Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music let down by sound level issues
This CD contains a huge selection of wonderful Christmas music. Were it not for problems with the sound levels, I would definitely give it 5 stars. The issue is that parts of the recording are so quiet the volume has to be turned up almost to maximum to be heard (eg the opening of 'Once in Royal..'), and then turned back down again to stop your eardrums being burst when...
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by Trillis

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good singing, mediocre recording
The rather scant booklet (8 pages, if you count generously) says the recordings were made in the chapel of King's College -- however, the recordings portray very little ambiance, and certainly give no hint of being made in such a large space. Indeed, the choir seems to be squashed into almost no depth. I was also a bit disappointed that some of the carols did not have a...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by J.A.Abbott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music let down by sound level issues, 28 Dec 2008
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
This CD contains a huge selection of wonderful Christmas music. Were it not for problems with the sound levels, I would definitely give it 5 stars. The issue is that parts of the recording are so quiet the volume has to be turned up almost to maximum to be heard (eg the opening of 'Once in Royal..'), and then turned back down again to stop your eardrums being burst when verse 2 starts. Throughout the CD you are constantly turning the volume up and down - sometimes within the same song. I listen to, and sing, a lot of choral music so appreciate the difference in sound levels when performing 'live', however the quiet bits still need to be audible! It is frustrating and does spoil what would otherwise be an excellent CD.
I have played the CD on a standalone CD player/amp, a midi hi-fi system and the car CD player, and have the same problem on each. I bought a different Carols from Kings compilation at the same time and both CDs suffer from this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good singing, mediocre recording, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
The rather scant booklet (8 pages, if you count generously) says the recordings were made in the chapel of King's College -- however, the recordings portray very little ambiance, and certainly give no hint of being made in such a large space. Indeed, the choir seems to be squashed into almost no depth. I was also a bit disappointed that some of the carols did not have a fuller sound. Overall I give a middling rating (neither a positive nor a negative recommendation) -- this CD is certainly better than "Essential Carols" which I unfortunately bought too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIsunderstanding, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
This is a splendid conspectus of Christmas music from Kings, covering all of the well-known and some lesser-known carols and includes some new recordings such as the Holst setting of In the Bleak Midwinter (Cranham), the 'normal' King's version by Harold Darke is also included.

I do find it amusing though the adverse comments about sound levels in other reviews; it appears that some people are unaware that Once in Royal is always sung as a processional with solo treble in the distance at first so you would expect the wide difference in sound levels which is what you get here as the choir approaches. I picture them frantically adjusting their amplifiers to counteract the intended effect.

Considering some of the early recordings are getting on for fifty years old the consistency of the recordings is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must buy" King's item, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
An impressive choral and organ performance. I feel my self sitting in a big cathedral rather than at home. Worths 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas At Kings, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
Another one of these Christmas CD's from Kings what with the quire and the organ there is nothing that can compère.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carols CDs, 16 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. R. A. Fuller "Ann Fuller" (Pinner UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
Carols beautifully sung by the choir of King's College Cambridge and 2 CDs at a price that would have been cheap for 1! Excellent value .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime - amazing! If you want a traditional Christmas CD this is for you!, 2 Feb 2010
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
The music is lifting, a great pleasure to listen to. Favourites mixed in with a few you might not know so well, or know the tune but not the name. Couple this with superb quality of recording and this is the ultimate carols CD. I bought it for myself and took it home for Christmas where family and friends listened to it with much pleasure - some asked what it was, and have now bought their own copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
Having seen the choir recently, they are superb. Even though this is an old recording the standard is always very high. I purchased this because I wanted particular carols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KIngs College choir, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
I bought this CD of Christmas carols because of the reputation Kings College Choir has for producing the finest voices and recordings.I was not disappointed.This collection of traditional carols is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing Christmas Muisc, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas At King's (Audio CD)
Chose the CD originally as I wanted a recording of Jesus Christ the Apple Tree which is on the second disc but very happy with purchase- good quality recording, very relaxing music and so reflective for Christmas time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas At King's
Christmas At King's by Cambridge King's College Choir
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews