Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£13.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2001
This is a truly excellent retrospective of one of the biggest groups of the 80s. And rather than picking the lamer edited radio mixes you can now hear Frankie in the best way possible, extended with added bass. My only quibble with this collection (and the reason it loses a star) is that it omits the original 12" version of 'The Power of Love', complete with Ronald Reagan impersonation. I would have liked to replace my battered vinyl version with a pristine CD edition. Never mind this is brilliant anyway. Buy!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2002
A truly exceptional collection of 12 inch mixes from the ZTT vaults. Frankie fans have waited years for these tracks to see the light of day on CD. And for new Frankie fans there is no better place to start than with this - the first - and in my view the best remixes of all the classic Frankie songs.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2002
Well everyone's said it already. Fans have waited for years for these mixes on CD, They are the best. If you like frankie you must buy this collection. Real kicking stuff and not the awful new wicky wicky electro pop mixes of late. These mixes are the Kellogs of mixes 'the original and best'.
BUY IT !!! GO ON YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2002
what a great collection,the music brought back my glory glory days as a undergraduate at manchester poly. the mixes have not aged at all,both casual fans and hardcore will love this 2 cd set.an idea for trevor horn,paul morley et al might be to release digitally re-mastered versions of the original "disconet" megamixes which were released back in 1984 and 1985 to club and radio deejays only,i for one would love to finally own the 20 minute version of "relax",which i only got to hear the once on the stockport-based station KFM (r.i.p.) come on ztt,thump,wam wallop.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
Okay! If like me you were a 'Frankie' fan before and after they were cool, this is a great addition to the CD collection. But I add a 'BUT' here.
But it's not perfect. To me personally, if you want a good selection of Frankie Goes to Hollywood stuff you must have the great album Welcome to the Pleasuredome, and a CD (or)two of extended versions of their fantastic 12" singles.
This set is great, don't get me wrong, but does not in my opinion have the best versions of Relax or Two tribes on it. For that reason I knock it down a point. TO get those you'll need 'Reload-The whole 12"' CD as well as this one. But that is slightly flawed as as well.
Pros and Cons for this set:Pros are that it has some great versions of their well known songs and that it is 'broken up' (That is, you can listen on the player without getting sick of it as it doesn't have ten versions of the same song one after another-the order is better organised), the con is that I was disappointed a couple of my favourite versions of Relax and Two tribes weren't there, and you'll have to buy the other 'Reload' CD to get them.
There are issues with the 'Reload' CD as well though-The pro is that some great versions are on it, the con...and this is a bad couple of cons: Firstly, too many versions of the same song are in a row making it a bit annoying (But nowadays you can ipod it and change the order) and there are modern remixes on it which are in my opinion a bane on music (Cut most of the song except for a couple of lines and run a 'doof doof' through it is not music to my ears frankly).
There you go. Just my opinion!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2001
From start to finish this is a must for all Frankie fans. The set starts withe the original Relax (sex mix) over 16 min worth. Also thrown in a special guest apperance by Gary Moore on Warriors (attack), and for good measure Disneyland a very rare sesion track. All for the first time on C D.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
How long have the fans of Frankie been waiting for this collection? the answer is simple, since the very first Frankie 12" was released - way back in 1983. The first thing you will notice about "Twelve Inches" is the sheer quality, the quality of the sound, the quality of the music, the quality of Frankie, and hear it is most definatly Frankie and Frankie only!
This double CD collection starts and ends with two very different 12" versions of Relax, the bands biggest selling and still possibly most controversial single release by any band - ever!. Your taken on a yourney, thorough original and the very best 12" versions that were released by FGTH, all in re-mastered digital sound, even if your a massive fan of FGTH, you'll never quite have heard the band in such glory as is displayed here. Simply put this collection is THE BEST release from ZTT since the mid eighties, and must rate in my top ten albums of all time.
10/10 WOW!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
This long-awaited collection of the other of Liverpool's zeitgeist-catching bands is a real treat. The nudge-nudge wink-wink title is pure Frankie and the 12" versions of their best singles are awesome. FGTH were made for this format, their bombastic and adrenaline-fuelled nuggets of perfect danceable pop music have dated not a jot since they burst onto the scene in 1984. I agree with a previous reviewer that the original 12" version of 'The Power of Love', complete with Ronald Reagan impersonation is a strange and annoying omission. This aside it is a must-have CD for all fans of great disposable pop songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Loved this groups music back in the day so it was nice to hear it again with a different perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Well, to be fair, they were consecutive "Number One's" in what used to called the "Hit Parade" :-) .

Where are they now........?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)