Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2014
REVIEWED VERSION: 2009 Paramount Pictures UK DVD (reissue)

Director: Danny Steinmann

Cast: Melanie Kinnaman, John Shepherd, Shavar Ross, Marco St. John, Carol Locatell, Richard Young, Tom Morga

SYNOPSIS

10 years after the events of THE FINAL CHAPTER, Tommy Jarvis still is haunted by nightmares of Jason Voorhees and is shuffles from one mental institution to another. When he is moved to yet another mental institution, conveniently located near Crystal Lake, the killings start again...

THE PROS & CONS

The best thing about FRIDAY THE 13TH PART V: A NEW BEGINNING is the 5 minute opening sequence, which turns out to be only Tommy Jarvis' nightmare. Paramount continues Tommy Jarvis' storyline, who was supposed to become Jason's nemesis like Dr. Loomis in the HALLOWEEN series, although nowhere near as successful. Personally I hated the character. They did go for continuity by having Corey Feldman return as Tommy for a cameo in the pre-title sequence.
A NEW BEGINNING tried to be a new beginning in some ways, most notably by the absense of the "real" Jason.
Danny Steinmann did an ok directing job, too bad the source material was bad, despite 5 people, including Steinmann, being involved in the writing of the story and screenplay (are you serious? It takes 5 guys to pen down a slasher flick?). A NEW BEGINNING is very much the same as all previous entries, just I did not care for a majority of the characters in this one. Parts 6 & 7 did a better job here.
Decent to horrendous (over) acting, while John Shepherd (Tommy Jarvis), Melanie Kinnaman (Pam) and Marco St. John (Sheriff) are in the first catagory - Shepherd gives a believable performance as the traumatized teen - most of the cast is clearly in the second catagory. They do not seem to have mental problems, but are your average sex-crazed teens from all the other FRIDAY flicks. (Un)lucky for them, the new Jason does not discriminate... they make just as good canon fodder.
The gore... well the gore... A NEW BEGINNING has the highest body count of the series, but the movie was somewhat toned down by our friends at the MPAA, and, just like with all Paramount FRIDAYs, the unrated versions are not available. The censorship really destroys what good was left of the film, as nearly all the murders are off screen or bloodless. That didn't stop the BBFC and the German FSK to cut the film even further for early VHS releases, the BBFC cut all sight of bare breasts and some gore, while the Germans left the nudity in fully in tact but trimmed all murder scenes even further. DVD releases in both countries are the uncut R-rated prints, though.

DVD DETAILS

Feature running time: 88:24 mins. (MPAA cuts)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16:9
Audio: English 2.0 Mono, French 2.0 Mono, German 2.0 Mono, Italian 2.0 Mono, Spanish 2.0 Mono
Subtitles: English, English HoH, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Arabic and Turkish
Extras: Theatrical Trailer (1:47)! Gee thanks!
Region: 2 / PAL

Picture quality: C
Audio quality: C
Extras: F
55 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I feel no one is expecting logic or reason for a horror movie, its an horror movie and if I was going to rate this on its horror I would give it five star. The first film was Jasons mother then that brought Jason from the dead into it, as a collector of all the films we can excuse the first one and understand Jsson's mother seeked revenge on the camp councillors for neligence, but to make a second film without Jason was silly. Its like making a film of nightmare on elm street without Freddy it just can't be done, so a good horror movie but without Jason isn't like friday the 13th with Jason. Sadly one can't have the full collection without this film, but for logic or reason you can't bring back the dead and after all jason was dead so really he was a zombie.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 February 2014
Part 5 of the ‘Friday 13th’ franchise was not received well. It was largely due to part of the story that I won’t go into (as there are some out there who didn’t mind it and I won’t spoil it for them). However, on the rare chance you don’t know the story, it goes along the lines of a masked killer stalks and kills oversexed teens.

And, in Part 5, we have more than the normal number of oversexed teens to do away with. There is certainly more of a diverse bunch to be sliced and diced. This is a nice (and new) touch to the franchise, however, it does take away from the story’s central theme. It’s one of the rare films in the saga to continue from the last one. The child survivor of Part 4 (Tommy Jarvis) is now grown up and still having problems dealing with his childhood trauma with the masked killer, Jason Voorhees. This is actually quite a nice idea, but is always a sub-plot as the film concentrates on killing so many of the cast, leaving little if any time to continue Tommy’s tale.

Once again, you can tell who’s going to die and who’s not. Let’s face it... ‘bad’ people never last long in this sort of film (and Jason almost does the world a favour in getting rid of half the cast here!). Also, the death scenes are a little more imaginative and well thought out than in the predecessors.

However, for all that’s right with this film, fans still return to what’s wrong with it. Many believe that this film would have been better NOT being part of the Friday 13th franchise and being a stand alone film all together. However, if you’re in the mood for some gore, then you might get something out of this. Plus it has a ‘dance routine’ that’s almost as good as Crispen Glover’s from Part 4!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
I personally really like this film and consider it to be the second best behind the original. I know a lot of people hate on this movie because the film doesn't star Jason as the killer (it is someone pretending to be him.) But I really didn't care and I thought it was a refreshing change, having the audience guess who the killer is from several suspects presented.

I liked the character of Tommy Jarvis and the kills were great, this film also had the highest body count out of all the Friday The 13th films. "A New Beginning" maintains the same spirit and atmosphere that made the earlier films such a success and in my opinion it is the last film in the series to be filmed in that way. There are some stupid moments but a lot of them are just funny. In addition, the characters can at times be irritating, but the kills make up for it.

This film is much underrated and is very good in my opinion. 8.9/10 - B+
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Even if you only watch the series for ironic fun (and why wouldn't you), part 5 is worth giving a miss. The tone is so grimy and the structure so poor that it doesn't even tick the camp and inventive boxes that make most of the series so endearing. Worth watching if you want to know how the series peaked and troughed over the years, or how the Tommy Jarvis story played out - but bookended by the genuinely unnerving 4 and the consciously silly 6, this entry arrived badly and has aged even worse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
After Part four's series high, this is little more than a Jason Vorhees 'slash fest'. In an apparent attempt to up the comedy quota the producers have introduced a couple of grotesquely buffoonish rednecks, and some caustically facetious local police. There is also a neat twist to keep the series going, that the previous reviewer has helpfully explained, but that's about all there is to it. Probably should have stuck with the original plan to end series with part four; but money talks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
...and this film proves that. Remember in part 1 his mother was the killer and now it's this guy who saw his son brutally murdered in the institution and took revenge by using jason's clothes and mask which perfectly makes sense (not to have jason in this film) cause jason WAS "DEAD" BURRIED IN HIS GRAVE as we are revealed in part 6 so part 5 continued the story of the only human who succeeded to put an end (for a while) to jason's bloody reign. Mr. tommy jarvis (played by john sepherd in part 5) so what's the matter with you who hate part 5 ?
I think it was a solid entry in the franchise and jason was back in part 6 so get over the fact that jason wasn't in this movie cause it was the logical thing to do. After all the real jason appeared in tommy's nightmares in part 5.
Unfortunately this dvd has only new cover. not extras.
44 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
A new Beginning. A New Tommy Jarvis but and Old plot, more Hack and Slash.One of the weakest entries in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Part 5 has a tendency to be slated, however I think it was a fun little twist, and a good watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
Despite, the killer is not Jason, it works really well as a sequel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)