Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin...
I've seen a few reviews here complaining that this CD only includes Eminem's 'pop' output and doesn't showcase his (in their opinion) best work. I'd like to draw their attention to the subtitle- "The Hits". This is a CD of Eminem's hits. 'Pop' is short for popular. Popular things become hits. Do you see where I'm going with this? If the subtitle were "The Best Of" I would...
Published on 6 Jun. 2007 by Losingthewill2

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit meh..
Too much of the commercial pop stuff...no where near his top work. Fack was a good laugh and a good listen. Ass Like That was an ok party track but nothing stood out compared to some of his earlier work.

Bring back Marshall the artist and get rid of the lame pop songs...he needs to drop the dead weights(D12)and start producing something to get the media in a...
Published on 4 Dec. 2006 by D. Hicks


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin..., 6 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
I've seen a few reviews here complaining that this CD only includes Eminem's 'pop' output and doesn't showcase his (in their opinion) best work. I'd like to draw their attention to the subtitle- "The Hits". This is a CD of Eminem's hits. 'Pop' is short for popular. Popular things become hits. Do you see where I'm going with this? If the subtitle were "The Best Of" I would understand. But it isn't.

If you like Eminem's hits then you'll like this. I do, and I do.

If you have trouble understanding what "hits" means, then buy a dictionary. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curtain Call good, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
D. Harding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
First Eminem music bought (and I am over 60) but really enjoyed it - probably best listened to in the car rather than at home as fast-moving - some tracks quite moving when really examining the words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pre-2010 Eminem, 25 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
I confess that I decided to purchase Eminem Curtain Call-The Hits after spotting the cd at my Walmart job. I had previously enjoyed Eminem's 2010 Recovery cd back in 2011 and figured that this greatest hits by Eminem collection would be a perfect music complement. There are fifteen tracks on this edition featuring two different versions of Stan (one featuring Dido and the other that includes a live version with Elton John). Thereare a good assortment of Eminem's popular hits on Curtain Call such as My Name Is, The Way I Am, Without Me, Like Toy Soldiers, When I'm Gone etc. I admit that Lose Yourself is one of my favorites from this greatest hits collection based on the motivational message. This is also due to the positive/uplifting memories of hearing Lose Yourself after watching the Eight Mile movie (in Japan back around January 2003) with my husband (during our first official month together as boyfriend/girlfriend). Eminem Curtain Call-The Hits are a good collection for those who like any of Eminem's songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good cd., 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
This has got most of the classics on . We had a great time going back in time and listening to this cd .
Loads of great tracks we were really impressed. Speedy delivery .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Rob Van Winkle, but worth a listen, 17 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
Whenever I am unsure of an artist, I usually opt to buy their 'best of' offering to gauge whether it's worth investing in their back catalogue. Eminem is a competent rapper, often rhyming big words that educated people use. His lyrics frequently express anger towards his ex-wife and he very rarely mentions any use of firearms when compared to his contemporaries, that said he's no Vanilla Ice.

For those looking to explore white rap further I would suggest first buying Ice's seminal work 'To The Extreme' and then, upon realising Eminem is the only other white rapper, buy Curtain Call.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost all killer, but some filler, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
In many respects I wish that Eminem rapped in a language I didn't understand...

Eight years, more controversy than JFK, and here we are. End of the line. Released for the pre Christmas gasp, yet in the post Christmas cigarette break, "Curtain Call" is... pretty darn good. No doubt it pleases the fans and bookend's Eminem's prolific career with a cash cow, but, but... BUT...

Firstly, of the three new songs they're almost all absolute rubbish. "Fack" is the immature ramblings of a grown millionaire going "oooooh Girls!". I wouldn't even think drivel like this, let alone release it. But then again, it's all about The T & The A.

...."I wanna facking fack

No, not f**k

I said fack

F A C K F A C K

fack fack fack facking freak me"....

Voice of a generation, there, kids. All you need is love.

"Shake That" is a Nate Dogg song with Eminem guesting at the odd point. Basically filler. And there's no space for filler on a best of. None. Joe Strummer was right, again. There's no space for hesitation, procrastination, timewastin'. A record is a military assault : use the time well or not at all.

But what about the rest? Well, it's almost all killer. In many respects I wish that Eminem rapped in a language I didn't understand. Then I could marvel at his rhythmic and aural dexterity and sonic eloquence. Instead I listen to him making juvenile rubbish about Facking, and abusing his talents as a wordsmith. The words, when he's not held hostage by his libido are fantastic : devastating the hypocrisy of The First World with an accuracy rarely seen. With a righteous fury not unleashed sine the golden years of Public Enemy when they were a weapon of mass destruction.

And then he writes about killing his wife, chopping her up, and burying her at sea. Give 'em enough rope. But aside from this, Eminem is without doubt probably the best high profile rapper in the world right now. A furious and eloquent political commentator on the dying days of a corrupt empire. The way he uncurls words like a machine gun, with the jibber jabber pitter patter of an AK-47, the words sitting on top of rhythms that sound like illadvised hiphop remixes of Martika, Aerosmith, and Led Zeppelin but expose the other thing I despise about modern hiphoprnbrap - the inability to write anything original.

I know. But hear this out. The memorable bits from these songs, the bits we sing, are taken from well known rock standards like "Dream On", "Toy Soldiers", that one by Dido, or - in the case of a morally and artistically bankrupt vampire - the entire of a Police song.

All I need to be a rapper is the Dub mix of New Order's "Blue Monday", splice up the beats a little, and yell about "chicks on my d**k they loving my wit you know I cant stop git gotta admit at the bar or the car feel like a star my fingers on her I'm above par her number one private porno star this is a hit she's my number one we be having fun.."

I just wrote a number one. Worked for Slim Shady anyway. All I got to do now is be dead for a decade, and the charts'll be my pigtailed gin n juice beatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars overall pretty good, 1 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
as a relative newcomer to eminem's stuff i thought i'd buy this album because it had a fair few tracks on that i recognized. having listened through a couple of times i can't say it's the beat album i've ever bought, but that said i did enjoy most of the tracks on there. i thought that the cd had the kind of commercial "just released for the cash" feel overall which is a shame (but probably to be expected from a best of album) luckily on the whole eminem's music shines through this and you get a good bunch of tracks for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
i'm an incredibly massive fan of Marshall, i was so happy to get this album (once again). great condition. if you want to listen to some brilliant music then this is the album for you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try it, you might like it, 22 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
As a 50 something year old man I am probably not in the demographic but you've got to try stuff just to see what all the fuss was about.
I have to say I was impressed. The man is a flawed genius, although how much is Eminem and how much is Dr Dre is hard to say.
My advise is to listen to it all. Remember which tracks are overtly misogynistic - never listen to them again and enjoy the rest. There are some powerful songs in there but more surprisingly there are some very funny songs too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits???, 15 July 2006
By 
Jim (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
Curtain Call is ment to be a greatest hits for Eminem, however they seem to have left out most of the songs that show Eminem's true ability.

However, the two added tracks "Fack" and "When Im Gone" arent that bad. Fack is more of his childish side, but "When Im Gone" is probably some of the best work he has done, it is a great track. There is also "Stan" performed live with Elton John. With Elton singing the parts of Dido. The track is great, apart from the occasionaly crowd noise.

But overall, such tracks like "Kill You" arent on the single CD version, which is a shame. Neither is "Renegade" (a track performed with Jay Z on the second CD), and also on Jay Z's Blueprint album. The album is more of a collection of commercial tracks that he released as singles. In my opinion its not a bad album, but if your an eminem fan and prefer the more rap tracks than his more poppy commerical tracks, this album is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews