Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where do we go from here?
This is an odd album by UFO's standards; it isn't bad, but it seems to lack the verve of their other albums between 1974 and 1981. 'Alpha Centauri' is also the title of a Tangerine Dream album and this opening instrumental is closer to what they do, though it's OK on its own terms. 'Mystery Train' meanwhile is a surprisingly fierce cover of the old Elvis song. UFO are in...
Published on 8 Nov 2007 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Above Average
I'll make this brief. With Michael Schenker on lead guitar, UFO were a premier league band, equal to any of that era. Without the mercurial German, they were merely a good band. But not outstanding. This album is proof of that. I agree with the other reviews that Mogg is in fine voice and the rhythm section remain strong but Chapman is the weak link. "Tonka" would improve...
Published on 22 Feb 2009 by S. J. Wightman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where do we go from here?, 8 Nov 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place to Run (Audio CD)
This is an odd album by UFO's standards; it isn't bad, but it seems to lack the verve of their other albums between 1974 and 1981. 'Alpha Centauri' is also the title of a Tangerine Dream album and this opening instrumental is closer to what they do, though it's OK on its own terms. 'Mystery Train' meanwhile is a surprisingly fierce cover of the old Elvis song. UFO are in their usual rock mode on most of the other tracks, but the quality of the material is variable. 'Money Money,' 'Youngblood' and 'Lettin' Go' are the other highlights in my opinion. 'No Place To Run' is worth buying if you've got all the other albums from the aforementioned period, but I'd leave it until you've got them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Above Average, 22 Feb 2009
By 
S. J. Wightman "guitar god" (Woking, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
I'll make this brief. With Michael Schenker on lead guitar, UFO were a premier league band, equal to any of that era. Without the mercurial German, they were merely a good band. But not outstanding. This album is proof of that. I agree with the other reviews that Mogg is in fine voice and the rhythm section remain strong but Chapman is the weak link. "Tonka" would improve on the next album, the excellent 'The Wild, The Willing and The Innocent', but here it's not enough. Not their worst album but nowhere near their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take It Don't Leave It!, 12 Mar 2007
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
Amazon in their wisdom decided to use my review of the original for this re-master copy. Seeing as UFO are my favourite band and I've just bought the latest re-masters, thought I'd better set the record straight. So I deleted the old review (sort yourselves out Amazon!) and stuck the new disc in the CD player in the car. Not much different, bit meatier although I prefer my Japanese import copy. It hasn't got enough in it to change my viewpoint. What it does do is make you realise what a really good rhythm section Way, Parker and Raymond really were/still are.
Reasons to buy another copy then. There are 4 extra tracks from 1980. The first is an alleged alternative version of "Gone in the Night" which doesn't sound much different to the recorded version. Then we have 3 live numbers recorded at the Marquee. "Lettin' Go" is a really good version but "Mystery Train" is pretty awful. Great vocals and rhythm again but Chapman just hasn't got the melodic refinement of his predecessor, especially noticeable on all the live material on which he is featured. Despite my Schenker bias, "No Place To Run" is one of my favourite UFO tunes and again this version lacks a quality structured lead break. As with all the MSG/UFO re-masters of late the cover notes are a real good read giving an insight into the distractions of Montserrat and the production with George Martin at the helm. Good to see and remember all the old news clips too.

In summary not their best but certainly not their worst. Quoting myself "It has a heavier more basic rock `n' roll sound with the engine room of Way, Parker and Raymond still superb. Phil Mogg is a great rock singer and one of the most under rated in the world. His song writing in conjunction with Pete Way makes up for the lack of Schenker but I can't help but always think how wonderful would it have been with Schenker's riffs on top". "Lettin'' Go", "No Place To Run", "Money Money" and "Anyday" are classic Mogg/Way/UFO tracks and "Mystery Train" is possibly one of the best cover versions of any song". Good eh? At least now everyone can own a reasonably priced copy of this 4 star plus album. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful hard rock jewel., 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
Classic hard rock album very rounded and complete a cohesive piece of granite like songs superb(yeah that over used word)guitar work through out better for being Schenker less in my opinion the focus here is on the songs all of them strong bar may be Young Blood the very song that follows the emense intro of Alpha Centuri this is a milestone album and needs to be in your collection (ive got 3 of them).I value an album by the emotion and adrenaline it kicks out and this opus really does deliver especially on This Fire Burns to Night ,Any Day, and Money Money buy ya self some rock history which IS as good today.Maximus Metalicus.Ps i still pose like the guys standing on the gas station on the front cover!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good UFO album, 13 Dec 2011
By 
I. H. Roblin (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
In the media, 'No place to run' was considered the end of an era when Schenker jumped on a motorbike to Spain and UFO went into decline. The doleful album cover, depicting the band posing outside a dis-used petrol station, epitomised the UK recession under Thatcher's monetarist experiment but Paul Chapman, Caaaaardiff boy and Schenker replacement, made a seamless transition. In fact, he could really play.

Highlights : 'Lettin' go', 'Gone in the night', 'This fire burns tonight', the title track.

Good 1980s classic rock where guitars aren't timid and the drummer and bassist are no shrinking violets either.

And, finally, an awesome vocalist and front-man of a genre that is sadly now obsolete.

A bit like Barcelona on a slightly off-day, but still superior to other outfits.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Oct 2011
By 
C. R. Ness "crazyrab" (Wemyss, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
What can i really say about this album?. First saw UFO in 1979 as a 15 year old and they impressed my young psyche big style. Next album was this one and again as a young dude it hit the spot, obviously being brought up on their earlier Obsession and live Strangers albums, they were hard to follow, but it did the buisness for me. I digress though, get back to 2011 ya old rocker!!. Well i can only tell you this, listening to it again after a few years, well i cannot express in words how good an overall album this is. If your into, hard rockin, quality structured, well written songs, go no further. This is one absolutely brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very underrated effort, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. J. Livitt "jegmeister" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
I love this album and have never understood why it got such a lukewarm response from fans.

"Lettin Go" is a storming opener, tracks like "Money Money", "Mystery Train", "No Place To Run" and "Gone In the Night" are all very high quality stuff.

And to those people who keep banging on about Schenker not being there - get over it! Look at this music on its own merits and it is every bit as good as some of the best they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 29 May 2014
By 
J. Williams (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
can't understand why it was discounted to 80p but cannot complain at the value. one of those bands where you had to hear a few tracks you liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The good old days!, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
This was my first ever UFO album, bought originally on vinyl.
This is a good remastered version with some great live bonus tracks.
The bonus tracks are better live recordings than those that were added as bonus tracks on the Wild Willing and the Innocent remaster.
All in all, very good and brings memories flooding back of the good old days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic rock, 1 Aug 2013
By 
R. M. Ellis (braintree, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Place To Run (2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
ufo were one of the premier English heavy rock bands of the 1970s 1nd 1980s and this was one of their best albums.All the tracks are classics with no fillers at all and Phil Moggs voice was at its best. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews