Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect performance of this sublime drama.
Alongside the St Matthew Passion,Mass in B Minor and Christmas Oratorio, Sir John Eliot Gardiner and forces bring to us a performance that is both dramatic and sublime in a work of such profundity. Anthony Rolfe-Johnson is as near perfect an Evangelist as one could hope for with his innate sense of phrasing and articulation. At no time does the drama flag untill those...
Published on 10 Dec 2000

versus
5 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pale Brother Loves You
The HIP Ministry of Love: it was the last place I wanted to be. I was under arrest for thoughtcrime. Truncheons in hand, Emma Kirkby and Michael Chance accompanied me from the gate. The last thing I saw before being led inside were the giant slogans that had been chiselled into its superstructure:

VELOCITY IS REVERENCE

ANAEMIA IS EXPRESSIVENESS...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by Bernard Michael O'Hanlon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect performance of this sublime drama., 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
Alongside the St Matthew Passion,Mass in B Minor and Christmas Oratorio, Sir John Eliot Gardiner and forces bring to us a performance that is both dramatic and sublime in a work of such profundity. Anthony Rolfe-Johnson is as near perfect an Evangelist as one could hope for with his innate sense of phrasing and articulation. At no time does the drama flag untill those beautiful moments of reflection in the Ariosos and Arias, sung with such purity of tone by all. I would especially mention Argenta's distinct timbre and Mullers sublime rendition of'Erwage, wie sein....'. The English baroque soloists play with there usual flare and prescision giving us the now familiar grainy but warm glow of period instrument sound.No two arias are scored for the same instrumentation giving this band the opportunity to show their skill in the obliggato use of Oboe da caccia,lute and viola da gamba to mention but a few and the clean confident ensemble input of the strings carefully supporting all.Listen for the skilfull dancing of the flute above the chorus in its many outbursts throughout the drama. And at the very core of this performance is the Monteverdi Choir,who sing with such power and style. At no time do we think the music too much for this team as they negotiate the rapid outbursts of the crowd calling for Christ to be crucified or to cast lots for His cloak rather than divide it. Such singing confirms this choir to be amongst the very finest in the world today. All of which is held together in masterly fashion under the sharp direction of Sir John and brought to a thrilling final chorale with each verse building in intensity and volume. A true 'Desert Island' performance, Bravo!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardiner on Bach St John, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
Gardiner takes the St John's Passion into good hands here. It is certainly a deeply moving rendition of this great work. The whole composition is beautifully performed and recorded. The use of women in the choir and arias works well and the singing is excellent.
The period sound of instruments and vocals is well balanced. The orchestra and choir are of appropriate size being neither too big or small in sound.
Gardiner's choice of less vibrato is proved out here with a wonderful sound. There is great emotion and clarity in the performance.
The whole composition is brilliant. It is a dramatic sacred oratorio and representation of the Passion as told in the Gospel of John. It is also a beautiful and magnificent piece of art. It is a musical painting on a large scale.
John Elliot Gardiner and The Monteverdi Choir with the English Baroque Soloists have done fantastic justice to this great composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Per Arne Rudberg "P-A Rudberg" (Vallentuna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
I think that Gardiner is one of the most interesting conductors today. He is always reliable, and often he creates exceptional recordings.
This is one of the exceptional ones. Gardiner makes the music flow in a completely natural stream. You can hear every layer and every idea is fully integrated into the whole.
The orchestra (English Baroque Soloists) is reaching highest possible level.
The singers are the best - especially Rolfe-Johnson and Chance. Michael Chance is singing "Es ist vollbracht" in a way that makes time stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I N R I, 8 Feb 2009
By 
DAVID BRYSON (Glossop Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
The St John Passion of Bach seems always to have been slightly in the shadow of the St Matthew. This is not to be wondered at, I suppose, since nearly everything in the whole of music is somewhat overshadowed by that mighty composition. Nevertheless to my own way of thinking the relative position of the St John is not an unfair one, because full though it is of marvellous music its text is less suited to Bach's particular genius. The plainchant narrative of the Passion secundum Joannem is the one I knew as a boy, and if the priest had a good voice it was a marvellous musical experience in its own right. Particularly in its later stages, it consists mainly of narration by the Evangelist punctuated by `turbae' or crowd choruses, plus of course the last words of the Saviour Himself. There is not a lot of scope for reflective digressions, and that is fine in a Catholic Good Friday service, but it is precisely those pietistic interludes that make the St Matthew Passion what it amounts to. Everything Bach does is of the highest quality obviously, but after his thorough, methodical and indeed effective turbae one just has to think of `He trusted in God' from the Messiah to appreciate the difference between him and a contemporary with a genuine innate sense of drama.

As in the cantatas also, the truly wonderful things here are the arias and ariosos, together with those choruses that are not simply congregational chorales. They get rarer as the work proceeds, but it would be quite arguable to maintain that `Es ist vollbracht' `Zerfliesse' and the great `Ruht wohl' chorus just before the concluding chorale are the very finest things in the entire work. They are to Bach's invariable scheme, a scheme that nevertheless seems infinite in its variety, with an instrumental obbligato and indeed a vocal line that itself often seems instrumentally inspired. The difficult vocal lines call for singing of the highest quality, and indeed the instrumental parts themselves can often be demanding. The music may be difficult, but the criteria for judging a performance are very simple - do these performers understand the musical idiom, are they sensitive to the utter greatness of what they are performing, and are they up to it all technically?

This account dates from 1986. It is of the `authentic' school as regards the instruments used, the vocal style and a general tendency towards brisk tempi. By 1986 the authentic movement had relaxed a bit and speed records were thankfully no longer in vogue. `Es ist vollbracht' for one is downright slow here, to its entire benefit. As a rule we could rely on the authentic performers to be technically proficient even if occasionally they seemed a touch mechanical, but in general where Gardiner is handling the overall direction I have usually found that we can rely on him in every respect. That is what I find here. The great opening chorus is full of majesty and solemnity, and the chorus throughout bring out what drama there is to bring out in the turbae. The vocal soloists are admirable in my opinion. The women don't have a whole lot to do, but what they have they do well, and I commend in particular the ethereal account of `Zerfliesse' from Nancy Argenta. Whenever the cast includes a male alto I am slightly apprehensive, but this time the countertenor is Michael Chance, whose work I have come to admire on account of the strength of his tone, and all is well here. The other male vocal soloists strike me as admirable too. In particular the two basses -- the Christus of Stephen Varcoe and the Pilate of Cornelius Hauptmann (who also takes the non-character bass solos) are extremely mellifluous and easy on the ear. Instrumentally I have no complaints or reservations either, and it is satisfying to see the instrumental performers named in the liner, in accordance with the admirable custom in Archiv sets.

The recording seems to have been digital from the start, and while I would not call it spectacular I don't require it to be spectacular either. It suits me fine as I find it. The liner booklet is a very good one, with an informative and helpful essay in parted tongues as it were of German English French and Italian, and of course the full sung text. By now I am fully inured with the `authentic' approach, I am gradually collecting Gardiner's great `cantata pilgrimage' from the year 2000, and so to that extent I am on home ground with this performance. At the time of posting this notice I am not yet minded to go back to my revered Munchinger account of the St Matthew Passion, which is in a `semi-authentic' mode, considered quite progressive in its time. How my own taste may have developed since I gave it its last hearing I shall not know until I do, but I hope my tastes have remained catholic enough to enjoy Lutheran music differently approached at different stages of our musical culture. One way or another, I think my collection will benefit from including both schools, and perhaps yours will also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly moving drama, 29 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
John Eliot Gardiner's recording of the St John Passion is profoundly moving in its drama and intensity. The Evangelist is Anthony Rolfe Johnson, and this role has surely never been bettered in sensitivity, expression and beauty. The other soloists also sing with agility and conviction. The sublime opening chorus sets the scene. From then on, the listener is drawn into the passion and sorrows of the Easter story, culiminating in the final chorale where the believer is lovingly invited, to gently repose until Judgement Day and awake with joy at the resurrection. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and moving, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Ac Sa Vickers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
Full of life and force and yet profoundly moving. Superb musicians under a master conductor. And then Bach. Highest quality recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all round, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
You will certainly not go wrong with this version of the passion. The choir and the playing our first rate as our other soloists. Gardiner's intensely dramatic although he does not have quite the same imagination as Franz Bruggen. But first rate in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a human-scaled Passion, beautifully realized, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
I like to think that this is how this Passion might have sounded at its earliest performance: strings "scrawny" by our standards, a small chorus, singing that doesn't sound virtuostic (remembering that Bach's soloists were likely choristers). But Gardiner creates an atmosphere that balances drama and devotion perfectly, and much credit must go to the Chorus and to the Evangelist, Anthony Rolfe Johnston. Rolfe Johnson is a highly accomplished singer, but here (surely at Gardiner's request) he eschews virtuosity and sounds light-voiced and human, and the same is true of the other soloists -- they don't fill out their lines with "big" sound: it's all human-scaled and the more moving for that. Cornelius Hauptmann is an anguished and torn Pilate -- a very moving assumption -- Varcoe a direct and unfussy Jesus. The Chorus is splendid -- just listen to the difference in "Affekt" between the final chorale in Part 1 and the first in Part 2 -- one follows directly on the other, so you can't avoid the comparison. The dramatic aptness of both is distinctive and without the chorus sounding highly virtuostic at either time. Throughout the Chorales are most beautifully done, and the choral interjections in the recitative passages -- "Crucify Him!"etc. -- are riveting. The sound is very good -- the venue was All Saints Church, Tooting -- and the combination of clarity (you can easily distinguish the choral lines), airiness, and balance (voices in relation to orchestra), with no loss of a sense of human-scaled reverence is winning. Just a great recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent recording, 3 Nov 2014
By 
D. G. Marshall (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
I'm love this recording, it is very good. I particularly like the singing in the Chorals - excellent, makes me want to join in even though it is in German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec 2014
By 
John A. Garrett Esq (Gosport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: St John Passion (Audio CD)
JEGs' reputation of great Bach recordings continue and this is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach, J.S.: St. John Passion
Bach, J.S.: St. John Passion by English Baroque Soloists and John Eliot Gardiner and The Monteverdi Choir
Buy MP3 Album£11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews