Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beethoven and Rostropovich
At a very reasonable price, this is an excellent CD set; there are few cellists in the same class as Rostropovich and he and Richter make an excellent duo. To have all of Beethoven's music on two CDs played by two musicians of this class makes a highly recommended addition to any CD collection.
Published on 27 Aug. 2011 by RR Waller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music marred by poor recording.
No complaints about the musicians but there is significant hiss on this recording and it gets in the way. Very surprising.
Published 6 months ago by Rossini


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beethoven and Rostropovich, 27 Aug. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At a very reasonable price, this is an excellent CD set; there are few cellists in the same class as Rostropovich and he and Richter make an excellent duo. To have all of Beethoven's music on two CDs played by two musicians of this class makes a highly recommended addition to any CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music marred by poor recording., 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No complaints about the musicians but there is significant hiss on this recording and it gets in the way. Very surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for cello, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
P. A. Clements "PAC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cello hasn't been a major solo instrument, and the repertoire is not as large as for the violin, for instance. I only took note of cello music after having watched the Yo Yo Ma program in the '90s about his interpretation of the Bach cello suites. Also, for me, the cello has a rather mournful, sad tone to it, so it is certainly a matter of an acquired taste. Even in light or playful music, it still sounds as if it's not really joining the party.
But, having got past that I really appreciate the playing of the masters of this instrument, and my latest education is the playing of Rostropovich. It's difficult to say which I prefer, the music of Beethoven or the player of the cello; Rostropovich is that good. The sound reproduction of this 2CD compilation is not the best, but then it's not surprising when the recordings were made in '63 and '67. The sound just lacks the full-frontal presence of modern recordings, but at least it's clean sounding.
So, should you buy this version? Yes, unless you know of a definitive recording. It's excellent value for money and excellent music. As a bonus you can also hear the original theme used in Black Adder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some really really good pieces! I love them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was very good value for money. It was excellent qualtiy of sound and met all my expectations. Gives me lots of pleasure every time I listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 18 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best cello & piano CD I own.
Richter and Rostropovich are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Complete Music for Cello and Piano (2 CDs)
Beethoven: Complete Music for Cello and Piano (2 CDs) by Jean Françaix and Maurice Gendron and Mstislav Rostropovich and Sviatoslav Richter
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews