Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nostalgia
Although a little dated (which is to be expected), this series is an interesting peek into a burgeoning group who went on to bigger and better things. The enthusiastic talent and dry wit is here to see; and will delight fans of Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, Emma Thompson and Ben Elton. Some absolute gems - well worth it for fans of british comedy.
Published on 6 Dec 2010 by Didimaow

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How Young They All Look
The huge talent of this ensemble cast is just about discernible under all the duff material and there ae some big laughs too but this is more of a museum-grade curiosity than anything else. A sign of it's times is the acute preoccupation with a major issue of the day: The cold war and the threat of imminent nuclear war with the Warsaw pact, something that has faded from...
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by Grushenko


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How Young They All Look, 13 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
The huge talent of this ensemble cast is just about discernible under all the duff material and there ae some big laughs too but this is more of a museum-grade curiosity than anything else. A sign of it's times is the acute preoccupation with a major issue of the day: The cold war and the threat of imminent nuclear war with the Warsaw pact, something that has faded from the public consciousness.
I was amazed at how much of the material I could still remember even after 25 years and that on only one viewing. If you take out the weakest sketches, the self-indulgent musical padding and Emma Thompsons direly unfunny monologues and there's the makings of a cracking 90 minute 'Best Of' compilation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promise of great things, 3 May 2011
By 
J. Carr (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
This is some very early work of a group of actors who have gone on to have very successful careers. There is a rawness about these sketches which contrasts sharply with the polish of A Bit Of Fry and Laurie and other sketch shows only a few years later. This is definitely something to watch for the interest of seeing Ben Elton et al looking young enough to be doing their A levels and in the light of what came for them later on. The sketches are mostly amusing but I didn't laugh out loud and some musical items I found a little bizarre, however, their talent is of course evident. I suspect however, that had it not been for the fame of certain cast members, this would never have survived to see the light of day nearly 30 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remember 'wallies'?, 15 Feb 2009
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Rather a weird period piece, this; a better investment if you're particularly interested in the writer/performers involved, instead of just wanting a good laugh. BLACKADDER or A BIT OF FRY & LAURIE this is not, although references or ideas that would surface again ("Those ARE my conditions", 'Strom', etc) do crop up, here and there.

(A fair chunk of material from Alfresco's pilot/predecessor "There's no need to worry" - which is also included on these discs - is re-cycled for the latter show.)

Much here, such as Series 2's running thread The Pretend Pub, is a comedy of Ideas, not of gut response, and you'll forget a lot of the time that there IS an audience laughter track on these shows. You won't like the musical items, but there's nothing as hideous as Tony Slattery's song from the Cambridge Footlights Review (on the FRY & LAURIE Series 2 DVD) either.

So, then: Sketches, songs, some running characters, earnest topical social comment (1983-style). It's all here. Think of a lesser cousin to NOT THE NINE O'CLOCK NEWS, A BIT OF FRY & LAURIE and ALEXEI SAYLE'S STUFF, and you've got the measure of Alfresco.

I've sat through this DVD happily enough, but I don't know that I'll watch it again very soon. It's all just rather quaint, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars How this has dated, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
I very much enjoyed this series at the time, but it looks shockingly out of date now. It is true that some comedy travels well, and there are some moments in the gloom, but mostly this series seems to have acted as a depository for all the unfunny ideas that the (very talented) cast came up with just after they left university. A lot of it is simply not funny at all, although from time to time (and with liberal use of the fast forward button) the pretend pub sketches are able to raise a smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nostalgia, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Although a little dated (which is to be expected), this series is an interesting peek into a burgeoning group who went on to bigger and better things. The enthusiastic talent and dry wit is here to see; and will delight fans of Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, Emma Thompson and Ben Elton. Some absolute gems - well worth it for fans of british comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
this is the first time I ordered a DVD from amazon UK while I'm living in Argentina, I was so afraid that the DVD wasn't arrived, but it was awesome the timing of deliver.
I LOVE Hugh Laurie, I think this DVD is a "Must have". Sadly, the DVD doesn't have subtitles at all :( I mean, English is not my native language, so maybe english subtitles would it be perfect :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They may be great now but how did they get away with this?, 9 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Like most people I enjoy the work of most, if not all, of these individuals - or have done, but this is poor stuff from their early days (1983). Better to catch Hugh and Stephen in Jeeves and Wooster or Fry and Laurie, Robbie in Cracker or Siobhan in Bullman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfresco, 25 Feb 2009
By 
G. Barkerlaure "RUSHEAD" (KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Fans of Hugh Laurie will enjoy watching Alfresco, my goodness how young they all looked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD]
Alfresco -The Complete Series [1983] [DVD] by Stephen Fry (DVD - 2009)
12.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews