Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Shakespears Sister Indeed!, 6 Jan 2005
A comprehensive personal collection of the very best of Shakespears Sister, compilled by Siobhan Fahey herself. This collection contains songs from both the first and second SS albums, plus tracks from the un-released third SS album and a couple of tracks from Siobhans work with Carrie Booth as MGA Starring Siobhan Fahey. After many years of fighting with her former recording label, London Records allowed Siobhan to break off contract obligations with her label and continue her solo career. BUT - she had to wait years to obtain the rights for her own third SS album. Finally her record label has realized the wealth of fine material that Siobhan has created over the years and have seen fit to include material from all three SS albums. A fantastic personal collection of tracks that Siobhan herself sees as her best tracks, The Best of Shakepears Sister should be a collection all fans have to enjoy and behold, listening to the true artistic brilliance that is indeed Siobhan Fahey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hello (Turn your CD on), 1 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. J. Andrew (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A worthy compliation from a band who really were under-rated at the time. Shakespear's Sister are perhaps best know for their number one single 'Stay', but as this CD shows, they had a wealth of material which showed intelligence, wit (sadly missing from most bands these days) and great tunes. This compilation features tracks from the first 2 commerically released albums, several tracks from the unreleased third album (although now available from Siobhan's excellent website) featuring the superb 'I Can Drive' and some of Siobhan's other projects. The DVD features their videos and an interesting promo made in Russia. The majority of videos were directed by Sophie Muller and it is interesting to see how her work develops and matures as does the bands over the years they worked together. On a personal note, can I just say that Hello (Turn Your Radio On) is perhaps the band's greatest achievement. One gripe though, while 'My 16th Apology' video appears on the DVD, the track is not on the CD which is a shame. Still what we have is more than good enough, and it is interesting to see what direction Siobhan will move in next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans!, 17 Jun 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although Shakespear's Sister were the only group I went ga-ga over I didn't know anything about this release until recently.

Firstly the real gem of the item is the DVD. I had owned the two official VHS videos, which had long ago gone fuzzy, so to have all that footage on clear DVD, plus "I Can Drive", is a real treat and worth the price alone.

The CD has the main hits from the first two SS albums, plus some extras from "3" etc. Of the "fresh" later songs I really like the dark tones of "Waiting". The punchy "Excuse Me John" will get your feet tapping, but possibly the most memorable song for it's chorus is "Can U Wait That Long?", which I think is arguably the best post-Marcy song on the CD.

There is still the fun and slightly dark mystical tones a fan would expect from an SS release. The most fun new track for me, has to be "White Rabbit". When you first listen to this song it will sound mediocre and standard....but listen to it again, and really listen to the lyrics, and it will have you smiling and maybe uttering a giggle, and eventually you'll be singing "Ask Alice...." too!!

A superb release, and if you were a Shakespear's Sister fan from the beginning, then this will confirm to you why you were and still ARE a fan. EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't you just love it when something surprises you!, 8 Dec 2010
A Kid's Review
Well what can i say? Although i was a huge fan of shakespears sister i had forgotten just how many excellent songs they had written.
This cd and dvd combo is fantastic for any fan, the dvd especially. There are all the well known videos plus some lesser known which are tuly excellent, plus live footage of gigs in Russia which are a little "out there", but exactly what you would expect from this fabulously quirky twosome!! And the unnyWhatever happened to Baby Jane pastiche is just hilarious!
They are the perfect example of how two hugely differing talents and voices can come together and create something classic, unique, funny and fabulous. What a pity that they never had the kind of recognition they deserved.However, this is a fantastic reminder.
I would strongly recommend that anyone who has a liking for this unique and sadly missed duo buys this excellent 2 disc set immediately. A resounding 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb & really enjoyable DVD, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Flowerpotfaerie "Eva" (Somerset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD/DVD set is great for those who like Shakespears Sister but don't want to purchase all their individual albums. I really enjoyed watching the DVD, My 16th Apology features on it and not on the CD which is a bit of a shame but other than that I have no gripes with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're History (But This Is For Keeps!), 8 July 2005
Wow. I bought this on impulse as I heard 'Stay' on the radio and remembered just how fantastic that tune is. Siobhan Fahey & Marcella Detroit's voices compliment each other like I've never heard from another duo, noteably 'I Don't Care'. There's a handful of hits on here, and some album fillers, but the best tracks I've already mentioned, as well as 'Hello (Turn Your Radio On)' which is stunningly dark, the fabulous 'I Can Drive', and the classic song that got them noticed, 'You're History'.
This is a serious must for any serious music lover's collection, especially due to the added value of having the DVD of hits! - All of which are stunning, from the stars baby faces in 'You're History', to a very sexy Siobhan Fahey in 'I Can Drive'. I just can't help but think that if this duo had stayed a duo, they would quite frankly rule the world by now!
4 1/2 out of 5.
Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction to this unusual band, 6 Mar 2005
By 
Marcus (Near Rutland) - See all my reviews
Worth buying for the DVD alone especially those to "Stay" and "Goodbye Cruel World". Although it would have been fun to have included the French & Saunders version of "Stay". Checkout the original albums well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you'd better beleive that this is EXCELLENT!!!, 22 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This album is a divrse mix of both classic chart hits, would be singles from the bands third album, which was essentially Siobhan; # 3 was made official in 2004, after eight years of legal stuff, and although many bootlegs was made, it's great to have the original in all it's glory. There is also some SIobhan Fahey stuff on here, recorded in her name.
It's such a shame that Stay, their global mega hit is their best known song; basically, it's one of the weakest here. Heloo (Turn Your Radio On) is a classic,and sounds better now than 13 years ago.
The bonus DVD is excellent, as the bands videos were groundbreaking, and very well directed by well know video director, Sophie Muller.....the duo's well known conflicts are humerously portrayed in the videos and are sooo entertaining...
This collection is a MUST for all music fans....BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siobhan is fab!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Jun 2006
I've liked Shakespeares' Sister from the age of 14 to now at 25 and this album is a perfect mix of old and new singles. From the worldwide smash 'stay' where Siobhan steals the show with her sexy,deep vocals to 'I Can Drive' which is incredibly catchy and different as there is no Detroit.

The dvd is a great bonus, especially the videos from the 'Hormonally yours' album, where you see Fahey and Detroit at their best with the tension shown between them mirroring what was actually happening at the time.

I would recommend this to any Shakespeares' Sister/Fahey fans and also to people who have never listened to either before. Overall, it's a near perfect compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IMPECABLE, INCREIBLE!!!, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No puedo decir mas que excelente!!! realmente maravilloso, esta musica me trae los mejores recuerdos y en este combo de cd/dvd tienes un resumen de excelente de Shakespear`s Sister!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shakespears Sister - Best Of (DMD)
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews