Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but different to the film!
The music on this CD is really great, magical, evocative music. And, I would have thought, perfect for the film. After seeing the film, I realise what a genius John Williams is; his music tells the story perfectly, and is perfect for what's happening on screen.
But, there is a LOT of music in the film that isn't on the CD, and is actually a lot better than the music...
Published on 13 Nov 2001 by David Isaacs (davisaacs@hotmai...

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but why isn't it complete?
If you like the music of John Williams, then you'll be quite happy with this disc. If, however, you buy it because you liked the music in the film, then prepare to be ever so slightly disappointed.
Don't get me wrong, what is on the disc is good, and well up to Williams's usual high standard, but it misses out what is, in my opinion, some of the best...
Published on 29 Nov 2005 by Mark Sheldon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but different to the film!, 13 Nov 2001
The music on this CD is really great, magical, evocative music. And, I would have thought, perfect for the film. After seeing the film, I realise what a genius John Williams is; his music tells the story perfectly, and is perfect for what's happening on screen.
But, there is a LOT of music in the film that isn't on the CD, and is actually a lot better than the music on the CD. And, curiously enough, there's a lot of music on the CD which isn't in the film. Diagon Alley, for instance, has two completely different pieces on the CD and in the film. As does the Great Hall, and, to a certain extent, christmas. The music in the film is a lot better than the music on this CD, but it's still a really great CD to have. One of John Williams' best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Williams; genius through an orchestra., 25 Dec 2001
By A Customer
First off, I have to admit that this score *is* Williams-repetitive, especially when comparing it to the score for Star Wars Episode 1. However, I don't think that this is a bad thing. It is by no means as repetitive as some of James Horner's works, and *does* have some unique elements in it's make up.
Most beautiful, and worth the cost of the entire CD on their own, are "Hedwig's Theme" (as everyone recognises from the HP trailer) and "Harry's Wondrous World". Both are magical masterpieces, and represent everything brilliant about Rowling's first book. From then on, you meet various experiments such as the Medieval-style "Diagon Alley" & clinky "Hogwarts Forever!". More surprises follow in the ghostly-vocals singing carols in "Christmas at Hogwarts" and the self-explanatory "Fluffy's Harp". Among all of these is an ongoing list of themes showing Williams at his best.
The CD as a whole is altogether very... "Williams"! It isn't a bad thing! I love this score; it's no jewel, but it's pure gold. Compared to Howard Shore's "Fellowship of the Ring", it sounds very twinkly & fantastical; not as serious or deep, but still exceptionally emotional & of the quality expected of such a wonderful composer. A much treasured album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generally Fab, as JohnWilliams always is, 31 Oct 2001
Once more John Williams keeps the Orchestral flag flying for film scores, as only he, Hans Zimmer and a few others really know how to nowadays. Great orchestrartions, the CD almost tells the HP story itself.
There are a couple of bits I didn't like, at times John Willams seems to have mistaken the Magic of Hogwarts for the magic of christmas as the music reminds you of the 'Home Alone' theme tunes now and then (Which JW also composed ofcourse), there are also moments where I am reminded of the 'Otho Gunga' track from 'The Phantom Menace', but this isn't necessarily a bad thing.
All in all however, JW has excelled himself with this soundtrack which combines the grand feeling of such works as Tchaikovsky's 5th Sympohony with the power and dramaticism of a Wagner epic.
Keep writing JW!! The film industry needs you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Williams Amazes Us Once More!!, 30 Oct 2001
By 
The HARRY POTTER soundtrack is one of Williams best if not the best one.Williams delievers a magical music adventure throughout the whole CD.The Quidditch Game is one of the best tracks in there but you cannot ignore the Harry's Wondrous Word and Diagon Alley.Hedwig's Theme makes us want to fly away to the magical word of Harry Potter.If the magic was music I think this is how it would sound.Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Potter magic, 13 Nov 2001
This is a great soundtrack for anyone who has seen the film, read the books or intends to...so I guess that kindof covers the world! Seriously John Williams has done it again, the eerie yet magical 'Prologue' perfectly captures the magic that JK Rowlings created in her HP series. Other tracks like 'Fluffys Harp' and 'Christmas at Hogwarts' capture the mood and atmosphere of the film brilliantly. My favourite piece is actually 'the Chess game' as it captures the excitment and drama of the scene. The bonus second CD with screensaver and trailers for the PC means that you shouldn't think twice about buying this soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just close your eyes and dream..., 31 Aug 2002
By 
Mr. A. J. Allum "adnalm" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am not a great lover of the music of John Williams, but here I make an exception. Perhaps my feelings for this score are influenced by the images (the film), and not just the music in its own right. Nevertheless, although a fair amount of the content lacks melody, there are many truly wonderful passages of music and the whole score really does conjour up the wonderful images created in the film. My main disappointment is the treatment of "Fluffy's Harp," it's hardly anything like the beautiful music heard in the film! Nevertheless, I'd recommend it to anyone who has been bewitched by Harry Potter! Just close your eyes and dream...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Magic!, 9 July 2002
By A Customer
While watching Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone I kept thinking who did the music? It really helped make the film. I HAD to buy the soundtrack when I saw it and it is well worth a listen to. It gives you prickles on your neck, shivers down your spine and sometimes a smile to your face. It is a great album and as you also get a second disc with CDROM stuff on it would be a great way to get the kids listening to some classical stuff. Definitely have a listen and be inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredibly uplifting score, 4 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The fact that each of John Williams' soundtracks seems to bring something fresh to the genre has always amazed me. In Harry Potter and the Philosopher's stone, John Williams has introduced the celeste to the world of film with virtuosity and panache. In writing the score, Williams seems to have drawn from the soundworlds of many of his previous soundtracks such as E.T. (The Norwegian Ridgeback), The Phantom Menace (The Quidditch Match), Jaws (In the Devil's Snare) and above all Hook (Harry's Wondrous World, Hedwig's Theme, Diagon Alley). The result is an incredibly uplifting score filled with invigorating brass fanfares, soaring emotive string melodies, the innocent sound of the celeste, and fantastical tutti passages. This is certainly a CD not to be missed if you are a fan of John Williams, movie sountracks, or symphonic works in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter into the magical world of Harry Potter..., 3 Oct 2003
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Williams is again at his best with his Harry Potter compositions.
Stick the CD in the hi-fi and you're off - transported into Harry's magical world. These tracks are also wonderful to have as background music when you're reading the books.
Wonderful Williams magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magical, 19 July 2003
By 
Sarah (, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
All though I am coming up to 21 years of age I have read all Harry Potter books, seen both films and I have just previously ordered the Harry Potter and chamber of secrets film cell. It just goes to prove that Harry potter isn't Just for children.
Now on to the cd. I absolutly love it. You can't help picturing each scene with the soundtrack, my favourites on this album are: Harry's Wonderous World, Leaving Hogwarts ( my up most favourite, John Williams has magically captured the music with each scene. I am now going to get the chamber of secrets soundtrack as well.
Two words to describe this soundtrack are:
SIMPLY MAGICAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews