Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fisheye Fun
This is a great little lens, perfect for those just wishing to dip into the world of experimental photography. Its great for outside and inside. But there is one drawback i have found whilst using it. If you wish to use the pop up flash on your camera, due to the sheer length on the lens' it creates a shadow which is quite annoying. But if you use an external flash its...
Published on 4 April 2009 by B. P. Mcadam

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fishy eye
Basically a filter, it works ok and gives the fish eye effect but the quality isn't great and it suffers from colour distortion big time on the edges. But I guess it's ok for the price but don't expect amazing works of art to be made by it. Having said that it works well in black and white.
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by S. King


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fisheye Fun, 4 April 2009
By 
B. P. Mcadam "Prosperous Fellow" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
This is a great little lens, perfect for those just wishing to dip into the world of experimental photography. Its great for outside and inside. But there is one drawback i have found whilst using it. If you wish to use the pop up flash on your camera, due to the sheer length on the lens' it creates a shadow which is quite annoying. But if you use an external flash its fine really. So apart from that its a great little toy to play around with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for the price, 19 Aug 2009
By 
C. Wise (Sunny Herne Bay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Firstly, this lens is not going to win any awards for high quality.
However, having dispensed with the negative, it has a lot going for it.
I bought this to indulge my current fad for producing web panoramas - and being reluctant to spend ten times the price for something which might be gathering dust in 3 months, this is an excellent compromise.
Delivery from the supplier was within 3 working days, and included a USEFUL free gift rather than a token gesture - they have really got their act together!
In summary, a very good, acceptable and usable lens to dip your toe in the waters of fisheye / panoramic photography. Should you subsequently decide to swim a little further out, you might want to spend a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
this is a good quality attachment for your DSLR, unfortunately when i ordered the item i purchased the incorrect ring size, but it came with size adapters, GREAT IDEA! I have a 500D and the attachment works really well with auto focus, manual focus and video mode.
I used it for all of these within the first day and was very impressed. If you do not wish to have the black circle on your frame then simply just zoom in, the attachment is really great and i seriously recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video on camera, 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Length:: 0:56 Mins

This is on camera video. I am using Nikon D3100 and 18-55mm kit lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works !!!!!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
OK I know that people write things and for the most part they sound really professional, I'm not, I'm a very happy amateur but this lens does exactly what it says on the tin... Sorry for the pun.... I have a Canon 450D so not totally modern but I do really enjoy taking photographs and this lens does so much for those interesting shots...
You do have to attach it to an existing lens but that is it. For the price its really great and for those who are starting out like myself and cannot really afford a fisheye lens as they are expensive this is an amazing alternative ..
I would recommend it to all of you who are taking of buying a fisheye Len to try out....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " A GREAT LENS ", 31 Mar 2010
By 
J. BURLAND (Dronfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Hello Team, Just been doing some test shots of my new "Fisheye" which arrived in 2 days from 47th Street Photo by FedEx this morning and what seems customary, it came with a 10 piece free gift which even included a mini tripod, wow what a company. I took some shots using the Canon 18 - 55mm lens which came with the 500D, set at the 18mm end, I then added the Opteka Fiseye, which screws onto the filter thread by means of the supplied 52 to 58 ring and took the same views. The resulting shots show no deterioration in image quality from those taken using the Canon lens on it's own. A great lens at a great price. I will be ordering further Opteka products. Kind regards, John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, for the price!, 8 April 2011
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Bought this for my daughter who is beginning to become seriously interested in photography. Fitted onto a 500D with no problems, image quality is slightly reduced but nothing to be worried about if you aren't a pro. For a 10th of the price of other fish-eyes, this is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish eye supplementary lens, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. John Osborn (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I was very pleased with this product. It gives crystal clear images and is easy to use. I am still experimenting with it to see the different images that can be produced. It is excellent value for money compared with purchasing a fish eye lens, and delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant lens - excellent service, 7 Aug 2009
By 
K. Williamson (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, & 1000D Digital SLR Camera

The lens performs well with my EOS 450D kit lens giving me a range from wide angle to fisheye. To get the best results I found that you do need to use a small aperture. Definition at the centre is good, at the edges less so but what else would you expect at this price.

The service from 47th Street Photos was first class. From New York to my home in Spain in less than a week was very impressive and the gift in the box was the icing on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine for the price, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Opteka HD² 0.20X Professional Super AF Fisheye Lens for Canon EOS 1D, 5D, 6D, 7D, 10D, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D, 70D, 100D, 300D, 350D, 400D, 450D, 500D, 550D, 600D, 700D, 1000D, 1100D & 1200D Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I bought this after trying home-made peep-hole fisheyes just for fun. I'm not using the fisheye effect so much to justify the price of buying a fisheye lens, so I decided to upgrade the DIY one with this add-on lens.

On full frame, where it was going to go, it's fun but you should know you need a 28mm lens in order to get the perfect circular shape. Over 28, the circle gets cut.

Not perfect on 400D Canon, using the 18-55 kit lens: although 18mm is approx 28mm on FF, even with multiplying factor 1.6X, the circle is not centered and gets cut on the lower side (in my case). I've seen more pictures with this problem on web. Then I wonder why use that on APS-C cameras, if you have to use an ultrawide angle already in order to use this Opteka fisheye, but you can still have fun and circularly crop in PP, I guess.

I'm generally using this on a sharp Nikon 28mm prime lens with a nikon-canon adapter, which is also very easy to focus manually, is metal so you don't have to worry too much about plastic components deteriorating under the opteka weight, and delivers above average image quality. I recommend such coupling for your canon camera, using a manual cheap and very sharp prime 28mm lens via cheap adapter.

Focusing is all right with your auto-focusing lens, it's easy to use and put on your lens, and the image quality, well, it's fine for the price and definitely fun, especially with FF cameras that can take video like the 5D mk II Canon... Yes, it's MUCH fun.
Flare is always round the corner, but not that much, and sometimes it's pleasant. The contrast is not usually spoiled in harsh conditions and I've been able to shoot nice shots even at live shows with direct stage lighting.
Field of view is apparently nearly the 180 degrees declared, and let me say that's what you're asking from such lens, circularity is flawless on 5D mk II FF camera, but borders are quite marmelade and chromaticly aberrated, and when you move off from the center of the image, the quality drops quickly. Center is quite acceptable actually.

The quality is obviously not the declared "professional" quality, at least on 21 MP camera, but this should be quite expected for a 60 - 70 EUR add-on lens, and is not that bad either.

I can say I'm happy with this product and would recommend it to anyone who wants to try a Fisheye POV and have such fun with his/her camera. But not to "professional" or to anyone that may think that this can replace a branded fisheye lens... you (nearly) always get what you pay for, and often you get less than you pay for, but you have a fair bargain here, in my humble opinion.

I'd love to try the opteka super HD fisheye for camcorders, which sells for much more money, but for now I'll stick to this and any other very cheap ultrawide adapter to see if I really need it on my 3CCD camcorder... which is a hell to find in Europe due to the rather uncommon 43mm filter thread (thank you Panasonic).

Hope this helps!
Squarepuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews