Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cinematic, beautiful, heart-rendering cry in the dark
Stumbling upon this album, seemingly by chance was an unforgettable experience. I am somebody who believes in music to awaken emotion from within, to enhance and enlighten the way in which we view the world and of its importance, to our own everyday lives. This album is my inspiration with its raw emotion, subtlety, aesthetic qualities and technical excellence...
Published on 9 Jan. 2000 by u7o45@keele.ac.uk

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better version
A much better version of "Fitzcarraldo" was produced by Pete Briquette but it seems to be impossible to find.. does anyone have any ideas? This one is good, but Briquette's (from the Boomtown Rats) one was far superior.
Published on 26 Mar. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cinematic, beautiful, heart-rendering cry in the dark, 9 Jan. 2000
By 
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
Stumbling upon this album, seemingly by chance was an unforgettable experience. I am somebody who believes in music to awaken emotion from within, to enhance and enlighten the way in which we view the world and of its importance, to our own everyday lives. This album is my inspiration with its raw emotion, subtlety, aesthetic qualities and technical excellence. Kicking off with graceful aggression is 'Revelate', something that I have used countless times for physical theatre and experiments with film. A superb track that would stand out on any other album but merely sets the standard of quality here that keeps on building as this profound album, like rapid-fire, switches through your emotions with a vice like grip. 'Angel at my Table', the second track, is a wonderful experience, full of passion and uncertainty, bringing in the best elements of 'Revelate' but counter-attacking with a gentle softness, as a listener it's like being caught between heaven and hell whilst being spiritually uplifted and repeatedly stabbed in the back. 'Fitzcarraldo', the title track softens the pace yet continuously builds into a stunningly put together song. 'Say it to me Now' and 'Red Chord' are absolutely brilliant, 'Red Chord', a song that seems to be universally loved by all who are privelleged to hear this band, is emotionally intense and very moving. The other tracks on this album are all brilliant and would stand out on most other albums, 'Fitzcarraldo' is a great, great album.....come on people by this album, it'll have a profound effect on your lives, think about its cinematic potential, unrelenting energy, the way it collides through different emotions, continuously changing gear and always surprising. IF I ever have any influence in what I want to do in life I will fight for this band to have the success they so rightly deserve. Five stars! You can't really relegate something this special to a mere 5 stars. Believe me you'll be kicking yourself if you don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A absolute must for any serious music lover, 7 Feb. 2000
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
Excellent guitar playing superb production amazing vocals and stupendous lyrics.This is one of my top ten albums of all time.It is as good as radiohead ''The Bends'' and will not dissapoint anybody who listens to it.From the loud opening track of Revelate to the beautiful ending of Your face you will be awoken and soothed with a mix of stupendous songs.Do not miss the chance to hear this brilliant album buy it now you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bands never heard of in the US, 16 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
I first heard The Frames on the Chicago morning radio show, Mancow. I had to hear more... Once I heard some samples, I got Fitzcarraldo, Dance the Devil, and For the Birds from Amaxon.co.uk and had them shipped here to the US. I enjoy Fitzcarraldo the most - the mix of violins, soft lyrics with rock chords, and the unique sound of Glen's voice - make this the best band I've never heard of.
I just purchased Set List and Burn the Maps and I plan on seeing them on March 5th in Chicago. They recently received a great review in Blender Music Magazine for Burn the Maps... I hope The Frames catch on outside of Ireland and the UK - they really deserve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equally good predecessor to 'Dance the Devil', 21 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
Giving a taste of this bands powerful live performance, 'Fitzcarraldo' is a truly intense musical treat. 'Angel at my Table' and Red Chord are the high points of the album, where lead singer Glen Hansard's voice is truly stunning. Definatly one of my top 10 favourite albums, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen, 25 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
I'm a firm believer in the power of the intro on the first song of an album. Look at "Cherub Rock" on Smashing Pumpkins "Siamese Dream". Here you have "Revelate" ... a cool guitar intro and then power ... An album where abused guitars sit perfectly with the sweetness of Colm's violin. And the bass lines just jump out.
Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For anyone who loved "Once", 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (MP3 Download)
I "discovered" Glen Hansard through the film "Once" and then just had to have more of his voice and lyrics. Fresh and exhilarating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 21 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
The album is amazing - The opening track revelate is so catchy you'll be humming it all day. This brilliant Irish bands mix of slow soft melodies and loud electric guitar riffs makes it the perfect album -a whirlwind of emotions.
Paticularly good tracks a Red Chord (an emotional, softly song almost like a ballad which builds into a rock finish)- will have anyone who hears it hooked
Monument - a song you just have shout along to.
Fitzcaraldo - a brilliant track, guartanteed to cheer even the most miserable up.
Come on people, the frames have been around for 10 years and are virtually unknown outside the emerald isle. Although it would be nice to keep them for ourselves the lads deserve more recognition for their brilliant talents - Glens voice is amazing and the violin, piano, guitar mix that they bring into their songs is something you just have to hear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as a response, 21 Sept. 2006
By 
Allan Quigley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
i do own a copy of this album produced by Mr Briquette, the fact that i worked for the record company probably helped in acquiring it, i have not heard the other version and don't want to this one is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly brilliant, 11 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
What an album.....lyrically brilliant with some stunning guitar and with an amazing lead singer The Frames should be a number one act. Like a cross between Pearl Jam, Counting Crows and Cat Stevens if you can imagine that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better version, 26 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fitzcarraldo (Audio CD)
A much better version of "Fitzcarraldo" was produced by Pete Briquette but it seems to be impossible to find.. does anyone have any ideas? This one is good, but Briquette's (from the Boomtown Rats) one was far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fitzcarraldo
Fitzcarraldo by The Frames
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews