Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is
I bought this to use with my canon 350D. I am an occasional photographer so a canon IQ lens is well outside my affordability. The lens is screw mount so comes with an adaptor to fit to the Canon mount. As such the lens does not communicate with the camera so the camera has no idea what's attached at the front. The result is that the camera does not know that the lens...
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by Erasmus

versus
64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is no such thing as a free meal
Having decided you need a 500mm lens, the next question is do you want to spend the equivalent of a meal out on it, or the equivalent of a second hand car. If you go for the latter, then go and buy yourself a good canon lens like Canon EF 500mm f/4.0 L IS USM Lens and you won't be disappointed. If your budget is a bit more restricted then read on.

This lens is...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by Kevin Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 30 Aug 2009
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I bought this to use with my canon 350D. I am an occasional photographer so a canon IQ lens is well outside my affordability. The lens is screw mount so comes with an adaptor to fit to the Canon mount. As such the lens does not communicate with the camera so the camera has no idea what's attached at the front. The result is that the camera does not know that the lens is f8 so will only operate on fully manual mode ( and even then reports f0.0). Metering is through the lens so is fine.

The focussing of the lens is really quite sensitive, and of course since not auto-focus is up to you to get it right. Without a split focus plate as of old this is tricky, also you must carefully set the eyepiece focus adjustment so that the image and eyepiece focus are at the same point. If you usually rely on the autofocus the eyepiece is probably not set correctly, as mine wasn't.

Having taken care of the above, the lens actually gives pretty decent images. For hand held, I set the camera to 1600ASA, which gives enough speed even on an average day. The lens doesn't come with a hood so extraneous light can get in and degrade contrast - either get a lens hood or fashion a simple tube yourself.

Four stars because it seems it's cheapness is due to its simplicity of design (i.e. manual) not dreadful imaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is no such thing as a free meal, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Kevin Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Having decided you need a 500mm lens, the next question is do you want to spend the equivalent of a meal out on it, or the equivalent of a second hand car. If you go for the latter, then go and buy yourself a good canon lens like Canon EF 500mm f/4.0 L IS USM Lens and you won't be disappointed. If your budget is a bit more restricted then read on.

This lens is well constructed and is very solidly made. It comes with three filters which are inserted at the back of the lens, between the camera and the lens itself, not at the front. Notice that as a result of that if you want to protect the front face another filter will be required. Your camera will not be able to control the aperture setting which is fixed at f/8 so you will be using predominantly Av mode. With our Canon 400D that largely worked ok but there were occasions where some shots were over exposed and it wasn't clear why that was happening.

The key limitations with this lens that you need to be aware of are as follows:

1. Contrast will never be as good as you might hope, this is as a result of it being a mirror based system. If you are taking shots of the moon this will not be a problem but nature shots (for example) will tend to look a little more washed out.

2. You will see an effect called "bokeh", which is where the out of focus background tends to have lots of circle effects.

3. If photographing nature, the narrow depth of field and manual focus means that you really need to choose an area to focus on then be prepared to shoot when the animal comes into shot. This is a great deal different from the normal point and shoot approach that you may be familiar with, where the auto-focus can be used to good effect.

If you are happy with the above, this is a very cost effective purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 19 April 2011
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I purchased this to go with a Canon EOS 500.

The lens appears to be of good quality, but getting used to manual focussing is going to take some time. It is good in bright sun but in darker conditions you do need to use the camera in conjunction with a tripod and remote control to avoid camera shake.

Overall for the price paid I believe this represents good value for money.

The item was delivered promptly in suitable packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opteka 500mm Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Don't be fooled by the cheapness of this lens. There are a few issues, like the rather loose fit of the focus ring, but overall this is marvelous value for money. I have used it for photograhing the moon, birds in the fields, and long-distance action shots at sporting events and it has performed well. You have to make your own decisions about shutter speed ( the lens being f8 only ) and there will be a little trial and effort but I found that giving speeds one stop slower than you would expect work well. An external light meter and a tripod also enhance the results achieved but I have had some good results shooting hand-held - though in good light conditions. All-in-all a really good piece of kit for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 27 May 2012
By 
B. Daw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Having read the various reviews I was not sure what to expect in terms of quality. I can only say that as an amateur in the world of digital SLR's this lens exceeded my estimation. So far it has produced some excellent wildlife shots and whilst it may take some setting up I cannot fault the results. When I look at the cost of similar 'big name' lenses this will certainly do for my requirements so if you are looking for a reasonably priced lens (a bit more than a full tank of petrol) and you do not expect seriously professional results this is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics, 7 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I'm using the lens with a Canon EOS 1000D. If you're relying on complete, aperture or shutter speed programs.... this is not a lens for you. Put your camera in manual mode, and it will perform nicely. Even thou it's only f8, you'll have enough light to see what's going on. Even on an ordinary cloudy day, I've manged to use shutter speeds aroud 1/125. Optical quality is okay, not Nikon or Canon lens quality, but still much better than I expected. Using a hood is recommended to minimize reflections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
For the money, this is an awful lot of lens and for terrestrial work it performs well. The lack of autofocus is a bit of a nuisance. For astronomical work, the lack of definition becomes apparent; the optics are cheap and it cannot focus a star properly. I compared it to a Canon 70 - 300 zoom and on 300mm, the zoom produced a better image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
only good for close up pictures tend to be a little flat and need to use tripod to get less shaky pics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate rerformer, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
As budget lenses go it feels well made, but optically it will never match a lens costing much more. For occasional use it's fine, but it won't produce super sharp images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opteka 500mm Lens, 4 May 2009
This review is from: Opteka 500mm f/8 Telephoto Mirror Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Bought this lens as have always wanted a Mirror lens but have found them to be way out of my price range. Very surprised at the results and have loaded some of the images taken with this camera on to amazon. Also purchased the 2x converter but have yet to overcome camera shake. Will use tripod and remote control unit on my old faith Canon 350DOpteka 2X Manual Telephoto Converter for T-Mount Lenses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews