Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Regency Romance
This is the follow-up to "The Perfect Rake" following the same family of five sisters, this time focusing on the twin called Hope. Although there are occasional references to the events in "The Perfect Rake" it isn't necessary to have read that book to understand this one - however the details of the difficulties that the five girls (Prudence, Charity, Hope, Faith and...
Published on 30 Jan 2007 by Helen Hancox

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
I have to say that this wasn't my favourite annie gracie book. I had already read The Perfect Rake and it would be one of my favourite books that I would read over again and again but this time I found this book booring a bit at times and it didn't have the balance of laughter and dealing with difficulties that the perfect rake had. I much preferred the way the...
Published on 3 April 2007 by romance fanatic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Regency Romance, 30 Jan 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is the follow-up to "The Perfect Rake" following the same family of five sisters, this time focusing on the twin called Hope. Although there are occasional references to the events in "The Perfect Rake" it isn't necessary to have read that book to understand this one - however the details of the difficulties that the five girls (Prudence, Charity, Hope, Faith and Grace) experienced growing up with their evil grandfather are spelled out in that book and only alluded to in this.

Hope is at the start of her second season. Her two elder sisters Prudence and Charity are happily married and she and her twin Faith are meeting various men at balls and parties etc, but none of them quite hit the mark. Then she catches sight of someone who rather reminds her of her evil grandfather - a strong and muscular man. Despite this initial negative connotation she finds herself interested in Reyne. He asks to waltz with her and although not a comfortable dance, and in no way living up to her ideal of the perfect waltz, she is intrigued by him.

Sebastian is courting Lady Elinore, a prudish woman who has been on the shelf for years and is several years older than him. He's not courting Lady Elinore for his own means but because he needs a mother for his younger sisters who had been taken away from him when they were young and have only just been found after over a decade of being missing. Sebastian doesn't know in detail what happened to the girls in this time but Cassie wears a knife strapped to her leg and Dorie doesn't speak at all. Sebastian needs someone who can help look after the girls as governesses are being hopeless. He knows that Lady Elinore is involved in a charity school for orphans and thinks she's just the ticket.

Unfortunately for him he sees Hope Merrivale at a ball and from that moment he's smitten. Not enough to deflect him from his strange courtship of Lady Elinore, but he is unable to keep away entirely from Hope and keeps spending time with her. He thinks she's a young woman who has no concept of the difficulties his sisters have had and therefore can't help them - he doesn't know the Merrivale sisters' difficult past.

There aren't any great surprises in this book. Hope has to learn to trust a man again, Sebastian has to understand the true needs of his sisters, Lady Elinore has to throw off the shackles of her unconventional and life-crushing upbringing and Sebastian's friend Giles has to learn to look beyond a woman's outward appearance to discover a genuine women beneath. The twin love stories in this book are gently written and the characters are engaging. My only reservations are that Sebastian seems remarkably mercenary about Lady Elinore and that he also seems very blinkered about what would be good for his sisters; equally, Hope doesn't seem to see anything wrong with riding roughshod over someone else's strongly-held beliefs about teaching the children in her care. Their attraction seems largely physical for the first half of the book, although once they get to know each other you can understand more why they suit.

This is an enjoyable book and a definite step up from a lot of the mass-market paperback regencies. It's not aiming to be a historically accurate work like Georgette Heyer but it's an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real find!, 9 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Anne Gracie is a new author to me and a real find! Her books are definately keepers!
The perfect Waltz is so well written you very quickly bond with the characters and want to know what happens next.The lead male character is Sebastian Reyne, a secretive, complex man with a past. He is an interesting character, he cares deeply for his sisters and is willing to make personal sacrifices to ensure their happiness. He falls passionately in love with Hope, but rejects her and his own chance for happiness, because of his sisters. Hope is attracted by Sebastian and chance events keep throwing them together.She does not consider him to be her dream man however, as he evokes too many unhappy memories of another time.
The story has all the elements of a good Regency romance, but it is the depth of the writing and the way that Gracie as a writer involves us and makes us care about her characters, that is the strength of the book. I read this book first ,although it is the second in the series and it didn`t spoil my enjoyment.However, I do recommend that you read the books in sequence, as her first book, The Perfect Rake, ia equally as good, and many of the characters are in both books. I can`t wait to find out what happens to Faith in the next story, I hope it will be published soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 17 July 2007
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
This was my second Anne Gracie book and I bought the whole of the "Perfect" series.
I really enjoyed this book and getting to know more of the character of Hope.
I found even though she is described as absolutely gorgeous etc she was really down to earth and very likable. As well was Sebastian was a wonderful strong alpha-male who loved his sisters dearly and wants to do whats best for them, in the process not having the women he loves.
If you like this author and have read The Perfect Rake I would definately buy this and read the whole series of the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hoping it's as good as the first, 5 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am only five chapters in but so fare so good, and if it's anything like (the Perfect Rake) then it has to be brilliant, definitely for all the romantics out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Immensely enjoyable, 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Perfect Waltz (Merridew Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A well written book with both humorous and heart breaking moments. I loved it almost as much as first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love books from Anne Gracie - they are all great. Sometimes I just want to read them again and are still interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have bought all of her books since reading this series, have also passed them onto friends to read, easy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Waltz (Merridew Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in the Merridew series and my second Anne Gracie novel. I realize she is rapidly becong one of my favorite historical romance authors - alongside Lisa Kleypas. The first book was amazing but this one was better. All characters are well rounded, the plot is perfectly paced, and there is more to the story than just a handsome man and a beautiful woman. It's about family, fears, and the fact that not all is what it seems at first glance. We get to know the Merridew family better, and they are so utterly like able, not too perfect but warm, deep and supporting. And still the book had heaps and heaps of romance and pulling of heart strings to satisfy an historical romance fan. If you like Lisa Kleypas you won't be disappointed with the Merridew series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindling old favourites, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Perfect Waltz (Merridew Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have all the Merridew Sisters books in paper, and revisit them often. Storing them on kindle now for when I want a fun and feelgood read with characters I'd love to be friends with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 3 April 2007
I have to say that this wasn't my favourite annie gracie book. I had already read The Perfect Rake and it would be one of my favourite books that I would read over again and again but this time I found this book booring a bit at times and it didn't have the balance of laughter and dealing with difficulties that the perfect rake had. I much preferred the way the characters in Prudence's story were given and felt that maybe this story wasn't as in depth and not full of vibrancy that the Perfect Rake had. Still this is a very readable book but would recommend the Prudence's story as the one to start you off loving Annie Gracie books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews