Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SET DESERVES BETTER DETAIL
This is track for track a reissue of Avid's 1996 release "The Many Faces Of Boogie Woogie", but whereas that provided a detailed note and full discographical details, this carries the bare minimum of information. That detracts from an otherwise excellent compilation, which cast the net wide to include more than just the obvious choices. So Georgia White's "Alley Boogie"...
Published on 14 Jun 2008 by Barry McCanna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blues/Jazz/Gentle Boogie Woogie
I do love listening to original recording and this certainly is that. The volume comes out a little quiet, but there's no denying its authenticity. I was hoping for something a little heavier in the piano section - a la Jools Holland. This is a bit too Jazzy for me. I love Original Blues but this is much lighter and faster than that. It's certainly listenable and great...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. C. Appleford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SET DESERVES BETTER DETAIL, 14 Jun 2008
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is track for track a reissue of Avid's 1996 release "The Many Faces Of Boogie Woogie", but whereas that provided a detailed note and full discographical details, this carries the bare minimum of information. That detracts from an otherwise excellent compilation, which cast the net wide to include more than just the obvious choices. So Georgia White's "Alley Boogie" (recently heard introducing "Love Soup" on TV) is here, as well as Montana Taylor, Speckled Red, and Romeo Nelson. That's before considering the many instrumental boogie tracks, which inject variety into what might otherwise have been a somewhat monochrome experience. So it is a considerable bargain, and if it appeals then you should ignore my reservation and seek it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If they say so, 16 Aug 2012
With dozens of boogie woogie collections on the market the best one is the Proper Box which includes a booklet with dates and more info on one page than this Avid twofer covers on its entire sleeve.
Not that it matters that much today as you can find as much as you want on Wikipedia including the fact that the unnamed girl singer on track 1 is actually Anita O'Day and that Johnny Parker was the piano man on Humphrey Lyttleton's Bad Penny Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blues/Jazz/Gentle Boogie Woogie, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. C. Appleford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do love listening to original recording and this certainly is that. The volume comes out a little quiet, but there's no denying its authenticity. I was hoping for something a little heavier in the piano section - a la Jools Holland. This is a bit too Jazzy for me. I love Original Blues but this is much lighter and faster than that. It's certainly listenable and great for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Woogie - The Essential Collection (Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Excellent music, What more do I have to say I do not need 18 words to express this opinion.
Blah Blah Blah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PIANO AND INSTRUMENTAL VARIETY, 13 Dec 2008
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is track for track a reissue of Avid's 1996 release "The Many Faces Of Boogie Woogie", but whereas that provided a detailed note and full discographical details, this carries the bare minimum of information. That detracts from an otherwise excellent compilation, which cast the net wide to include not just the more obvious choices. So Georgia White's "Alley Boogie" (recently heard introducing "Love Soup" on TV) is here, as well as Montana Taylor, Speckled Red, and Romeo Nelson. That's before considering the many instrumental boogie tracks, which inject variety into what might otherwise have been a somewhat monochrome experience. So it is a considerable bargain, and if it appeals then you should ignore my reservation and seek it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear..., 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a load of rubbish ~ got a refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie classic`s, 26 Dec 2011
By 
David Mee "Dave" (West Midlands U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this double cd set as a gift for myself at Xmas so as yet have just settled into one of the disc`s and been transported back in time to when music was music great sellection on both cd`s I look forward to getting a quiet hour to myself to listen to the other.
Brilliant service from Amazon as ever thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews