Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2011
This CD is greater than the sum of it's parts. I could review each piece,, but suffice to say, I shall concentrate on three.

Albinoni's Adagio in G minor for Strings and Organ is the finest piece of music ever composed. Often I hear it played on the radio, usually early morning and I always know whether or not it is Von Karajan's version. All the other do not compare . The arrangement by Remo Giazotto is perfection, just as Tomaso Albinoni would have ordained. David Bell on the organ is at his best, no other organist can match his rendition of the Adagio. Leon Spierer with his violin is non pareil and von Karajan conducting is peerless.

We are in for a further treat, because David Bell plays the Organ in Bach's orchestral suite no 3 in D major [BWV 1068]. His timing is faultless and brings forth the Eternal beauty of this piece.

When you listen to Albinoni and Bach, you witness the awesome chemistry between Bell and von Karajan. Both draw strength from the other. Again that same bond exists between the latter and Leon Spierer, yes, they have worked together for many years.

Pachelbel's Canon and Gigue in D major brings forth Frank Maus on Cembalo. Again, all I can say is that this piece is breathtakingly perfection.
Yes, all of the three other pieces are exemplary: [ Vivaldi /Concerto for Flute, Strings and Harpsichord; Gluck / Dance of the Blessed Spirits and Mozart / Serenata notturna in D major K.239 ]. This is an absolutely glorious disk. It is so enthralling, that it is a privilege to listen to. Where classical music is concerned, this recording is the most sumptuous and the ultimate treat.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
My husband bought this for me as a wonderful Christmas present. I am in the process of replacing vinyl with CD's and I didn't have the Gluck or Pachelbel and on this compilation, the pieces compliment the Albinoni beautifully. I particularly enjoyed the clarity of the Dance of the Blessed Spirits from Orpheus and Eurydice and of course, the Pachelbel Canon was glorious. Von Karajan, in his prime, was in a particularly thoughtful, mellow mood while conducting these pieces, recorded in 1984. This came across particularly strongly in the Mozart. The quality of the Berlin Philharmonic and clarity of the recording by Deutsche Grammophon are superb. This will become a frequently played favourite.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Fantastic recording quality from Deutsche Gramafon, as always. Brilliant, impecable musical performances throughout, full of emotion. And some of the most beatiful music of the era, all on one disc.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
This is beautifully played and recorded - should be part of any music collection. The famous Canon in D from Pachabel may be famous but not over played or over familar, and still stirs the soul in a deeply special way. Perfect for dreamy winter afternoons. Perfect for anything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Excellent selection, good atmosphere music. The outside of the cathedral has never been so Goth free as when this bad boy was blaring out of my oversized sub-woofers. Top music for top people - a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
just lay back and let the music flow over you. What a great package of Albinoni, Vivaldi, Bach, Pachelbel, Gluck and Mozart. You may feel this is just dipping into classical music, but that may be helpful for people new to classical music and those of us who do want instant gratification at times. I think this is an album to be given as a present to family and friends. I ordered it because I was not familiar with Pachelbel's Canon..I love it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
This is an old recording, maybe 30 years' old, but it is Deutsche Gramophon, so still excellent quality. A good selection of Classical "Greatest Hits", either to listen to in concentration or have as background to relax you during other stressed activities. Good value at twice the price!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Just beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Are you like everyone else?

Do you enjoy buying cheap CDs because you vaguely remember the first track from some advert or other? Do you kinda suspect that the title track was that Old Spice advert with the man on a surfboard and the woman with horses, or something? Or was is from that movie with whatshisface in, You know, the film we had to watch last Christmas with Uncle Ned, when he was upset because his whippet had just died, and Aunty Betty had spent a small fortune the week before buying it a diamanté collar with the letter 'G' for Gerald on it?

And are you sure that track four is that slow piece they played at your cousin Alan's wedding... no hang on, it was at the crematorium when we gave Bill his last send off. Well the doctors warned him, but would he listen? Still, 16 wasn't she? SO agile and gymnastic - no wonder they found him smiling.

Anyway, if any the above rings a bell, this is almost certainly the album for you. Probably. Or was it that other composite album, you know, the one with the British Airways music and that tune they play before the Champion's League games start...
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£2.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)