Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful CD
The Oysterband seldom record a song the same way twice which means you always get something different and this is no exception. From acoustic reworkings of old favourites like 'Northern Lights and 'When I'm Up I Can't Get Down' to new accapella song 'What Wondrous Love Is This' this is a wonderful album finished off beautifully by 'Put Out The Lights' which they sang on...
Published on 22 April 2009 by L. Evans

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Track listing wrong
The CD I was sent had the physical artwork and tracks OK, but the artwork and tracks stored on the CD were for a different CD entirely - TRAWLER. This came to light when I ripped it to my music library.
Published on 29 Dec. 2009 by Chanquete


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful CD, 22 April 2009
By 
L. Evans (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Girl & Other Stories (Audio CD)
The Oysterband seldom record a song the same way twice which means you always get something different and this is no exception. From acoustic reworkings of old favourites like 'Northern Lights and 'When I'm Up I Can't Get Down' to new accapella song 'What Wondrous Love Is This' this is a wonderful album finished off beautifully by 'Put Out The Lights' which they sang on their recent tour with no electrical imput at all (including microphones) and still kept their audience spellbound.

Basically, the Oysters continue to do what they do best: constantly trying something different and fresh. Long may they continue to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Oxford Girl & Other Stories, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Mrs. C. A. Smith "Cas Smith" (Pontardawe, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Girl & Other Stories (Audio CD)
I got this CD with some trepidation. Having been a fan of Oysterband forever through their many metamorphoses I was almost afraid to listen. I don't know what I expected from their reworking of songs I knew so well but I need not have worried. IT IS FANTASTIC. No Oyster collection is complete without it. It is still on the being played now pile and finds me jigging in my chair or prancing around with the cooking utensils every time it's on. The previous reviewer says all the rest of what I would want to say. If you have never heard Oysterband, do yourslf a favour and try this. I guarantee you will be looking for a live gig soon after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 1 April 2013
By 
W. Mcgregor "Bil" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Girl & Other Stories (Audio CD)
Nice acoustic re recordings of old and new favourites. Something for fans more than newcomers but worth a listen. If you don't know the Oysterband then there are better places to start - early stuff or the June Tabor collaborations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Girl & Other Stories (Audio CD)
Very good album, pleased to own it hence absolutely no need to say any more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Girl & Other Stories (Audio CD)
Some old favourites here but oh boy there some great new renditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Track listing wrong, 29 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Girl & Other Stories (Audio CD)
The CD I was sent had the physical artwork and tracks OK, but the artwork and tracks stored on the CD were for a different CD entirely - TRAWLER. This came to light when I ripped it to my music library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Girl & Other Stories
Oxford Girl & Other Stories by Oysterband (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews