Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the world needs now...
Is love, and this great album is full of it, great melodies, superb guitar playining, amazing ''retro'' voice...this album is SUPERB, much more than i could expect...is far better from the last OCS albums...buy it, and ignore stupid people who give only a star to this...if you love great british music, this album is for you, it will probably be the best album of 2009,...
Published on 15 Jan. 2009 by Franco Ruspa

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some good tunes
this is a decent album for Mr Craddock's first solo effort. There are 4 or 5 really good tunes, particularly the excellent The Apple and Beware of Falling Rocks. Steve's warm personality shows through on this album. Anybody expecting a regurgitation of OCS tunes will be disappointed. Perhaps he should contribute some of his songwriting abilities on future OCS...
Published on 27 Mar. 2009 by Mr. J. C. Lockwood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the world needs now..., 15 Jan. 2009
By 
Franco Ruspa "Frank" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Is love, and this great album is full of it, great melodies, superb guitar playining, amazing ''retro'' voice...this album is SUPERB, much more than i could expect...is far better from the last OCS albums...buy it, and ignore stupid people who give only a star to this...if you love great british music, this album is for you, it will probably be the best album of 2009, trust me....you'll be happy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This apple hasn't fallen far from the tree, but it's full of flavour!, 16 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Steve Cradock has of course been Paul Weller's right hand man for over 16 years now, and has been responsible for some of the most exciting guitar work on Weller's albums. He's been given more room on Ocean Colour Scene to spread his wings, and it's now great to have him finally releasing his own solo album.

This album isn't such a surprise in terms of the musical styles and palettes that Steve Cradock draws from - classic sixties influences, that are also deep in the veins of Weller's - Who, Kinks, Beatles. What is surprising though, is just how superb these songs are. No over-estimation to say they're as strong as the classics they were influenced by.

Another revelation is Cradock's voice - strong, passionate and expressive. He sounds at times like a mid sixties Roger Daltrey, at others like a Graham Nash in Hollies mode, also shades of Smokey Robinson influenced Beatles with Still Trying. There's also a lot of Paul Weller in here, almost like a parallel universe Jam / Weller album at times - it's hard of course to fully understand how integral Cradock's contribution is when he writes and records with Weller. Judging from this album, he's both absorbed plenty of Weller's genius, and has his own in no small measure.

The album kicks off with a cover - the wonderful Something Better, made famous by Marianne Faithful on the Stones Rock and Roll Circus in 1968 - you can check out her version on youtube. Cradock has wisely stuck with the same arrangement, even using the mournful oboe of the original. He adds a little more definition on the chord structures and contributes a fantastic vocal.

From here on in, all the tunes are written by Cradock himself.

The Apple is an opener proper, with a solid chorus that sounds a bit like The Kids are Alright, and a warm personal sentiment about his lovely children.

Many of the songs get in your head fairly quickly, after only one or two listens, but they then draw you in more and more deeply with each listen, until it dawns on you that this really is a classic album - one that you have to play from start to finish each time.

I adore every song on this album - it covers as many musical touchstones as World Party's classic Goodbye Jumbo, which also managed to invoke inspiration from Stones, Beatles, Kinks and Motown, but delivered something as good as the originals. But there are a couple of slower burning gems that have become my current favourites - Ask the Sound, which is related to Weller's Where'er Ye Go from 22 Dreams - symphonic and elemental, with simple lyrics delivered like tablets of stone. And secondly, Still Trying, which is like early Beatles on Smokey Robinson.

But there's not a duff track - Running Away has a soaring chorus that Simon & Garfunkel would have been happy with. The Clothes they Stood up In has a lovely jazzy early Style Council feel to it, a bit Wild Blue Yonder, and a delightful refrain of 'all the things you have lost you will find', echoing around your head like it's lost in a very large washing machine.

Needless to say the production and playing throughout is faultless.

This album deserves to reach a wide audience. I'd be happy if everyone who buys Paul Weller's albums and took 22 Dreams to Number 1, also invested in this gem. They'd be happy too, when they heard it, and so would Steve Cradock I'm sure!

It would have been nifty to have tied some of these tracks in with the soundtrack of Richard Curtis' film The Boat that Rocked. In addition to a great original sixties selection of songs, I noticed Duffy recorded a new song - several of these songs should have also been included. They would have fitted perfectly, and they would have brought this wonder to a bigger audience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some good tunes, 27 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
this is a decent album for Mr Craddock's first solo effort. There are 4 or 5 really good tunes, particularly the excellent The Apple and Beware of Falling Rocks. Steve's warm personality shows through on this album. Anybody expecting a regurgitation of OCS tunes will be disappointed. Perhaps he should contribute some of his songwriting abilities on future OCS albums....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 17 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Steve Cradock, the greatest guitar player of the last 20 years has written, played and produced a beautiful album. He's had these songs written in his head for some time but only got the opportunity to record them during a 6 day break from recording Weller's 22 Dreams. His songs are full of light and inspiration and allow him to demonstrate his musical ability. His voice is a mix of Mccartney and early Paul Weller, with melodic piano, guitar and drums over the top. Weller lends his voice to some of the songs and his wife also sings on 'the apple', which is a lovely record about his children. Considering Steve's ability to write a song and pull off some of the greatest guitar riffs and solos I have ever heard, I sincerely hope this album gets the recognition it deserves. The man is a musical genius and this record will sound even better when the sun comes out in the summer. A classic, uplifting album is what we need today and here it is. Now roll on the next Ocean Colour Scene album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !!!, 15 Jan. 2009
By 
A. Lee "Mandy moo" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Fantastic album, better then the last OCS and Weller album.

The apple is my favourite track. But many great melodies

Thanks Cradock will be playing in yrs to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kundalini Target, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
Laurence Dawkes (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Got my copy through the post today. Absolutely brilliant album! Not just for fans of OCS and Weller, the album stands on its own merits and should be enjoyed by all! I especially like "the apple" and "on and on", but i think to fully appreciate the album, it should be listened to as a whole. Hope it gets all the recognition it truly deserves!

peace and love x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 Feb. 2009
By 
I. Bird "ianbirdy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Just beautiful, melodic, uplifting and inspiring. You get to glimpse at a bloke who has been there done it thousands of times over, now approaching 40 he takes a step back and simply sings and writes about love, family and happiness. No sugar sweet songs about nothing, just a man, a guitar and a few other instruments at real peace with himself and his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll tell you everything that I know...., 23 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
Brilliant album from the Weller and OCS guitarist.

Some amazing songs on here, The Apple is one of the greatest songs i've heard for a long time.

chilled out, relaxed album with great lyrics and melodies - love it

he plays every instrument and produces it as well

a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful...., 21 Dec. 2009
By 
Chris Booth "Chris B" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
This is a beautifully crafted and restrained record from a superb guitar player...immediately accessible, lovely lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great record, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Kundalini Target (Audio CD)
The Kundalini Target by Steve Cradock is a fantastic album.
great tunes and great lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kundalini Target
The Kundalini Target by Steve Cradock (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews