Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful sonic painting in water colours, 19 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
This original soundtrack ranks among the best by French composer Desplat, and certainly among the best of such genre, the Schindler's List included.
The music as well as the performance were superb. Too sad that the sound engineer passed away shortly after this track was being completed.
While Chinese pianist Lang Lang is not known primarily for playing French repertoire, his interpretation of Desplat's score and the Satie piece are totally in sync with the style.
Especially enchanting are the predominantly watery images employed in the music.
It would have been perfect if the French song was being included, as well as the Chinese opera excerpt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Melody, 22 Dec 2009
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
After listening to this motion picture soundtrack, I was disappointed that the children's chanson, "Jamais je ne t'oublierai," sung at the end of the film, was not included. Nevertheless, the CD compensates for this lack with other delights, including Lang Lang's lilting interpretation of Satie's "Gnossienne #1" and Mr. Desplat's haunting "River Waltz" which not only complements Satie's composition but also evokes the ephemeral mood of this memorable film so beautifully.

Well worth having in one's CD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Ms. Emily R. Nabney (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
Basically, if you enjoyed The Painted Veil, then the soundtrack is definitely something you should buy. I'm not generally interested in film sountracks, as they're often pretty bland, but The Painted Veil is definitely an exception. It captures the romance, death, passion, and bleakness of the film.

The best tracks are (in my opinion) River Waltz, Kitty's Theme and The Painted Veil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 7 Nov 2007
By 
R. J. Cross (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece. The music haunted me through the film, especially Gnossience no1. This is a proper sound track that speaks through the movie and delights on it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music but not for the hard of hearing., 11 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Taylor (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
Beautiful collection of melodies and very well played too. The satie track is slightly too staccato for my taste but never really irritating. A must-buy for anyone who has seen this film, which is also excellent. Only four stars because the recording level is so low. Rip it off to MP3 and you'll have trouble hearing it. I have some upscaling software which has solved this problem for me but most people won't know what that is or how to use it so beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Painted Veil soundtrack, 8 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
There are some wonderful pieces of music on this cd composed by Alexandre Desplat which also features piano soloist Lang Lang. My only complaint is that I wish the tracks were longer (well it is a soundtrack I suppose)! The cd also features the magnificent Gnossienne no.1 By Erik Satie. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
Admittedly I only bought it for the Ylang Ylang tracks as they are just amazing but the rest is worth a listen I think though really it's only for anyone that has seen the film so you can relate to the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alexandre Desplat's The Painted Veil, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Anna (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Veil (MP3 Download)
A beautiful soundtrack to a beautiful film. It has both piano performance by Lang Lang, one of the leading pianists of the young generation, and orchestral arrangements to set the mood. I enjoy listening to it both to relax and to be inspired. Highly recommend it even to the lovers of the classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Promise, 27 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
Desplat masterfully blends the minimalist aesthetic and lush romanticism to create a beautfully rich musical soundscape. Aching with yearning and throbbing musical passion, this is film scoring of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Veil (Audio CD)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Painted Veil
The Painted Veil by Alexandre Desplat and Lang Lang and Prague Symphony Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews