Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation thats been a long time coming...
At last - a collection of the very best Dire Straits songs combined with Mark Knopfler's solo efforts. I'm sure this compilation has been long awaited and should respond to reviewers disappointed by the shortcomings of the previous 'Sultans of Swing' compilation (myself included).
The single CD is good, but the double CD here is even better so...
Published on 8 Nov 2005

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars best of knopler
Some outstanding tracks on this album, yet is let down by the last 3-4, nonetheless, a worthy addition to any music collection.
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by P. D. French


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation thats been a long time coming..., 8 Nov 2005
By A Customer
At last - a collection of the very best Dire Straits songs combined with Mark Knopfler's solo efforts. I'm sure this compilation has been long awaited and should respond to reviewers disappointed by the shortcomings of the previous 'Sultans of Swing' compilation (myself included).
The single CD is good, but the double CD here is even better so buy this one if you can. Whereas on 'Sultans' too many good songs were edited and a couple of disappointing live renditions of songs were included instead of the superior studio versions (including 'Love Over Gold' which is on this collection in its original 6min studio version with the brilliant solo at the end). All the DS songs are in their full-length versions and MK's solo songs are all well selected. A great CD, for both collectors and people seeking an introduction to MK/DS, and a must for any serious collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a guitarist, and what great songs, 3 Nov 2005
Knowing all the tracks on this album very well, I can safely say that Mark Knopfler, with or without Dire Straits, has written some of the most consistently strong songs that stand the test of time. Brothers in Arms is as moving now as it was 20 years ago and Romeo and Juliet and Sultans of Swing are both examples of an artist at the peak of his creativity. They may not always have been considered a cool act, but why be concerned with passing fashions when you could simply relax and enjoy quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reminisce, 19 Jan 2011
By 
P. Winthrop "museic" (morecambe, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This compilation brought back some good memories for me. I always liked Dire Straits without ever being a big fan. Its easy to listen how they have developed over the years from a blues/folk/rock style to a progressive style with more keyboard influences. Its apparent that the acoustic guitar is where Mark Knopfler is happiest as he eventually left to pursue his true love of folk and blues. I think what I like most about Straits is the way the tracks just flow smoothly with not too many surprises. The bass and drums are kept simple while MK talks/sings almost like he,s just making a matter of fact comment. The guitar parts are obviously the biggest factor in their success and its maybe because even these were tastefully understated in an age of screaming amps and diving tremolos. I still like them and this selection makes me think I,m a bigger fan than I first let on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Air guitar genius, 5 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are old enough to remember, or if your parents have told you how good they were, or your children have told you how good they were, then this Dire Striats Best Of, is a great album for you!

Its full superb tracks, all fantastic, which bring back the memories! Tracks such as Romeo & Juliet, Money for Nothing, Private Investigations and the still haunting Brothers in Arms, a track I think should be re-released as a benefit song for our heroes fighting in Afghanistan / Iraq.

A superb album, treat yourself and buy it now, you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything BUT Dire!!, 22 Dec 2008
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (MP3 Download)
I bought this album as I wanted a general overview of the work of Mark Knopfler and also of the Dire Straits, and this seemed a good place to start; it is good value.

I cannot comment on whether or not any of his best songs have been omitted; there are 14 tracks in total, so it's not that comphrensive; for that, I'd recommend the Sultans Of Swing album which is also available to purchase at the moment. For someone just wanting a general overview and not wanting to invest too much money, this is great.

It also has a brilliant cover design. I certainly enjoyed my introduction to Mark Knopfler's music and that of the Dire Straits. As a bonus, you get a track which is on a new album in collaboration with Emmylou Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars best of knopler, 24 Mar 2010
By 
P. D. French - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some outstanding tracks on this album, yet is let down by the last 3-4, nonetheless, a worthy addition to any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another missed opportunity, 21 May 2008
By 
jonjo (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Another compilation of Straits songs and yet again they get it wrong.Instead of a two-disc anthology concentrating on the bands career (the Eagles 2-disc set is a prime example of what could and should have been) we are given a compilation which mixes Straits material with solo stuff and collaborations with female singers.This is really a mess - lets hope the powers that be listen and get it right in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT dire music, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Best Of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (MP3 Download)
Great reminder of Dire Straites and some early Mark Knopfler. Excellent,every track worth listening to again & again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a mixture, 7 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler - Private Investigations (MP3 Download)
Quite happy with the majority of the Dire Straits music which most people would be familiar with, but can't take to the later stuff when MK went "solo"
A lot of the music just seems to go on too long, being filled out with final repetitions which just go on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Dire Straits compilation, 29 July 2014
A solid compilation of the best of Dire Straits and Mark Knopfler; all the essential tracks are here with the likes of 'Sultans of Swing', 'Romeo and Juliet', 'Private Investigations', 'Money For Nothing' and 'Brothers In Arms' all featured. Note:- There are 2 versions of this compilation album ; the first is a single disc package with 14 tracks (running time 81:30 minutes) and the second is an expanded double disc package with 22 tracks (running time 135:52 minutes) - I've got the shorter format which, for me, covers most of the bases pretty well and is certainly worth buying at a decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews