Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better!
Having religiously played the previous Maroon 5 album (Songs About Jane) for weeks and weeks on end, I was a little worried that I wouldn't enjoy this album as much as the other. However, I can honestly say that I personally think that this album is multiple times better than the initial one.

There is great contrast in the types of songs on the album, a range...
Published on 1 Jun. 2007 by Angel of Urs

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars not new not sealed
not new not sealed, not good condition. I am very very disappointing, so the only start can be rated is just one.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better!, 1 Jun. 2007
By 
Angel of Urs (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Having religiously played the previous Maroon 5 album (Songs About Jane) for weeks and weeks on end, I was a little worried that I wouldn't enjoy this album as much as the other. However, I can honestly say that I personally think that this album is multiple times better than the initial one.

There is great contrast in the types of songs on the album, a range of beats and tunes, some fast and slow but all equally as catchy and superb to listen to. It is quite utterly lyrical brilliance, Maroon 5 writes with much passion and typically it is based around the idea of different relationships.

Go out, buy it and listen yourself. . .even my dad likes it and he is very particular about his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marooned with this one!!!!, 14 Aug. 2007
Great debut album and was expecting this to be a further step for mankind!!!! But it wasnt quite all that.Read a review prior to this one and they will tell you that it is more mainstream and more poppy....Hogwash!!
There are some pretty obscure tracks that have a rocky feel to them and then others are downright weird!!
The vocals are still sublime and there are some stunning tracks, namely Wake up call and Wont go home without you.So overall still very good but not worth that elusive 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars boutique pop...but still...good!, 2 Sept. 2007
Maroon 5 is in a league of their own, especially because of the melodic voice of the lead singer, which gives all the songs that special tune. That tune is also the main problem: One hardly notices as the songs change. Still, the album has its pearls: Of course, there is the supercatchy Makes me wonder. But the real hits of this album, for me, are Wake up call - with a simple, powerful message, and similar catchiness as the above mentioned, then comes Better that we part and Wont go home without you - both incredibly melodic songs, which you will listen to in the years to come - cause they are soooooo suiting....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Grew On Me, 27 May 2007
By 
Ciaran (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
My first impressions of the album were at first a little muddled. "Makes Me Wonder" and "Wake Up Call" were definitely standout tracks, but I felt other songs were lacking a memorable melody and distinction.

When I played 'It wont be soon before long" for a third time, I suddenly started to notice songs I'd sworn weren't there in the first place. "Little of your time" had Maroon 5 written all over it; packed with a spicy punch, synthesized chorus and a tinge of techo electricity.

"Kiwi" is in my opinion another awesome track. The song starts off with an element of jazzed up, light rock and then kicks in with a huge explosion of fast paced Maroon 5 rock.

With every play the album seems to gather more and more stregnth, slowly unfolding its star quality. It is clear from the distinctive instruments to the tiny touches betwixt songs that this is an album produced to a high degree of quality.

Although some fans may feel a little bit of the magic from Maroon 5's first album (the cd that brought you 'This love', 'Harder to breathe' and 'Sunday morning') is missing in the followup, 'it won't be soon before long' is still an ice-cool, primo delight. Fans of alternative, indie, rock, techno or dance music will find this album an absolute treat. Anyone who liked 'Songs about Jane' should definitely give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, 17 Oct. 2011
By 
Chris g (Brighouse, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It Won't Be Soon Before Long (MP3 Download)
Bought this on the strength of the previous album (songs about Jane).

Every track will have you singing along!...Had this in the cd player in the car since it came out &
It's still there!
Not many albums you can say that about!

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different. But Perfect., 1 Jun. 2007
By 
Matt Christie UK "Christie" (Marske-By-Sea, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As a rule I would not purchase albums across the counter in shops or via the internet, however after enjoying Maroon 5's previous installment "Songs About Jane" I knew that "It Won't Be Soon Before Long" would not be a waste of my money- and it wasn't.

From start to finish Lavigne, Valentine and company deliver invigorating sounds reminicent of Prince and other 80's icons at a high tempo which leaves you tapping your feet and singing along to different lyrics and catchy bass lines whice will stick in your head for hours afterwards- thats if you even stop playing it.

It seems that the large gap between release of this album and their previous masterpiece was a good idea as not only has it left fans craving for more it has allowed the band to create another high quality product which would not have been delivered had the album being put together hastily after "Songs About Jane." It would take too long to credit each track with the plaudits that it deserves however songs such as "Goodnight Goodnight" and "Won't Go Home Without You" are definate high points whilst undoubtedly the band have made the right choice by using track two "Makes Me Wonder" as their first single.

Finally just as track 12 finishes and you want to relive the whole album again Maroon 5 have left us fans a great send off present in the form of two bonus tracks which rank amongst the best on the album: "Until You Over Me" and "Infatuation." This should satisfy us for another 5 years- if it takes that long for them to follow on from their success of this delightful record. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album i have EVER bought, 15 May 2008
This album is undoubtedly the best album i have, replayable whatever time in the day and whatever mood im in. Here is a run down of the songs:

1. If i never see your face again: Not my favourite song on the album but is very upbeat and definitely sets the main template for the rest of the songs in the album.

2. Makes me wonder: Slightly faster song with a sophisticated catchyness to it.

3. Little of your time: Another fast song which is upbeat and catchy, great tune

4. Wake up call: Great song about a guys wife/girlfriend cheating on him, brilliant tune and lyrics, really gets the character across well

5. Won't go home without you: .......wow........absolutely phenominal, exceptional lyrics accompanied by a brilliantly flowing melody...absolutely unforgettable song

6: Nothing lats forever: Touching song which is slower than the previous 5 but has great lyrics and really makes you feel like what the singer is feeling.

7: Can't Stop: racey tune which can get a little irritating but it's still a good standard compared to most other artists

8: Goodnight goodnight: Another slow song with a fabulous melody and brilliant lyrics, very touching song

9: Not Falling Apart: Fairly upbeat song which is easy to listen to, nothing special lyrics wise but melody is nice to listen to.

10. Kiwi: Very racey song with a catchy tune, not for those who like "innocent" songs

11. Better that we break: Very much like "Goodnight Goodnight" and "Won't go home without you"- slow and meaningful with brilliant lyrics

12: Back at your door: Similar to "Better that we Break" but not a great melody.

13: Until your over me: Brilliant up beat song with a feelgood air to it- a good sing along song

14: Infatuation: Another song much like "Kiwi", not particularly brilliant but a good song nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 20 May 2009
By 
If you liked the first album then u will definetly like this one. Great music from a great bad in my opinion. If you are a fan I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Well worth the wait, 22 July 2007
By 
Just as I ask the question 'What happened to Maroon 5?' they unleash their new acclaimed album ' It won't be soon before long'. You would have thought that it would have been near impossible to top their successful previous album but they have certainly managed to do it. There's not a single poor track on the album, each of them are catchy, stick in your head and very enjoyable. Adam Levine's sexy voice is still just as distinctive. There's a song for everyone as they range from their poppy upbeat first single "Makes me wonder" to the more melodic tunes like "Goodnight Goodnight" which is definitely one of my favourites. As you play the album for the first time you continuously think " Oh this is the best song" until you are struck by another amazing song which is just as catchy. Even if you did not enjoy their first album I would recommend giving this a listen, they have revamped their style and grown as artists. Also, a whole 14 tracks is hard to find on albums - they've obviously been working very hard over the last 3 years!
Superb work. Truly an excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Feelings..., 7 Jun. 2007
By 
M. A. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved Maroon 5's first album. It Won't Be Soon Before Long is quite similar but seems to embrace a more 'poppy' sound. As a rocky person this was a bit of a disappointment but after a few listens I now really like this album. There are some great tracks, all with a kind of easy-to-listen-to quality. The band claimed this album to be "stronger" and "sexier" but I think this is just because of some the language used. The 'poppiness' is simply a consequence of M5 moving into a more mainstream genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews