it the price is low , a definate watch again movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and thought provoking., 12 Sep 2011
I have to admit watching this film merely on the strength of its trailer. I was a little worried that it would be full of Chinese propaganda. I needn't have had such concerns. This is one of the most gripping and thought provoking war films I have ever watched. Set during the Chinese Civil War of 1948 and Korean War and after. We follow Captain Gu Zidi, A soldier trying to gain acknowledgment for comrades who died in a massacre he felt he could have prevented. The battle scenes are mind blowing and some of the most brutal I have ever watched. It was interesting to see the point of view of a defending force after so many war films focussed on the attacking side's p.o.v. I suppose it would be easy just to write that this is the Chinese Saving Private Ryan. But the film is much deeper than that. It very much focuses on the relationship among individual soldiers and the brutalities of war. Hanyu Zhang performance as Captain Gu Zidi is outstanding and in my opinion one of the greatest acting performances I have seen recent years. I highly recommend you see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Two Halves, 31 Dec 2010
By 
Peter Thomas (Northants England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I found myself changing my mind about the film, early on whilst the battle scenes are very well put together I did find the now compulsory shaky camera shots quite irritating and I almost stopped watching but the battle scenes are very strong and give Saving Private Ryan a run for its money as far as gore is concerned.. It must also be viewed in the context of pro communist Chinese propaganda, Communist soldiers good nationalist Chinese bad!! However for all its faults it is really a good and enjoyable film that is well worth watching. The second half whilst almost totally at odds with the all action first part has a really good story to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fast delivery, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Good fast delivery. I thought the film was great. The first half is the war. The battles were well done, bloody and realistic, and I didnt really get a sense of one side is good the other is bad, they were just two sides at war following orders. The second part of the film is set after the war and covers the continued attempts of the captain to prove his troups were heroes and get them the recognition they deserved. After the raw emotion raised by the battle scenes this second half was a gentler but for me more emotional section and was very well done. One star has been lost for the disc itself though. Before the film you have to sit through several trailers that cannot be skipped. The extras are minimal with only a trailer and making of featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRULY GREAT WAR MOVIE, 21 July 2009
By 
Mrs. R. Tickner "rosiet" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Assembly is a beautifully filmed and thought provoking war film. It shows us that there are two sides in every war and that the "enemy" are people too. With an excellent storyline, talented cast and a wonderful soundtrack, it's a film that deserves to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and a good cast, very well acted, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
A quality film,from this director,and a good cast ,very well acted.Lots of great action sequences,and well filmed.Really worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool true story, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assembly [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
a 5 star movie worth seeing, add to your collection, cant beat a true story, may become a classic. enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assembly [2007] [DVD]
Assembly [2007] [DVD] by Feng Xiaogang (DVD - 2009)
£3.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews