Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a class of its own, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Beaux Arts Trio plays Schumann's piano quartet and quintet with rapt emotional involvement and aristocratic poise. Menahem Pressler's piano playing is exquisitely sensitive and wonderfully poetic, beautifully balanced with the warmly expressive strings. The heart breakingly beautiful slow movement of Piano Quartet, one of Schumann's most inspired lyrical compositions, is presented with autumnal glow and wistful sweetness. Their performance of Piano Quintet is equally outstanding, masterfully capturing the mysterious melancholy of the slow movement and the architectural beauty of the outer movements. The strength of their performances is the ability to bring out the unique poetic romanticism of Schumann's music without being overly sentimental, letting the music speak for itself. Most recommendable alongside the famous CBS recording of the same chamber works, played by Glenn Gould/Julliard Qt. In the three Trios, you can find hidden gems of Schumann's chamber music compositions, which deserve more performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous music in aristocratic performances, 28 Feb 2009
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this very reasonably priced set mainly for the Quartet, which I wanted to get to know. It's a lovely piece with a melting slow movement - Schumann at his most lyrical - though not, I think, quite the equal of the astonishing Quintet, written at about the same time. The revelation were the three trios, the first two of which are quite wonderful (the third does not quite reach that level). What you can be sure of, too, is the consistently fine quality of the performances. The Beaux Arts Trio are too well known and too highly regarded for any special pleading from me. Let is just be said that their very high standards of musicality are consistently met here, with, as always, the wonderful playing of the pianist, Menahem Pressler, at the core of what they do. The recordings are clean, immediate. well balanced and faithful. You simply can't go wrong here - it's a very fine set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiant and faithful, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A marvellous double cd set here, with much to savour. The performances are warm and precise. It would be hard to hear them bettered. The highlights are the quintet, quartet and F major trio. The third movement of this trio contains Schumann's most sublime and characteristic music. Clara Schumann said she was "passionately fond of this piece". Everything most heartfelt, nostalgic and dreamlike about Schumann is here in this movement. Then there is the fabulous quintet. At all times the musicianship is contained, sensitive, considered and passionate, when need be. It is wrong to single out works on this cd; they all feature beautiful music. I am especially attached to the Dminor trio. The recordings are from the 1970s but they as 'fresh as can be' digitally remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schumann's Piano Quintet., 31 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Imeson (Stockton-on-Tees UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first heard this at Durham University played by I Musici quintet. It was the most beautiful music I had ever listened to, especially the Notturno. I bought the c.d.and play it often, particularly if I am feeling a bit stressed out. What a bargain that was!
Joan Imeson, Thornaby-on-Tees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly good, 30 Aug 2010
This is beautiful, melodious music, played with verve, enthusiasm and intelligence. My only niggle (and it's not much of one) is that Piano Trio no 1 is split over two CDs - it limits the scope to lie back and wallow. Apart from that - what's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schumann: The Complete Piano Trios/Piano Quartet/Piano Quintet (MP3 Download)
The Beaux Arts Trio must rank among the greatest interpreter of romantic chamber music and these recordings of Schumann's invigorating piano quintet, quartet and trios touch the very heights of the group's formidable powers. For any fan of Schumann's music, these discs are indispensable. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
super
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews