Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection
A Grace Jones Greatest Hits album scarcely needs a review - if you like her, you'll love this and if you don't you won't - but it is worth saying that this is a terrific collection. Grace Jones may be as mad as a very mad person on National Mad Day and she's not really that good a singer in my view, but she can really perform a song. Tracks like La Vie En Rose and Pull...
Published 22 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Masters Collection grace jones
Only bought this for La vie en Rose - the rest of the stuff is just unlistenable to - why, why or why when she has a great voice and can
really sing.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. Teresa V. Wellesley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
A Grace Jones Greatest Hits album scarcely needs a review - if you like her, you'll love this and if you don't you won't - but it is worth saying that this is a terrific collection. Grace Jones may be as mad as a very mad person on National Mad Day and she's not really that good a singer in my view, but she can really perform a song. Tracks like La Vie En Rose and Pull Up To The Bumper are genuine all-time classics and Jones's unique performances, the excellent production and the brilliant backing musicians make all these songs enduringly good.

I am surprised to find that the classic Slave To The Rhythm isn't on this CD. I have no idea why and it is quite a serious omission. If anyone still needs a recommendation, though, I can give it - it's a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sultry & Silky, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
If you want one collection which neatly gathers together Grace's best stuff, this is surely it. From the hauntingly tender 'La Vie En Rose', to the gently insistent 'Private Life', a warmly seductive 'Love is the Drug', the atmospheric 'Walking in the Rain', and the richly exotic and mysterious 'I've seen that face before' (used to hypnotic effect in the film 'Frantic'), this collection is firmly on the money.

My only personal dud here is the pedestrian, repetitive 'Warm Leatherette', though I know it has its admirers. A warmly focussed production, great musicians, and Grace's langorous lyrics, all underpinned by some irresistible rhythmic grooves, make this a disco/clubbing collection worth aquiring, especially at the giveaway Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Produto recebido, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
Produto recebido finalmente, uma vez que a primeira remessa deva ter se extraviado, produto em excelente estado e de acordo com o descrito no anúncio.
Recomendo a todos sua compra.
Obrigado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
Grace Jones has a powerful voice and image, and the music is highly memorable. The only omission is "Slave to the Rhythm".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disco with a bit of quirly style., 18 Jun 2012
By 
ST Nicholls "viggenboy" (Saxmundham, Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
Forget the fact that Grace Jones comes over most of the time as slightly "unhinged", this trip back to my uni' days is just as quirkily stylish as it ever was and this collection brings together all of the racks that you need/want to fill the relevant gap in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of the 80's, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
I wasn't a big fan of Grace Jones in the 80's, but hearing an old track recently I decided to buy this album. Great music (can't understand why I missed this out back then). And a very affordable price. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love the CD, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
this takes me back to university days..lol....but was very disappointed that la vie en rose is NOT the full track and is not the powerful track..its a subdued version..WHY??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars here's grace., 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
at the age of 60, she can sing to a massive crowd, whilst hola hooping, dancing and walking round the stage. what not to like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goood ish., 20 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
Its all the hits but not (in my opinion) the very best song. You get what you pay for i guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascination!, 7 July 2011
By 
Mehaudy S. Roberto (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection (Audio CD)
She is special. I really don't know why. Maybe, it is her powerful and profound way of singing each song. As a matter of fact, she expresses lots of feelings on each track. An overwhelming personality singing beautiful songs. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection
Classic Grace Jones - The Masters Collection by Grace Jones (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews