Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost gem...
Amazing… with thousands of mediocre CD’s out there this excellent album remains deleted. Some inspired record company executive needs to rectify this sorry situation. Why?... well, it contains some of Keef Hartley's, Henry Lowther's & Chris Mercer's best post John Mayall work and in “Sinnin’ For You”, “Just To Cry” and the superb...
Published on 5 Jan 2004 by nicjaytee

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - This is a reissue not original!
If you want a new/reissue copy of this excellent vinyl LP then by all means buy from this seller. The Amazon description and photographs cons you into thinking you are buying an original 40yr old LP. As I discovered, you will not get the original 1969 version, but a reissue.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lost gem..., 5 Jan 2004
This review is from: Halfbreed (Audio CD)
Amazing… with thousands of mediocre CD’s out there this excellent album remains deleted. Some inspired record company executive needs to rectify this sorry situation. Why?... well, it contains some of Keef Hartley's, Henry Lowther's & Chris Mercer's best post John Mayall work and in “Sinnin’ For You”, “Just To Cry” and the superb jazz/blues jam "Hearts And Flowers/Confusion Theme/The Halfbreed" it has some of the very finest tracks to come out of the late 60’s UK R&B scene. After 30 odd years it still grabs space on my hi-fi and, I suspect, many others. A worthy contender for much more interest…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halfbreed, Keef Hartley Band. 2008 Esoteric release - Great album of blues/jazz/rock, unfairly largely forgotten these days, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfbreed ~ Remastered (Audio CD)
For years I've been a fan of late 60s/early 70s British prog rock in the form of Colosseum and Jethro Tull. I've always loved the long jazzy workouts with complex rhythms and inventive melodies. A little while ago a friend asked `what do you think of Keef Hartley's stuff then?', and I had to admit I'd never heard of him. I started off with the band's 4th album, Overdog, and was incredibly impessed. As a result I've started to collect all of the Keef Hartley Band's records, starting with this little gem.

This is exactly the kind of music I enjoy. It's rocky, bluesy, jazzy and darned good. Extended cuts allow for a degree of experimentation, but nothing too navel gazing as some bands of the era made the mistake of doing. Generally it's nice and tight and never outstays it's welcome. The musicians are all talented, mesh together well and seem to be having a great time. You feel that they really enjoyed making the record, and as a result you enjoy listening to it all the more.

The music is at times a little reminiscent of Cream crossed with early Blodwyn Pig. Why this stuff is not better known today is a mystery to me, as it is great music that will appeal to a wide range of tastes.

This is another excellent release from Esoteric. The sound has been nicely remastered and restored, and sounds sharp and clean on my stereo. There is a booklet with some interesting notes from Hartley about the formation of the band and the recording of this, their first album. There are also a few photographs. Included on the disc is a single of the time, `Leave it `till the Morning', which adds to the album. All in all a great release. I've had a few discs form Esoteric now, and am consistently impressed with the high standards of their releases. One note - Amazon page currently lists 9 tracks, my copy only has 8, there is no repeat of `Just To Cry' as listed. I'm sure this is just a simple error on the part of whoever was typing it onto the website.

All in all a 5 star release of 5 star music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now available as part of Universal's CD archive series., 29 April 2005
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfbreed (Audio CD)
This CD is now available as a professionally produced CD-R in Universal's CD archive series. You get the music, but not the detailed liner notes that came with the original issue. It's a bit pricey for what it is - but at least it is available once more! There is also some data on the CD, mainly artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Disc, 4 Jun 2009
By 
A. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halfbreed ~ Remastered (Audio CD)
Bought the original on vinyl in 1969, obviously several years before I could talk! This album blew me away....up until this time no 'popular' music seemed to transcend the three minute epic! I bought it for the cover and the fact it only had 7 tracks! Years later I found it on a DERAM CD available by mail order... I kissed the postman when it arrived(or at least I would have done had I been in!). I would swap neither the vinyl or the CD for a gold pig. This is simply an awesome recording that deserves to be heard in any era - a constant companion for 40 years. Born to Die? Music like this is worth living for (without Too Much Thinking!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things we used to do, 30 Aug 2004
By 
F. M. Muse "headspace traveller" (Leicester, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halfbreed (Audio CD)
I own this album on vinyl and find it incomprehensible that it remains unavailable on CD. At 60 I've heard pretty much everything of significance in the blues genre, yet this album remains timeless and stands out head and shoulders above most of the stuff recorded around this time and on down to the present, across the blues tradition.
Every one of the musicians on this album stands out, yet there is no grandstanding, just a bunch of muso's playing as a band. The sound is tight, together, big, fat and warm and oozes the kind of juice that defines the blues.There isn't a duff track among the the seven on the LP.

Eric Clapton? Peter Green? Spit James was playing every bit as good as these guys, and then some, yet he seems to have walked off into the sunset as it were. Everywhere I've been around the world, when the talk turns to blues, the name of this album comes up again and again and people ask: who was this guy and where is he?
This album is a salutary reminder of all that the blues can be and how good we used to be in the UK at making music and setting the pace, yet with very few exceptions I can't think of another album which comes even close to "Halfbreed".
With only a modest marketing budget and todays cost-cutting technology this album could become even more of a cult classic than it is at present. Any takers out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Blues/Rock, 10 Oct 2009
By 
John Nicholls (Abingdon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halfbreed ~ Remastered (Audio CD)
Keef Hartley's masterstroke was to add the richly talented Miller Anderson to the excellent band lineup, and this album was the stunning result. Anderson's powerful vocals are the icing on the cake of excellent: songs, arrangements, production, and musicianship. His impressive guitar skills were not to be on display until the brilliant follow-up Battle of NW6 - Spit James (aka Ian Cruikshank) is the 6 string maestro here.
I'm another old-timer who bought this when it was first released. It dazzled me then, and sounds just as good now. It was released at a time when it was almost impossible to keep up with the onslaught of wonderful music coming from the UK, Ireland, and North America (and no doubt other parts of the world). But this brilliant band could hold their own in any company.
If you haven't heard this, and you like a blues edge to your rock - you're in for a treat with this one, it's something special.
R.I.P Keef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halfbreed, 8 July 2008
By 
John E. Radway (North London. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halfbreed (Audio CD)
Great first album from the Keef Hartley Band.I brought the album 1st time around when it first came out in 1969. Great mix of Blues,Jazz & rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a contender for the greatest blues-rock album ever, 24 Mar 2007
This review is from: Halfbreed (Audio CD)
amount of tracks:8
excellent:4
v,good:2
good:0
fair:2
poor:0

i was first introduced to keef hartley way back when when my older brother played me 'the time is near' album - as i was a sabbath freak at the time it kinda went over my head a bit with its jazzy-rock content, but there was a certain feel about the content that appealed to me anyway. then i was introduced to this album and it cemented my initial feel for the band. there are four truly great songs on 'halfbreed', the remainder is not far behind in terms of quality but slightly more conventional in terms of structure, whereas the four im gonna mentioned are slightly more inspired.
'too much thinking' is simply a fantastic peice of music, beautifully played and structured with a great lyric and really powerful vocals from the very underrated miller anderson who shines throughout this album
'leavin trunk' is a mose allison blues number which is transformed here into what is probably the heaviest take on the blues ever recorded, with a riff to die for. as heavy as sabbath, it really is a sonic boom of a track that stays controlled whilst being super-heavy and manic. just brilliant
'born to die' is another lengthy blues trip, slower and more traditional in its approach but still very dense and dark and these two tracks have to be among the best white-man take on the blues ever recorded , up there with creams finest moments
'just to cry' is a more lightweight, jazzy kind of number but has a lovely melody and lyric

these four songs are absolutely essential listens for anyone into good music. the musicianship is absolutely flawless throughout and this a fine example of just how great music was back in the late 60's/early 70,s. of the remainder, there is a pretty directionless instrumental which slightly lets things down. plus two great kicking blues rock numbers, 'sinnin for you' and 'think it over' - like i said earlier, these are not far behind the others but fail to stand out as much cos theyre approached in a more traditional and typical blues rock manner for the time. this doesnt however, detract from their quality, and if you dig straightforward pumping blues rock you'll love these. whether youre a metal fan, prog,rock,blues,folk, or whatever - you'll love this album and especially these four great tracks from a band who should have been huge. an absolutely essential album. and oh, i hit the wrong button when i submitted this review, it shoulda been five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Progressive" Blues at its best, 31 July 2012
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halfbreed ~ Remastered (Audio CD)
I saw the Keef Hartley Band a number of times in London in the late 1960s, and although they didn't quite make it into the Bluesbreakers and Fleetwood Mac league, they were a very good "progressive" blues band, not content to bash out yet another version of Stormy Monday, but crafting their own songs. I say "crafted" because they have used their love of the blues to produce a really interesting debut album, whilst generally steering clear of the 8, 12 and 16 bar blues that cropped up with rather boring regularity on albums released by many of their contemporaries at that time . With 3 ex-Bluesbreakers (Messrs. Hartley, Mercer and Lowther) you can't go far wrong, and the rest of the band are no slouches either!

I had the album on vinyl many years ago, with its colourful gatefold sleeve, so it is great to see it faithfully reproduced here, and with interesting notes from Hartley himself.

There is one bonus track, Leave It 'Til The Morning, which was a 1969 single.

All in all a very worthwhile purchase - indeed, I was surprised just how fresh it sounds after all these years.

Sadly, Keef Hartley died last year, but his music lives on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halfway there..., 23 Feb 2010
By 
G. Barnes "genjutsushi" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halfbreed ~ Remastered (Audio CD)
Halfbreed is a massively overlooked album - rarely have i heard it mentioned in conversations regarding British Blues rock other than in hushed tones with furtive side glances. The tracks on this album that hit the spot are some of the best of the genre, with the album marred only slightly by a couple of weaker songs later on. All the musicians are obviously at the top of their game - that guitar tone is to die for!

I was given a copy of the first generation CD transfer and this remastered version sounds a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad538d50)

This product

Halfbreed
Halfbreed by Keef Hartley Band
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews