Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album, why did I wait so long ??, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
Having only recently bought all three Nasher albums I have only listened to Ripe so far, wow.

This has been on repeat for maybe a dozen times so far over the last week or so. Why I didnt buy this cd years ago still puzzles me.

A great album of well written songs, highlights for me include King for a day, Happy Go Lucky, yule b. alright, in fact the cd overall is one big highlight.

I was a pretty big FGTH fan years ago and to be honest wasn't sure if Ripe would be my cup of tea, how wrong could I have been. If you have recently finished reading his autobiography and are thinking of buying some Nasher solo music then hurry, you wont regret it one bit.

Also a nice touch was the fact that Brian autographed all three cds and enclosed a note, a small thing but enough to keep me happy. Buy direct from his babylonpink amazon store.

If his debut is this good I cant wait to listen to the two other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't I get this earlier, 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
I was meant to get this for Christmas but after reading Nasher's fantastic book Nasher Says Relax I couldn't wait and bought all of albums myself.

Ripe is the first solo recording he did and I guess lots of people would be surprised - there isn't all of the production and controversy of Frankie Goes to Hollywood here - this is a beautifully put together collection of songs that often sounds like a group of great musicians playing live in your living room.

The lyrics have real meaning! All very real and honest - but what about the music?

Great! Well crafted songs performed well - what more could you want. King for a day is the perfect opener and sets up for what is to come. Yule B.Alright and Breathe I get completely lost in, A Girl like you is the poppy one and Keep Ya Sweet are all of the best tracks for me - but I love them all on the album.

I love Frankie Goes To Hollywood so I hope you understand what I mean by this - Frankie was all about the energy, controversy was involved and the songs were heavily produced and used lots of electronics and samples - I was surprised to find an accomplished song writer and musician had grown out of that.

Have a listen and see what you think - I hope you like it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Pop Gem, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
Brian Nash has always been a great musician and composer, but in Frankie Goes To Hollywood, his contributions were often overshadowed and unappreciated by the public. Since beginning his own solo career, he has bloomed into a STUNNING songwriter and highly original guitarist. This album - his solo debut - is a truly great achievement. Brian shines like a supernova, previously hidden by an impenetrably cloudy sky. His 2 subsequent albums, "Le Grande Fromage" and "A Lo Minimo" are EVEN BETTER! Buy all 3 without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
my wife bought me nashers 3 cd's and the book. I have to say that I haven't taken the cd's out of my car since I got them totally brilliant music you would be crazy not to buy them all and all the cd's were signed by the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb debut..., 15 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Simon R. Kimpton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
Once upon a time a man called Trevor Horn shoved his hand up Frankie Goes To Hollywood and said "You will sound like this and not play like that"....once he'd had his fun , he withdrew his fist and left Frankie to wither away.
So the lads dis-banded , Holly had some success with his own efforts as did Paul Rutherford....Mr Brian Nash buisied himself away and has slowly flourished into a successful writer and producer with his own studio and record label, this being his first solo effort is a bobby dazzler.
Stand out tracks for me are "yule b.alright"....uplifting, "breathe" is a well written song that draws the listener in, I could go on but don't take my word for it, try for yourself....do not call this a pop album, anyone that does needs a check up.....This is Thinking Mans Pop.....well done Brian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth listening to, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
Fantastic album from Nasher, he may be known as the guitarist from FGTH but deserves the recognition in his own right as an artist. Love his solo work and would definitely recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album everyone should own, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
Was a massive Frankie Goes To Hollywood fan back in the mid 80s. Recently saw that Brian Nash "Nasher" had written a book and have to say it was a very interesting read. I dusted off my copy of Welcome to the Pleasuredome and started investigating Nasher's solo works.

Ripe is an excellent debut album from the Lad and the sound and songwriting throughout is very good. Not a filler in the whole set, my particular favourites are breathe, patron saint of crazy and king for the day is worth the price of the album on it's own. Dont expect Frankie, times have moved on and so has Mr Nash.

Ignore the expensive Amazon price, buy from Pink Babylon at £7.99. I believe Pink Babylon is Nasher himself company, if it isn't - Mr Babylon does a good job of forging Nash's autograph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nasher ripe, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
in a time when warhols proverbial 15 minutes seems to be on fast forward rarely does a set of songs restore your faith in god given genuine talent. however, RIPE the album from NASHER is just that.from the opening 'king for a day' the influences are clear and strong, when you're from a city with that much pop culture heretage how could they not be. but to say NASHER has fallen for the cliched beatlesesque route of certain pub rock derivitive bands would be lazy and importantly WRONG! yes there are motifs and harmonies that are from the beatles store cupboard, but NASHERS stunning songwriting (along with Grant Boult)they are used to great effect and sound joyously 'now'. the album carries a gamut of emotion from positive and uplifting, to deeply personal and sad.

'yule b alright' for me one of the stand out tracks, inspires despite the hard knock life of the protagonist 'you'll have to try a little harder' it encourages. likewise 'breathe' another brilliant stand out track introduced by a sinister sounding keyboard this song gives way to optimism, dragging you along to make the best you can 'its hard enough trying to breathe on your own'. 'the dark' gives a spooky, otherworldly view of dreams but again the positivity shines through when the daylight comes and everything is alright. 'patron saint of crazy' is like walking around a sun soaked town but with the rain cloud only over your head! whilst 'broke' is a sad, questioning, man on the edge song which brilliantly captures the mood of the protagoninst. the concluding 'listen to lime' gives the listener an idea of what it must be like to suffer from schizophrenia, with so much chaotic noise and other voices going on with the songs character crying out 'nobody knows what its like' full of paranoid keyboards and guitars it brilliant concludes a fantastic set......but dont forget to wait for the hidden track at the end!

overall its an album of great songs and great songwriting. if you dont know NASHERS history it doesnt matter. his former bands historic glories will not detract from this fine album. had he gone to the brit school or had a well publicised drug habit or maybe even a fight or two with his brother he wouldnt have been able to carry the awards and plaudits for RIPE. as it is NASHER will just have to be content in the knowledge that this is the album thunderbird gallagher's low flying pigeons wishes they had written!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nasher, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
A collection of songs written with a transparency that encapsulates you as the listener. Nasher, the guitarist from Frankie Goes To Hollywood is now showing us his skills as a solo artist. There is no fancy computer generated sounds, so don't expect a copy. To be honest even as a fan of Frankie I never really liked that, always listened for the instruments and like others did collect the different song versions, but listening for the different guitar pieces. With songs like King For Day, The Dark and Broke what you get is story that pulls you in, like reading a great book, you feel the emotion and are part of the journey. Fully recommend buying this and check out the others on Babylonpink store front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Nasher CD, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripe (Audio CD)
My favourite CD from Nasher. Happy go lucky is my permanent earworm at the moment. Nasher being one of the nicest men in music did a concert for a friend and sang almost all his songs acoustically to a very small crowd. We all loved the music (and the explanations behind all the songs). If you buy direct from Babylon Pink (Nasher's personal label) you also get signed copies. All CDs turned up next day as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripe
Ripe by Nasher (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews