Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trip of a lifetime downunder
This one is NTSC/Region 0. If you have a modern NTSC compatible TV and player you can enjoy this concert. Can be found in PAL/0 version. On a beautiful Melbourne evening in November 2008, an audience of nearly 40,000 witnessed the show of a lifetime. Andre Rieu and his Johann Strauss Orchestra, together with the Imperial Ballet of Vienna, Elmayer Debutantes, Stars on Ice...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by Angela

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu In Australia DVD
The music is realy good, the dvd picture quality is not as good as expected, this for me is the down side,because it's a NTSC disc this is the reason for poor quality picture. I would recomend buying it as a region 2 disc better quality picture.
Published on 3 May 2010 by Mr. Dr. Love


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The trip of a lifetime downunder, 23 Jan 2010
By 
This one is NTSC/Region 0. If you have a modern NTSC compatible TV and player you can enjoy this concert. Can be found in PAL/0 version. On a beautiful Melbourne evening in November 2008, an audience of nearly 40,000 witnessed the show of a lifetime. Andre Rieu and his Johann Strauss Orchestra, together with the Imperial Ballet of Vienna, Elmayer Debutantes, Stars on Ice and the Australian Federal Police Pipe and Drum Band and friends brought Vienna to Australia. Against the spectacular backdrop of the Schonbrunn Palace reproduced complete with fountains and a golden ballroom, Andre, his musicians and his entourage entertained the audience with gems from the Austrian capital as well as a host of popular melodies from his 'second home', Australia.

Track Listing:
Seventy-Six Trombones, Blaze Away, Fächerpolonaise,Roses From The South - André Rieu
Chianti Song The Platin Tenors
Nessun Dorma The Platin Tenors
Elyen A Magyar!
Sportpalast Waltz (Wiener Praterleben)
Oh Mio Babbino Caro Carmen Monarcha
The White Horse Inn Mirusia Louwerse, Carmen Monarcha, Suzan Erens and The Platin Tenors
Emperor Waltz
Concerto Pour Une Voix Mirusia Louwerse
Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again Mirusia Louwerse
Botany Bay Mirusia Louwerse
On The Beautiful Blue Danube,Trumpet Voluntary
I Belong To Me Susan Erens
Boléro,Radetzky March,Strauss & Co.
Advance Australia Fair,Australia Medley,Scotland The Brave,Amazing Grace
Adieu, mein kleiner Gardeoffizier Mirusia Louwerse, Carmen Monarcha, Suzan Erens and The Platin Tenors
Marina
Waltzing Matilda
Along The Road To Gundagai
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. H. V. Riley "Hazel Riley" (West Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once we could view the DVD it was just wonderful. Did not realise it was a different region to our DVD recorder but we have sorted that and now all set to watch and buy more. The family are now truly hooked on Andre Rieu, I have now ordered 2 more and looking to buy even more. Over Christmas we saw the end of his show and I just had to buy it, it really is just perfect, fantastic music and lots of humour, I watched it twice and it really is one that you can watch again and again. A must have for any Andre Riue fan.
Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Hazel West Yorkshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest, Best, and Unbelievable, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Susan Horwood "escapee to 'fantasy' lands" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After waiting for 18 months to see Andre perform live in Australia his first concerts were in Melbourne. Wanting to attend his first concert I ended up going to three as his additional concerts were always in advance.
Over 90,000 people attended those 3 concerts. As tickets sold very fast in each city fans were flying interstate - sometimes on 3 hour plus flights - just to see him. Also New Zealanders were taking the 3 hour flights as well.
This concert had a record crowd for Andre Rieu and everyone had a ball. People were talking about his concerts each day after one; at work, on public transport, while shopping etc. He made an amazing impact.
Everyone loved our Aussie singers: Gary Bennett of 'The Platin Tenors' and of course his soloist Mirusia Lowerouse. The DVD doesn't show the full extent of the microphone incident. When we watched the replay of the concert - it had been televised live - Suzan Erens had been singing for 45 seconds and not the few shown here. If you want to see how audiences interact with Andre this is the DVD to get.
He has just finished his second tour Down Under and for Christmas has just released 'Live in Sydney' which features Dame Edna Everage and Alan Jones. I bought it for friends who are Dame Edna fans as there is 20 minutes of her on that DVD. Also, available on Aussie DVD or music sites is Andre's Australian Adventures the documentary companion to Live in Australia.
Sit back, join in and have lots of fun. FANTASTIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu Live in Austrilia (D.V.D), 30 Aug 2010
By 
Jennifer Panting "Ploddie feet" (Burnley, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic D.V.D. Watch Andre Rieu play his violin and his Johann Strauss orchestra. Play songs old and new classics. Some of the songs are Austrilian oranted. With guests include The Platin Tenors perform Nessun dorma, Chianti song. Other guests include Mirusia Louwerse perform Concerto pour une voix and Wishing you were somehow here again. (from Phantom of the opera). The D.V.D includes the usual songs by Andre Rieu and Johann Strauss orchestra with songs On a beautiful blue danube, Bolero, Radetzky march, Strauss and co, And The European pipe pipe band play pipes in Amazing Grace. With Andre Rieu. Watch ballet dancers perform songs with Andre Rieu and his orchestra. And watch ballet dancers on ice skates perform songs with Andre Rieu and his orchestra. Andre Rieu and his Johnann Strouss orchestra and his guests all perform in a set castle with an ice rink and ballet. With an audience of 40.000 and looked like they enjoyed the peerformance. With tears of joy and laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous...Fabulous...Fabulous..., 17 Oct 2010
By 
Ginni (North Wales) - See all my reviews
This is the first Andre Rieu concert I ever saw - by accident! Mam and I haven't looked back - we now have a collection of 18 concerts and are adding to our collection all the time. This is one of the very best. If you enjoy popular music performed well and a fun presentation you'll love this. If you're a stickler for the traditional performance you probably won't. Give it a try and see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu Live In Australia, 13 Sep 2010
Fantastic value for money! Watching this DVD was the next best thing to actually being at the Andre Rieu concert in Australia - in fact it did feel as if I was there. Andre is a master showman - professional in every sense, with a twinkle in his eye and a devilish sense of fun. The combination of old favourites such as The Blue Danube with Waltzing Matilda, Botany Bay, the pipes and drums of the Australian Federal Police etc. was just perfect, not to mention the dancers and skaters - wonderful entertainment. This is one DVD which will be played again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My collection of Andre Rieu, 27 Jun 2010
By 
As always, this is a splendid example of Andre Rieu's expertise! Both as a showman and a virtuoso of the violin. His playng is superb, and the sets have to be seen to be believed.

All in all, a tremendous asset to my collection!

Margaret Hodge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu In Australia DVD, 3 May 2010
By 
Mr. Dr. Love "D'Love" (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The music is realy good, the dvd picture quality is not as good as expected, this for me is the down side,because it's a NTSC disc this is the reason for poor quality picture. I would recomend buying it as a region 2 disc better quality picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not really a review, 30 May 2011
By 
Just a note to potential buyers - this wonderful DVD comes as a Region 0 freebie with the 'Midnight Serenade' André Rieu CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Live in Australia' Andre Rieu, 9 Mar 2010
By 
PAEnglish (UK/Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Live in Australia' Andre Rieu at his very best really wonderful even though I was watching the DVD I felt I was live at the concert.
Superb sopranos and tenors coupled with Andre's wonderful sense of humour and personality I shall watch this Dvd over and over again for that really feel good factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews